We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel check in needs attention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
manchester england
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“excellent hotel check in needs attention”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Arrived on the 20th May at approx 5.30pm. Although room should have been ready from 3pm. we were given several reasons why room was unavailable non of which seemed believable. After some 30 minutes room was available. Not a good start to what was a lovely hotel in a prime location for all tourist sites.
Dining was very expensive and was not used.
Would visit again if in Washington.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms are larger and better equiped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,113
    798
    154
    63
    20
See reviews for
673
1,299
186
676
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We chose the Sofitel based on its location (a 2 min walk from the White House) and from the other glowing reviews on TripAdvisor, and were so glad we did!

The staff, hotel and room were all exceptional and we had such a lovely stay. The weather was terrible when we were there, so the complimentary umbrellas were a god send!

My husband and I are also partial to a morning run, so loved the set up at the concierge desk with jogging routes, water and towels - a great touch.

Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a central DC location, and a great stay. Merci, Sofitel!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrueKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Sofitel. As others have said, the location is excellent. 1 block from a Metro stop, and a short walk to the White House and the Washington Monument. The room was a bit small but adequately sized for what we needed. It would have been nice to have (1) a second comfortable chair (which is not a desk chair) and (2) more drawer space for clothes (I do like to unpack a bit). And yes, the WIFI is painfully slow and I can't believe a hotel of this type doesn't make the high-speed free to all. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom is very nice, and overall the hotel is extremely quiet (see below for exception)

The service is indeed excellent. We had an issue with our A/C unit (on a 90 degree day!) and the engineer was in our room within 5 minutes and the issue was resolved in about 10 minutes. We also had a weird issue with a gentlemen in the next room occasionally screaming during the evening (turns out he was getting a little "animated" about a sporting event. seriously?) The front desk handled it with class and discretion. The valets and doormen were all very friendly, as was the outside waiter at Le Bar.

Something to note - many of the stores/restaurants close down early in the evening. We would go out around 7pm looking for, say, a light dinner or ice cream and many things were closed (we ended up having $20 ice cream at Le Bar. Le sigh.) I think this is common for many areas of DC, but just something to be aware of, especially if you don't want to always go to a fancy restaurant every night.

The front valet parking situation was a little confusion because there's not much of a pull-off - you just kind of pull into the lane, put your hazards on, and hope for the best. :-) They moved cars quickly though, and it was probably our bad timing of arriving to check in during rush hour. Check in and check out were friendly and efficient. Overall, if I were going to DC again, I would certainly return to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawsonadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Brilliant location in the centre of this city and within walking distance or a short cab ride away from everything. Service was excellent and the concierge/front desk team Cynthia and Cameron were absolutely brilliant. Great atmosphere in the bar, and the rooms were quiet, and very comfortable and well appointed. We did get a 4 nights for 3 deal by booking ahead of our stay, so great value for money as well ..for us !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sennokians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Sofitel was in a great spot, just a few blocks from the White House and the other Monuments. Its also about 1.5 mile walk to Georgetown and super close to great restaurants. Staff was helpful on tell us where to walk too, and they also gave my wife, who runs, a few running maps around the area. We went during the cherry blossom season, which was late this year, but had a great stay. Room was a great size for the two of us. No complaints and would recommend to other people.

Room Tip: We were in a super king, good size and was in the corner of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcnem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I just completed a business-related week long stay at the Sofitel. Over the years, I've stayed here many times and have grown to really like the Sofitel for various reasons, through there are a few things in need of improvement:

1) Location is excellent - very close to K street, not for from several metro stops, and close to numerous government offices

2) Service is outstanding for a hotel in the US; the staff is friendly and courteous

3) Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. The bed has to be among my favorite hotel beds anywhere.

Problems:

1) Internet - the standard "free" internet connection speeds are ridiculously slow. The "premium" internet is fine, suggesting that Sofitel throttles the standard internet too much. Come on - this is 2013, do we really need throttled connections?

2) Gym - the gym is tiny and under-equipped. Several treadmills and climbers, but only one bike, 2 weight machines, and one free weight station.

Overall, one of my favorite DC hotels, but doesn't get an "excellent" due to the shortcomings above.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivekSub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We just returned from a six-night stay at the Sofitel Lafayette Square. Great experience. Considering the level of luxury, service and location, the rooms were very reasonably priced. Every staff member we encountered went out of his or her way to help us and answer our questions -- from the front desk clerk who WALKED us, without being asked, to the elevator after checking us in to the bellmen who always greeted us with a "bonjour!" at the door to the server at the bar who went out of her way to answer my MANY questions about one menu item -- everyone was exceptionally nice. As for the accommodations themselves, in the bathroom we especially loved the lighted mirror and spacious separate bathtub and shower, as well as the general layout. We had only one extremely minor criticism in that there was a bit too much furniture in the rest of the room which made it slightly crowded, but this was easily remedied by moving the stool at the end of the bed out of the way. As for location, the hotel is about a block or so away from the White House and about the same from the nearest metro (subway) station, McPherson Square. ***One pointer: As we learned when we left early this morning, the metro doesn't open until 7 am on weekends**** At any rate, we will MOST DEFINITELY return next time we travel to D.C.!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank augustabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#1 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,808 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
1,247 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing