We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great service, and most comfortable bed of any hotel chain, EVER! I had gotten hotel via Priceline, and was very pleased...well above usual 4 star properties. Location is perfect for business and if touring the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WUBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,087
    785
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
664
1,286
185
662
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
274 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

The hotel is very close to the subway and the White House - we actually walked everywhere. The room is adequate, and you could only occasionally hear your neighbors. Service was extraordinary - they know who you are and are anxious to help in any way, with a real friendliness you usually only find in foreign countries.

It is a bit expensive and probably worth it.

Room Tip: Top floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It was our 25th anniversary, and we stayed one weekend night. The service is attentive and friendly. The hotel location is ideal, only a block away from the White House, and near all the main D.C. attractions. We were given an upgrade, and the room was very nice, facing the street. The lobby level restaurant is very nice, especially its street side breakfast. However, on the negative side, having a room overlooking the street caused us to have almost no sleep due noise that included: a loud fight between two drunks, several police/emergency vehicle sirens, some sort of midnight double-decker party bus, endless shouting, loud conversation from weekend revelry makers. I recommend getting an interior room if at all possible. The comforter on the bed had no sheet beneath, which made it hotter than Hades. We appreciated the thoughtful anniversary piece of cheese cake, but it had gone bad. The valet parking, $50 a night, I thought was on the high side. There needs to be a spa service.

Room Tip: Ask for an interior room, of a room not facing the street, especially if staying a weekend night. En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texasdav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna Chaley C, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your special celebration, and Happy Anniversary once again! We have a variety of accommodations to suit your preferences, so for your next visit, request a superior king room, or a junior suite. They both have a nice, private and quiet interior space. Also let us know, and we can provide you with a top sheet for the bed, no problem at all. We do offer a few in-room spa services such as massage, makeup and hair, and for more extensive services, our Concierge would be more than happy to suggest some spas in the area. We look forward to welcoming you back, and please do not hesitate to contact me directly so that I can arrange for your reservation and preferences in advance.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Arrived on the 20th May at approx 5.30pm. Although room should have been ready from 3pm. we were given several reasons why room was unavailable non of which seemed believable. After some 30 minutes room was available. Not a good start to what was a lovely hotel in a prime location for all tourist sites.
Dining was very expensive and was not used.
Would visit again if in Washington.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are larger and better equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Sofitel based on its location (a 2 min walk from the White House) and from the other glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, and were so glad we did!

The staff, hotel and room were all exceptional and we had such a lovely stay. The weather was terrible when we were there, so the complimentary umbrellas were a god send!

My husband and I are also partial to a morning run, so loved the set up at the concierge desk with jogging routes, water and towels - a great touch.

Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a central DC location, and a great stay. Merci, Sofitel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrueKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. As others have said, the location is excellent. 1 block from a Metro stop, and a short walk to the White House and the Washington Monument. The room was a bit small but adequately sized for what we needed. It would have been nice to have (1) a second comfortable chair (which is not a desk chair) and (2) more drawer space for clothes (I do like to unpack a bit). And yes, the WIFI is painfully slow and I can't believe a hotel of this type doesn't make the high-speed free to all. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom is very nice, and overall the hotel is extremely quiet (see below for exception)

The service is indeed excellent. We had an issue with our A/C unit (on a 90 degree day!) and the engineer was in our room within 5 minutes and the issue was resolved in about 10 minutes. We also had a weird issue with a gentlemen in the next room occasionally screaming during the evening (turns out he was getting a little "animated" about a sporting event. seriously?) The front desk handled it with class and discretion. The valets and doormen were all very friendly, as was the outside waiter at Le Bar.

Something to note - many of the stores/restaurants close down early in the evening. We would go out around 7pm looking for, say, a light dinner or ice cream and many things were closed (we ended up having $20 ice cream at Le Bar. Le sigh.) I think this is common for many areas of DC, but just something to be aware of, especially if you don't want to always go to a fancy restaurant every night.

The front valet parking situation was a little confusion because there's not much of a pull-off - you just kind of pull into the lane, put your hazards on, and hope for the best. :-) They moved cars quickly though, and it was probably our bad timing of arriving to check in during rush hour. Check in and check out were friendly and efficient. Overall, if I were going to DC again, I would certainly return to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsonadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
82 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Brilliant location in the centre of this city and within walking distance or a short cab ride away from everything. Service was excellent and the concierge/front desk team Cynthia and Cameron were absolutely brilliant. Great atmosphere in the bar, and the rooms were quiet, and very comfortable and well appointed. We did get a 4 nights for 3 deal by booking ahead of our stay, so great value for money as well ..for us !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,736 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing