We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 13, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
3  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,347 - 1,353 of 3,238 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Veeber
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Just returned yesterday from a very pleasant 4 night stay at the Sofitel. The staff are extremely professional. Loved how they greet you with a "Bonjour" as you enter the lobby. Tres Chic :) The hotel felt a bit small in both the lobby and room size, but what it lacks in space, it makes up for in all other aspects. Our room, though small, still had everything we needed for a combination business/pleasure trip. Nice Lanvin bath products, good blow dryer, robes, etc. I would've given it a "5" but there where a couple little glitches. No top sheet on the bed...just a duvet. It was too hot for my taste so I didn't sleep well on the first night. However, one call fixed the problem the next day and subsequent days thereafter. (They paid attention!) Also, didn't get any wash cloths on day 2. Loved coming back to the room after a day of sightseeing to soft lights and classical music on the Bose. That was a nice touch. I would recommend getting a room on a higher floor if you like to sleep in. We were on the 4th floor on the street side and could hear the buses. One more thing....this is a GREAT location. Everything was either within walking distance or a short cab away. Would stay here again. Merci Sofitel !

Room Tip: I hear they have courtyard rooms...would try that to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review! I am happy you appreciated the touch of France as we share our French greetings will every Sofitel hotel worldwide. As you noticed, we do make our bed to European standards with a feather duvet, but are happy to accommodate requests for top sheets. We can easily mark your preference for a higher floor on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Merci beaucoup!

Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Comfortable, quiet, immaculate, amazing staff. One of THE BEST places to stay in downtown DC and always one of my favs. Very convenient to the DC Metro. I stay here for business and do not think a business traveler could ask for more. Beds are super comfortable. Food and beverage very good, often elegant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteCatWriting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for taking to time to share your Sofitel experience with us. We strive to provide our business clients with comfortable and convenient accommodations to make your work go smoothly and your rest top priority. We offer complimentary basic internet as well as a paid high speed wifi option, a 24 hour business center, an in room bose system, desk set up for work and much more. I find that a night's rest in the SoBed makes you that much more ready to take on the next work day!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband, son (12) and I just returned from a 4 day weekend in DC. It was our first experience with the Sofitel brand but I can assure it won't be our last. From check in to check out, it was a wonderful stay. The staff was gracious, welcoming and helpful. The room (a suite) was well appointed and kept immaculately clean. All of our needs were met--some in anticipation and some on request. Our package included breakfast which was very good and served in a comfortable setting. It was nice that our room had a coffee maker (though the hotel does provide complimentary coffee in the bar each morning) and a refrigerator. We were given as much Evian water as we needed--either through the concierge or delivered to our room. Small details, but they make a big difference. The hotel was lively--especially the bar on Friday night, but our room was very quiet. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom (including a tub and separate shower) was well appointed. I highly recommend that you try the Sofitel brand on your next trip!

Room Tip: It would be ideal to ask for a room away from the elevators. Also, join Le Club Accorhotels for spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for your detailed feedback! I am thrilled to know that you and your family were able to enjoy your stay with us. Our suites are a great way to have the family all together, but with enough space and privacy to be comfortable. Come back this holiday season when we will have many fun plans for families!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel for 5 nights at the beginning of September. Beautiful room with a king-sized bed. The bathroom was extremely nice, lots of marble with a nice deep tub and a separate shower. The Bose Wave radio with iPod adapter was a very nice touch. I wished that the seating area was larger and that it offered another armchair as my wife and I had to compete for it. The staff were extremely helpful and most polite. The staff at the front door always remembered our names whenever we passed. Only 2 things mar this wonderful hotel...the high cost of breakfast and the very long wait for our car. We discovered that parking was approximately 5 blocks away. We would definitely stay at a Sofitel hotel again.

Room Tip: Make sure that you allow 15-20 minutes for the valet to retrieve your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our ambassadors are fabulous at recognizing guests throughout their visits, taking a personal interest in making their stay more pleasant. Our valet team does their best to retrieve guest cars as soon as possible, but we do recommend 15-20 minutes notice to allow for any possible delays caused by busy, one-way city streets. If you know when you may need your car, you are more than welcome to request it in advance so that you do not have to wait at all. Also, consider looking into our suites for your next visit as both the junior and prestige suites offer a comfortable separate seating area. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this Sofitel at the end of August and had a large, clean room and good service. Unfortunately, a souvenir that I had bought accidentally got thrown away because it was in a little box that must have got mistaken for rubbish. After a couple of emails I was refunded for the cost of the item. Well done! It is good to be able to rely on good customer service in Sofitel hotels.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JDEKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your summer vacation to Washington D.C. I am pleased to know you were so well taken care of, and apologize again for any confusion that may have cost you a souvenir. I hope that you will come back again and we will make sure to find you a special token of Washington to take home!

Truly,
Anna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,157 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,120 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,319 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $209 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing