We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel - which is in a great location near the White House! Lovely rooms, great service too - restaurant was good but pricey. Wifi was great and free throughout the hotel and in the morning there was free tea and coffee in the bar!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGeorgeLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,107
    795
    154
    63
    20
See reviews for
671
1,296
185
675
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bishops Stortford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Clean, comfortable with helpful and efficient staff.
Probably one of the best locations if you are on a first time visit to Washington DC.
It is also handy for the Metro, there are restaurants nearby and both the Stabucks and Pret A Manger around the corner have Wifi should you use up your hotel allowance!
We would definitely stay there again if in DC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

What a wonderful experience! This Hotel is in a perfect location in the heart of DC. The service is superb. Everything is clean and working as it should. Our ONLY complaint is that there is no drawer space to unpack our clothes (2 people for 10 days, 7 hangers and 2 small drawers that would only fit undergarments) and the glass shelf in the bathroom is a hazard that left a knot on my head. We highly recommend the Hotel restaurant Ici. We highly recommend the Hotel period! It was worth living out of our suitcase.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SomePlaceNew702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I can't say enough great things about my stay at the Sofitel. I stayed for 4 nights and everything was exceptional, especially the customer service. When I arrived at the hotel the bellman immediately took my bags and brought them to my room. He then gave me a nice tour of everything my room had to offer. I ate the hotel restaurant for breakfast every morning and the staff knew exactly what I wanted each morning. The food was wonderful. The croissants are to die for. The room service was equally amazing. I ordered room service twice and it was always delivered in the time quoted on the phone. I had one issue in the room while I was there. The toilet was constantly running one night. It was late that night and I called to the desk and someone was at my room within minutes. Despite the faulty toilet, I still have to give this review 5 stars because it was promptly addressed and the entire staff was extremely apologetic for any inconvenience. The hotel is in the heart of D.C. and close to a metro station if you need to get out of the city. I would stay here gain in again in a heartbeat. I can't wait to go back. I don't think I will ever stay anywhere else in D.C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed for 8 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Washington Sofitel. As stated in other reviews, the location was excellent for the White House, the Washington monument and the bus tours etc. Cab rides to George Town and the Verizon centre were less than 10 dollars! We appreciated the complimentary wifi in the room and the complimentary coffee served daily in Le Bar. Our room also had complimentary water, but I would agree with other reviews that it would have been nice to have coffee making facilities in the room also. The staff at the hotel were polite and courteous. Recognition should be given to the concierge Cameron, who was very polite and helpful, and especially to concierge Cynthia, was most knowledgable about Washington and Philadelphia. We really appreciated her help, advice and good nature. Staff like these are a real asset to front of house hotel staff. Matthew, working in Le Bar kept the drinks and banter flowing, in a very convivial and relaxed environment. We did have a small issue during our stay, which occurred one evening. We were worried it would taint our experience at the Sofitel, however the next morning, as requested manager Matthew, telephoned us promptly and immediately resolved the issue to a standard well above our expectation and satisfaction. We appreciate not everything can be perfect and hiccups do sometimes happen, it is all about how issues get resolved, and we were more than impressed with the customer service we received. Danny, on reception was also very efficient and a pleasant member of staff. All in all, if you are after a good quality hotel, with friendly staff, who care about customer service, the Sofitel will certainly not disappoint you. We will definitely be returning, and this will be our hotel of choice!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mikey74alc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Amy Rives…Reservations Sales Agent… one of my favorite people in the world! Thanks to the Sofitel Hotel, Lafayette Square and Amy for absolutely outstanding service and help with our reservations.

The Sofitel Hotel is VERY close to the White House. It lies amongst other beautiful hotels, but we were very satisfied and already made another booking to stay at the Sofitel Washington DC next month… mainly because of the great location.

We did not fancy the restaurants at the hotel though. We once asked for pancakes and the lady told us that she would make an enquiry about the possibility as they did not serve breakfast at that time. She never came back with the answer, so we had a lovely meal at the restaurant just across the street. The restaurants at the hotel were not really "child friendly".

Unfortunately we did not receive complimentary water in the rooms every day, but there was a "welcoming" feeling at the hotel, that made up for it! We were also told that once you pick up a product from the fridge in the room it will be regarded as being sold after a few seconds, so you should only pick up products from the minibar if you really wanted it.

The rooms were big and even though the views were not fantastic, we enjoyed the space, the many cupboards and the Wi-Fi. They took special care of the bathroom amenities and the towels were very soft. The sleeper sofa was comfortable and the hotel is perfect for tourists.

The doormen were extremely friendly! They will really put a smile on your face! It is very easy to get a taxi and the concierge services were very helpful.

The hotel is within walking distance from the “Hop-on-hop-off” bus stop, the White House and various nice shops and restaurants. We took a taxi to see “White House down” at a movie theatre and we used the Super Shuttle transportation to book a return trip to IAD Airport. We were also able to print our boarding passes at the hotel.

Washington is a beautiful and clean city, but you will find homeless people in most of the parks. Fortunately the police are everywhere and one feels quite safe to walk around in the streets.

The Sofitel Washington DC is one of my favorite hotels!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlommetjieBlommetjie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful welcome every time we entered the hotel.
Fantastic friendly and efficient service in Le Bar every time.
Bryan in the restaurant kept us updated on the cricket score most helpful. Mohamed made sure we had an entertaining and wonderful diner in the restaurant.
Location is ideal for seeing the sites.
Our room was a good size clean and comfortable although not a great deal of hanging space

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,803 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,243 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing