We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pleased & will return” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #11 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleased & will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed here the last weekend of January 2013 and had a wonderful time. The staff was helpful, friendly and accommodating from the very moment we pulled up to the curb at 3:15 on a Friday afternoon. Our check in was swift and pleasant with our bags being brought to our room almost immediately. We were given pleasant instructions on all the amenities of the room.

The room was much smaller than I would have expected and the layout was a little odd. The TV was almost right alongside the bed. Most disappointing was the view - or lack thereof. We were facing north - looking into a vacant building that was under renovation. I considered asking for another room, but my wife talked me out of it since we would not be spending a great deal of time in the room. When I return I will request a room that faces east or south toward the White House. The king size bed was awesome! Both of us said afterward that we had not slept that well in a while.

The location was great for us. We love to walk and on Friday night we walked to dinner four blocks away. Saturday we walked to the Verizon center for a Georgetown game. Afterward we walked to the National Mall and back up 15th Street NW to the hotel.

We are not prone to spending much time in hotel bars, but Le Bar was very inviting from the outside so we went in. The staff was very friendly and very attentive and we relaxed almost immediately. We enjoyed it so much we went back on our second night for a pre dinner cocktail. We did not eat a meal here because we already had plans elsewhere, so I can not offer any comment on the food.

Bottom line - I would recommend. I would go back, I will ask for a room facing east or south on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ankrguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to know you were greeted with a smile and helpful hand by our bellmen and doormen who are here to assist around the clock. Please do not hesitate to let us know if you are less than satisfied with your room layout or view, as we have numerous options upon availability. I have passed your kind words on to the ambassadors in Le Bar, and hope you will have the opportunity to come back and join us in the next few months when the patio will open. The cocktails taste even better when enjoyed outside in the fresh air!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,993 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,015
    755
    147
    57
    19
See reviews for
640
1,250
180
624
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

I just returned from DC and enjoyed my stay at the Sofitel. It is a lovely hotel with sufficient business amenities. The front desk staff were courteous, but not overly engaging. We had a pleasant experience working with the hotel to host a super bowl party with clients who were in town for the same conference. The food turned out lovely and service was good. Our only disappointment was that we were misled to believe the bar televisions were larger than they actually were. I very much enjoyed my room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was spacious and well-appointed. I would have preferred a softer bathrobe, but was happy to at least have one. Like most downtown DC hotels, the views were not spectacular but I nonetheless received decent sunlight throughout the day. The location is truly hard to beat and I was satisfied with the price I paid. The gym was small but very up to date and clean. I would have enjoyed a spa and whirlpool, but they do not have these.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caitlin108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sofitel Washington D.C. Lafayette Square for your business trip. We are always available to work with guests to host all sorts of client events, large and small. Le Bar, iCi Urban Bistro, the Paris Ballroom and other meeting spaces can be converted into numerous setups to best accommodate the needs of the event. And do not forget, we offer complimentary wireless internet for all guests! I am glad you enjoyed our newly rennovated fitness center. Although historic guidelines in D.C. do not allow us to have a spa/pool, our concierge is availble to assist you in making arrangements close by the hotel for your convenience. We hope to welcome you and your colleagues back again soon for your next meeting.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, especially when you take location and price into consideration. We stayed there this summer and are planning to come back to DC this spring, and will definitely stay at the sofitel again. The service at le bar was fantastic, and the concierge was very helpfu, friendly, and interested in our needs.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to come back and see us again. Just wait until you experience Washington in spring, you will love it! We are walkable distance, as you know, from the National Mall, so if you come during Cherry Blossoms, it is extra convenient to see the blooms. Please do not hesitate to get in touch with us directly to assist you with your reservation and trip plans. We look forward to having you back soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked two night weekend stay at Sofitel through Jetsetter, largely based on the glowing Trip Advisor reviews. However, after staying for one night we relocated to the Hay Adams.
There was nothing bad about Sofitel, but there was nothing spectacular either. The check-in was very impersonal and no one offered to help us with our luggage -- all we got was a nod towards the elevator. The room itself (Luxury King and I don't want to imagine what the superior room looks like) was fairly small and awkwardly appointed. The bathroom ( large, modern and quite frankly the best part of the room) is behind frosted french doors right off the side of the bed, so if one person uses it while the other is asleep, the bright light falls right across the bed. In addition, the bathroom fan is loud and there is no way to shut it off.
Room service was fast, but the menu is very limited with few vegetarian lunch/dinner choices. The food itself, with the exception of the breakfast croissants, was subpar, (the scrambled eggs were completely inedible). All staff, greet you with Bon Jour or Bon Soir and wish you Bon Appetit, but that's where the gustatory comparison ends, and we ended up going outside for another breakfast at the nearby Le Pain Quotidien.
The room was clean, but I did see a hair on the side of the bathtub, which was a bit off-putting.
The central location, soft comfortable bed and the bathroom toiletries by Lanvin are very good. Most of the staff seem nice and we were offered by the front desk to be moved to another room when we were checking out ahead of time. But the overall experience was lacking. Having stayed in better hotels in DC, I do not understand why Sofitel got rated so highly, Unfortunately, given the high rating we did expect an exceptional experience and this was really not it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am disappointed to learn only now the details of your stay. As a team we strive to provide a comfortable environment for all of our guests, acknowledging very well that everyone has personal preferences. I do wish we would have known any of this before you chose to leave, as I am confident there were many things we could have done to accommodate your needs. We have a variety of room layouts, sizes and views available, something for every preference. Chef Loquet has a lovely choice of vegetarian options in each outlet; my favorites are the butternut squash ravioli in iCi, the mushroom spring rolls in Le Bar, and the roasted vegetable and chevre sandwich through In Room Dining. If there is something particular you would like, just ask, and we will see what we can do. We are here at your service, please do not hesitate to take advantage of that! Again we appreciate your feedback, and I do wish you would join us again to enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We loved our one night stop over at the Sofitel - the Concierge was so helpful as we only had 1.5 days and had to jam pack as much as we could in. The room was delightful! In a perfect location. The bed was very comfortable and all room amenitites of a high standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raquel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing us for your quick trip to Washington D.C. I hope you will be able to come back and join us again, this time for longer! Trust me that our fabulous Concierge Team can fill your schedule for any length of visit!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Beautiful hotel, great location, outstanding staff! Easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. We had an issue in our room that was taken care of in a matter of minutes. When does that happen?!

2 small things to quibble about though. Upon check-in, we were offered an upgrade to a 'city view' room. We agreed to the upgrade but were terribly disappointed to find that our 'city view' room was actually only a view of the American Bar Association building across the street. I would not consider that a 'city view'.
Our other issue was with the bedding. While the bed and bedding was extremely comfortable, the pillow top bed and the down comforter had us roasting each night. We had to turn on the air conditioning to cool the room down. Unfortunately, that didn't really help and there were no other sheets/lighter blankets in the closet to use. If we could have opened the windows to let in the cold January/February air we would have.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am certainly glad you enjoyed your stay overall, and I have a suggestion for your next visit. Please let me know when you come back to stay with us, and I will be sure to have a top sheet added to your bed. Some guests are more comfortable with this, so we have them upon request, just ask! As for the view, although Washington D.C. is not necessarily known for the skyline silhouette, there are some pretty views, and perhaps a higher floor, and maybe facing 15th Street would help that. Again, please reach out to me and I would be happy to do what we can to accommodate. We will ensure your next stay is extra magnifique!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran-Iran
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

the location is perfect if you are planning to visit Washington as a tourist , white house , congress , the mall and museum ( these 2 are a bit farther) are all within walking distance . however everything closes down at 6 pm around this area so if you want to walk around in the evenings its dead.
i was there for almost a week and for inauguration. the staff at front desk were amazingly welcoming and nice and did everything to help me feel comfortable however i felt that house keeping was not as sufficient as you expect in a 5 star . i hadn't have my room cleaned until 4-5 pm in the afternoon in 3 days and they came after i made some phone calls to reception .
the consiege was also very efficient and helped me with getting my tickets for inauguration in the last minute showing they know what they are doing .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taraneh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
I hope you enjoyed seeing the Inauguration, it was such an exciting downtown, although you are right, that week, many things closed early downtown due to the festivities and street closures. Just nearby we have terrific neighborhoods for touring, shopping, dining and enjoying the great-outdoors. I apologize that your room was not cleaned as early as you wished, please feel free to let us know if you would like service at a specific time, as the Room Attendants typically take care of the rooms up until 5pm before Turn Down service begins. We would be happy to accommodate. I hope you will be able to join us again and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing