We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel, great room and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #20 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed in a jr suite for a week.
It's a great hotel with a perfect location for business and pleasure. Room was excellent with a separate living area with Bose tv and music facilities. Very clean and well appointed.

Free coffee to take out every morning was a nice touch and the restaurant was also very high quality. The bar is also nicely decorated with great service from attentive staff.

Hotel has a good gym with 24hr access. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberderoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy you were able to enjoy the comfort of our junior suites for an entire week. That separate living room really makes it convenient to separate the business day from the comfort of a restful night of sleep. The free wifi helps to accomplish all of that work as well! Our gym, as you most likely recognized, has just recently been rennovated, and our guests are very happy with the upgraded equipment and design. As you mentioned, for business or leisure, we have what you need, and I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,589 - 1,595 of 3,219 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great and thoughtful service. Sent the kids chocolate chip cookies, milk, and kid size robes and slippers--they were all smiles. Outstanding food and accomodations. You pay a premium; but well worth it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing us for your holiday visit to Washington D.C. As you can tell, Sofitel loves special occasions and holidays, especially with families! We have an excellent selection of childrens accommodations including Chef Loquet's kids menus in all of the outlets, bath amenties for children, coloring books and activities and even cookies and milk (SHHH!) The concierge can put together recommendations tailored to your family's needs to ensure you have a magnifique stay! I hope you will join us again soon for the next special holiday.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I was very happy to be able to book a hotel that is so close to everything (a couple blocks from the whitehouse) that wasn't super expensive! It's a very nice hotel, the rooms are clean, & are larger than the standard tiny, mid-city hotel room. The beds aren't super comfy (they really need to do something about that!), but it wasn't miserable at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkeljake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We do our best to create a home away from home in the heart of Washington D.C. for all guests, whether traveling for business or pleasure. We want you to be comfortable both in our public areas and in the privacy of our guestrooms. Please let us know next time if you are not entirely pleased with your sleeping arrangements, as our SoBeds are known for heavenly comfort, and I am disappointed to learn you did not get to enjoy this treat! Just let us know and we will make it right for you. I hope you will join us again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

The hotel is located close to McPherson Square subway. It is within walking distance of most of the main attractions, particularly the White House and environs. The rooms are of a high quality and very comfortable with excellent amenities that is expected of this hotel chain. We ate in the restaurant where the food was excellent. We had some clothes washed/dry cleaned and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Our king room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DifromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel brand. It seems you have come to expect the luxury service and accommodations our properties are so well known for, and I am happy we are no exception! Please come and see us again, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilsner
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Very pleasant stay overall. Location is fantastic - next to the White House and walking distance to the Smithsonian museums and metro. Rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious. If you can't sleep during the night, go down to the lobby and chill out in their beautiful lounge area and enjoy unlimited free coffee or tea. Only slight downside is that complimentary wifi is a bit slow (other hotels I have stayed at offer free fast internet services) and doorman is a bit hit and miss. When we arrived our taxi driver had to go and locate the concierge to assist us with our luggages. When we left, no one was around to assist so we carried our own luggages to the taxis outside.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linny1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. As you can tell, we strive to create an environment convenient and comfortable for all of our guests; early risers and night owls alike! Le Bar serves food until 11 pm nightly, and complimentary cofee and tea served each morning beginning at 6am. As you mentioned we now offer basic wifi for our guests free of charge. Should you have a need for higher internet speeds we have a very high speed option available for a single charge that can be used on multiple devices. We hope you will be back soon to stay with us.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Sofitel. The service was gracious and most welcoming throughout the visit. I requested an early (9AM) check-in and although I arrived even earlier, I was given a lovely, well appointed suite immediately that included a huge windows and a living/work area with desk, sofa, large flat screen TV and coffee table. The bed, comforter, and pillows were exceptionally comfortable and due to these and curtains that kept out most of the light and noise, I slept very well.

The location is a short, pleasant walk to the White House and other sites.

Breakfast was disappointing -- I'd ordered an egg white veggie omelet that was served on some kind of weird red-dish thing that I couldn't identify and that tasted awful. Nevertheless, the coffee and fresh fruit I ordered were delicious, the service great, and fresh croissants looked lovely (although I did not partake.)

I ordered grilled salmon and veggies cooked to order for dinner through room service. It was delivered within 30 minutes and was delicious.

This was my first visit to a Sofitel hotel and I intend to try another next time I travel.

Bravo to the Sofitel and its wonderful staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liviBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to try the Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. We understand the needs and demanding schedules of our guests, so we do our best to accommodate requests like early checkins whenever we can. It seems you were able to take advantage of all our suites have to offer; the comfort of a relaxing restful environment along with the necessary space and amenities to accomplish all of your work. Our newly complimentary wifi can help with this, and if you have a lot of business and computer work to do, we offer a paid extremely high speed option to make it even easier. I am sorry to know you did not enjoy the tomato ragout with your breakfast, the healthy egg white omelette can certainly be ordered without it, no problem. We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to be your hotel of choice in the city.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
1,301 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
1,293 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,905 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $225 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing