We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Washington DC
Nearby Hotels
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $237/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$145
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of $211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$130
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of $161/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$174
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$138
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $168/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,350)
Filter reviews
3,350 results
Traveler rating
2,235
855
168
71
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,235
855
168
71
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite housele barlafayette squareluxury roomroom servicecity viewturn down servicecorner roomjunior suitetwo blocksbed was very comfortableconcierge deskmini barhotel barfantastic locationnational mallsmithsonian museums
Filter
Updating list...
1,587 - 1,592 of 3,350 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our stay at the Washington Sofitel was very enjoyable, The room was spacious, well appointed, modern, comfortable and above all quiet. The location was also superb. We would definitely stay there again if in the Washington area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank riky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Although I only stayed one night at this hotel the service we recieved was great. The location is wonderful for sightseeing and the staff were very friendly.
Our room was a bit on the dreary dark side but the beds and bedding were comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ttravelerbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A Sofitel is always a safe option and picked this one due to its location a block from the White House. Initial impressions were very good, quality service by all concerned and an upgrade! Chris the bell-hop showed me to the suite and then proceeded to show me how to work everything things in the 3 rooms. The room was a corner suite, on the 12th floor and was very impressive.

You do get free wifi but decent wifi is a paid for upgrade. Given that wifi is pretty much a utility these days, a $400 a night hotel should provide this FOC IMHO!

Everything in the room was very good, very clean nice bathroom and waterfall shower.

Ate in the restaurant for breakfast on the Saturday and was pretty good, although as usual in the US way too much for a UK appetite....

The bar area on the sidewalk is a pretty cool hangout, but as you would expect pretty pricy!

Great location if visiting the main sights in town. A 2 minute walk to the White House and easily accessible to most other locations.

Only in town for the day so after a high speed tour, ended up going shopping in Georgetown, which is highly recommended too!

Room Tip: I would imagine higher rooms are less noisy given the busy comer the hotel is located on.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Upscale rooms with excellent staff.
Rooms were clean, comfortable, and quiet.
Attentive and professional staff, good restaurant and lounge.
Expensive breakfast but not unanticipated.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwalters10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I were disappointed that our usual Omni Shoreham Hotel in DC was completely booked for our yearly visit to DC. After researching so many hotels with apprehension, we chose the Sofitel for our visit because of many positive reviews, and because it was located close to many of the restaurants and places that we wanted to experience. On my way to DC, however, I just hoped that we made the right decision. The Sofitel did live up to the reviews. The staff from the beginning to the end of our stay were very friendly, helpful and very professional. It was a birthday celebration for me, and we received two complimentary drinks at the bar, and a lovely piece of cheesecake was awaiting us in our room. I also received a very nice, welcoming happy birthday card from the manager. It was a good start to our vacation. Here is what we experienced. When we first arrived and pulled up to the hotel, which is directly on 15th Street NW, we were greeted by a young man who immediately starting writing out a ticket for us to use the valet parking. Valet parking at this hotel is $50 a day !!! We kindly told him that we would be using public parking. I will give you the best tip of our vacation....use Parking Panda through the internet and pick a parking garage close to the hotel and save a lot of money. We used the PMI lot on G Street which cost us $100 for 5 days. Make a reservation on line. It was within walking distance of the hotel, but it is long term, and not one that allows you to take your car in and out each day. You can find that type of lot on Parking Panda also. Our car was fine at the end of our vacation. The hotel is very lovely, but not very big. The one thing I missed was not having a small area where we could get a snack after a long afternoon. Our room was nicely designed, very, very new and clean, and the bathroom beautiful with tub and shower. Heat and air conditioning was easy to regulate and worked very well. Very large, warm and comforting bed, and heavy curtains for privacy since it is a city hotel and windows face other buildings. A lot of windows did allow for beautiful natural light during the day. The ONLY negative about the room was there was no coffee maker. Coffee was available at the bar on the main level very early every day. So if you like a cup of coffee first thing in the morning, before you are dressed....someone has to decide to go down to the lobby !! We did have breakfast in the restaurant, which has a patio for warmer mornings. The food was delicious and the service perfect. The first morning we waited just a little too long for our meal, but we recieved a complimentary bowl of fruit for having to wait too long. The next morning, breakfast arrived quickly. The bar area is quite large and comfy with tables and chairs, and a nice bar itself. My husband used the workout facility each morning and said it was very nice and very clean. The hotel is in a very safe part of DC, and there is a METRO station within a block or you can take a nice walk to so many of DC's points of interest. This is an upscale hotel, but not uppity.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews