We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Luxury and hospitality in the heart of DC!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Luxury and hospitality in the heart of DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Washington from June 23-27. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of DC, within easy walking distance to all of the main attractions in Washington.
We were assigned a room on the 12th floor that overlooked an interior courtyard. There was no view outside of our windows, other than a brick wall, but the inside of the room more made up for the it. The room was spacious, well laid-out and beautifully appointed with furniture and fixtures. The carpet was so plush and soft. We had a very comfortable king-sized bed with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was equally luxurious as the room. Nice separate shower stall with a rainshower, gorgeous vanity and coutertop, lovely thick towels, and Lanvin toiletries- it was wonderful to enjoy and experience these amenities.
The staff at the Sofitel was so gracious and hospitable. We appreciated the warm greetings each time we were entered through the front entrance of the Sofitel. Everyone on staff that we encountered was so service-oriented, riendly and polite. I must also commend the concierge staff. We cancelled a tour and I had a bit of difficulty getting a refund from the vendor. The concierge helped to obtain the refund and I am very grateful for his asstance.
We would definitely return to the Sofitel Washington after such an amazing visit.

Room Tip: Valet parking at the Sofitel is $50/per day. If you do not plan to use your car while in Washington...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J_M_S_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,054
    778
    149
    59
    19
See reviews for
650
1,274
184
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very good Hotel,if a little expensive but worth it because:-
1.Excellent rooms with great bathrooms
2.So close to White House and the other must see Monuments.
3.great staff
4.good cocktail lounge
Tips
Do not pay for wi-fi become a Accord member and get password
Breakfast for 2 was over 100 dollars go to nearby restaurants.
Remember when you see the crowds outside White House this the rear of the house and walk towards the first monument for the more famous view from the front!!!
Washington great place for 2/3 days
Washington nationals ballpark for baseball brilliant with great ribs ! Great fun.

Room Tip: High floor away from elevator at expense of a possible view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bluenose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The location is great sitting at the northeast corner of all the attractions and by many quality restaurants. The staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but the bar was very nice and the drinks were good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisWhittenhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed over the 4th of July holiday. You can't beat the location for its proximity to sightseeing. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful from the moment you arrive. High speed internet is not free, but they do have complimentary regular speed internet, and it was fine for us. Free coffee and croissants in the morning, too, which was really nice. The room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. We have three small children and housekeeping was very kind to remove extra waste at the end of each day. Oh - and D.C. was exceptionally hot and humid that weekend, and the staff went out of their way to make sure guests had a steady supply of Evian water bottles. A very kind gesture indeed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlabobarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a lovely stay! Upon check-in, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite as the hotel was fully booked. Wow!!! Such a gorgeous room. The staff was professional, courteous, and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Would definitely recommend this property due to the top-notch service, attention to detail, dining, comfortable beds, and the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rushbabe214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Check in was enhanced by Danny who was welcoming and asked us to wait in the bar with complimentary drinks so he could put finishing touches on an upgraded corner room. He could not have been more accommodating. The room was polished, clean, offered Lavin products, great views from many windows, bathrobes, safe, lots of lights, separate shower and tub, many thoughtful extras, etc. Concierge Cameron was very helpful. All bell and valet staff very friendly and professional. Lots of great restaurants nearby. One street from WhiteHouse and walking distance to Metro, Washington monument, tour buses, etc. Beds were awesome but would have liked a sheet between me and comforter. Turn down service, mini bar, free Avian water, newspapers and coffee in AM in the bar. This hotel is tops in my opinion.

Room Tip: Corner room great views and light. Can request extras (toilet items, towels) when you make reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,661 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing