We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service is outstanding.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

My wife and I spent our anniversary here. The service was outstanding and the location is only about a block from the Mcphereson square metro stop. There are several good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. I would stay here again and absolutely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEC337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Happy Anniversary once again! Thank you for choosing Sofitel to celebrate. I see that you enjoyed one of our Pastry Chef, Vincent BItauld's specialty desserts, yum! We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully before your next anniversary.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    787
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
665
1,287
185
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in February for a meeting. You're only a few blocks from the White House, and two blocks from the McPherson Square Metro Station. The Mall is only about a 20 minute downhill walk.

This is the second Sofitel I've stayed at, and I'm really starting to think it might be my favorite hotel group. Both stays were impeccable. The lobby at the Sofitel is beautiful, with welcoming front desk staff. My room was so cozy, but modern, too. It's amazing to me how their decor could be so soothing and welcoming, and look entirely gorgeous at the same time! The room was large, with plenty of room for luggage. The bathroom was lovely, with a nice shower and separate tub.

My meeting was at the hotel, and I must say that the meeting facility is great. A nicely sized conference room for a group of around 20-30. EXCELLENT meals, too. I used the workout room once, and it had nice equipment and was very nice.

I would whole-heartedly stay at this hotel again. Great facility!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcking82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are honored to be considered among your favorite hotels, and I am happy to know you enjoyed your business stay with us in February. We have a meeting floor with a variety of options for different sized meetings as well as our Paris Ballroom. Chef Frank Loquet designs the banquet menus to reflect the quality and selection of our restaurant, and it makes those meetings that much more enjoyable! We strive to provide a comfortable environment, effortless and convenient for our guests to lessen the load of the busy work week. This includes amenities like complimentary coffee and tea to go in the mornings, a lightning-speed business wifi option, complimentary business center access to printing and our newly rennovated fitness center 24/7. We look forward to being your home away from home in Washington D.C.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I spent 5 nigths at Sofitel Lafayette Square (DC). Not only the hotel itself is amazing, but the staff are extremely friendly.
The location is perfect! Super fast checkin and chekout. Very clean, comfortable ... and the food is wonderful!
The bar (which every night is attended by executives from the neighborhood) has a wonderful special menu, including wines.
It would be unfair to say any employee name since I can not remember all names. But I appreciate the special attention from Chloe, who very often helped me with the maps.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fri_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Obrigada! I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your extended stay with us. Just like Chloe, who speaks Portuguese, French and English, we have Ambassadors from all over the world who speak a range of languages like German, Arabic, Russian, Amharic, Spanish, Croatian, Vietnamese, Dutch, Swedish and more. Wherever you are traveling from, Sofitel Washington D.C. has a warm welcome waiting for you!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

My new favorite hotel in the District.

First, a word on warning. They automatically add an 18% gratuity to restaurant and bar charges, so be careful not to over-tip.

The (standard) room was excellent. Well-appointed, modern, roomy, well-lighted, comfortable bed, Bose stereo, separate shower, mini-bar, wi-fi (free and paid). I think they thought of everything but the bidet/douchette. Turn-down service as well.

Their breakfast cafe has a great menu (but you'll not get out of here for less than $15). Try the smoked salmon and bagel (mmmm). I love the French press coffee ($6).

A really nice, comfortable bar/lounge. You may even see the President drive by (I did). He lives just a city block away.

The staff is stellar. Always eager to please.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buckles2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it seems you had a chance to try out both of our outlets and enjoyed! The smoked salmon IS delicious, and I highly recommend the homemade muesli. Automatic gratuity is added onto the breakfast in iCi and otherwise only for parties of six or more in Le Bar and iCi. Come back and join us for our outdoor terrace, it makes for great people watching and, as you saw, sometimes a glimpse of the Presidential motorcade!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

My Husband and I live in the Phila area and love to get away for long weekends to Washington DC. Between Christmas and New Years is a great time to go to Washington since congress is on vacation and you do not have to wait in long lines. We chose the Sofitel due to the great on-line reviews and our previous stay at the Sofitel in Montreal. Without a doubt we were not disappointed. We were greeted by Anna Chaley Croll the Relations Manager at the front desk. She welcomed us by wishing us a Happy 24th Anniversary along with spending time providing us with ideas for dinner along with having a wonderful choc desert and bottle of Sparkling water and a special note wishing us a Happy Anniversary. The Hotel room with was clean, quite and specious along with being close to the White House and main attractions. The package we selected included a breakfast each morning which was fantastic. The breakfast was terrific. We were only there for two mornings yet they remembered what we drank and greeted us with hot tea. This is our third experience staying with the Sofetil, twice in Montreal and once in DC. As we continue to travel, Sofitel will be one of our first choices to stay. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

PS. Remember to ask for Anna she is wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
My fellow Pennsylvanians!! It was such a pleasure to meet you both, and I was so happy you chose to try out Sofitel D.C. after your stay in Montreal. Thank you for your kind words, and remember I am always available to assist in planning your next getaway; even a staycation in Sofitel Philadelphia, it is a lovely property! I look forward to your next visit.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed here for four nights and had no complaints at all. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable and the service from all the staff was courteous and professional. Great location and Sofitel will be my first choice next time I'm in DC.

Room Tip: We actually preferred the two queen beds room over the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your trip to our Nation's Capital! We are here for all of your business needs and strive to provide an environment comfortable for your business travels. Do not forget to take advantage of our complimentary basic internet, or the paid light-speed business connection that can make working from your room extra convenient!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorton, Virginia, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is perfect for anyone who is looking to "getaway" for the weekend. We stayed on friday and saturday night, had breakfast in bed, drinks and everything was just perfect. I will stay here again for my next needed weekend gateway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mplum004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience! We love the term "staycation" and have many local guests who join us just to get away from the same old everyday at home. We have special packages like the Romance Package, which can make that weekend just a little extra special. Feel free to call us as well, and we can assist you in setting up any arrangements you may desire to create a memorable getaway!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing