We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable in DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Viera, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable in DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

A convenient and comfortable hotel, with a great attitude and service. A little on the pricey side but worth it, as it is in a good location for touring. The hotel restaurant has good, well prepared French bistro style cusine, and a friendly staff. Breakfast is not bad either with superior croissants and brioche, although pricey. I think the hotel would do well with a continental breakfast alternative. My only quibble was a lack of storage space for clothing for an extended stay. The closet space is minimal. I would definitely stay here again as the staff and room appointments made me feel welcome.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank countryoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am happy to know you enjoyed the service and French cuisine. Chef Franck Loquet has just inaugurated a new menu in iCi Urban Bistro this week and it is magnifique! We have a Continental Breakfast available through In Room Dining 24 hours a day should you crave the delicious croissants at any time! We do our best to assign our extended stay guests in rooms that can comfortably accommodate them, so if there is ever anything else you need, perhaps a wardrobe rack, or more spacious closet, do not hesitate to ask. I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    756
    147
    57
    19
See reviews for
640
1,250
180
625
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Spent 4 nights with a 10 year old to see sights. Rooms were on the small side but it was an old building. Front desk staff doormen and restaurant staff were excellent. Only negative was no coffee in room. The pastries were Devine. For a couple it would be perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for higher up will be a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloverinboca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
I have good news! If the only thing lacking from your stay is a coffee maker in the room, we can take care of that, no problem. We have coffee makers and tea kettles available for the room upon request, and of course you can enjoy complimentary coffee and tea each morning in Le Bar. I hope your son or daughter enjoyed Washington D.C. and we hope to welcome you back again soon. We will have your pastries, coffee maker and high floor preference arranged tout de suite!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I just returned from a family vacation in Washington, DC and I can't wait to go back so that I can stay at The Sofitel again. We had 2 rooms for 4 nights and have no complaints. When we arrived in our rooms we discovered that the crib had not been set up and mentioned it to the bellman. The crib arrived before I even had a chance to call the front desk. Then a few minutes later room service arrived with cookies & milk for my children. They even provided the cutest little robes & slippers for my two younger kids. The rooms are not only clean they are decorated beautifully. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful (arranging museum tickets) and even referred to us by name on several occasions. The restaurant has amazing food, dinner was incredible and The Parisian Breakfast is on par with any bakery in Paris. I won't even consider any other hotel when we return to DC.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MomoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Merci beaucoup! I am thrilled to know you enjoyed your family vacation with us in Washington D.C. Although we are known for our luxury service, we pride ourselves in creating a warm environment, comfortable and welcoming to families and leisure guests alike. I am happy we are now your D.C. hotel of choice, and I hope your children brought home those little slippers, aren't the adorable!?

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

An excellent stay. The hotel was very comfortable and well appointed.
Thank you, in particular, to Azi and Germain at the concierge desk who were extremely helpful. Washington is a great city and their advice on getting around etc was invaluable.
I will undoubtedly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Simon395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing us and for recognizing our 'outstanding' Concierge team. They are always at your service to help arrange your trip both during and prior to your visit. They are terrific at identifying your individual needs and preferences for tourist locations and restaurants around the city. Just ask!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in March 2013 for our honeymoon. The hotel is a little hard to find unless you are specifically looking for it. We took a cab from the airport, and the cab driver hadn't heard of the hotel. Fortunately we had the address for the hotel, so the cab driver was able to look up the directions. While it seems like the hotel may be far from the monuments, it is in fact one block away from the White House, and is close to the National Mall.

The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful during our entire trip! We arrived before our room was ready, so the hotel stored our luggage for us while we explored Washington, DC. When we returned, a bellman took our luggage up to our room. We had a corner room on the 9th floor. The view was good, but don't expect to see any of the monuments from the hotel. The room had a comfortable bed, feather pillows, a tv that had channels in English, French, and Japanese, and a nice bathroom. The shower in the bathroom was a bit small, but we liked everything else in the bathroom, especially the lighted make up mirror. The hotel provides citrus scented shampoo, conditioner, and shower gel, but I don't recommend them if you have sensitive skin.

Every interaction we had with the hotel staff was positive! The concierges recommended several restaurants that were within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel restaurant staff were extremely accommodating to my food allergies. The room was always clean, and the turn down service was a nice touch. I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Room Tip: Corner rooms provide a great view of DC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It seems you were able to take advantage of many of our perks like location and our Concierge service. And I do not blame you for enjoying your corner guestroom. Our SoBeds are world famous and Lanvin bathroom amenities really add to the feeling of a relaxing getaway! Come back and join us again soon, and next time, bring us some sunny Florida weather!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very fine hotel with great staff. The rooms and hotel itself are fantastic. Very close to the White House and other sites. The only bad thing I could say is as with any bill you receive, be sure to read it carefully. One of our parties was charged for a day of parking and they didn't even have a car, another party of ours was charged for 17 mini bar items. They only opened the door once and avoided the seven second law. The hotel did, without issue, remove all charges however. We would love to stay here again.

Venture out a few blocks to have access to more food options.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barkmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback, and for choosing the Sofitel. I am glad to know that we were able to take care of your bill, we often have mini bar charges appear when, as you mention, guests lift up items or store something extra in the fridge, and we are happy to make any necessary adjustments. We hope you will have the opportunity to come back and join us again soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great personal service, staff is excetional. Beautiful accomodations. It was my daughter's birthday and they gave her special service and treats. The room was well appointed and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lolapaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your family trip to Washington D.C. We love being a part of special occasions, and I am happy to know that your daughter enjoyed her celebration with us. We hope you will make another visit soon, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing