We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at the Sofitel D.C.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at the Sofitel D.C.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My sister and I just returned from a three night stay at the Sofitel D.C. Upon arrival we received a pleasant welcome, then a "bonjour" and the check-in was a breeze. Specifically, I'd like to commend Michelle at the front desk who provided exemplarary and courtesy service with our special requests. As for the details of our stay, I'll start by saying that the rooms were a good size and very tastefully decorated with a european flair and very clean. In fact, it was the perfect respite from the crowds and action during an extremely busy Inagural week. There is a bar/lounge located in the lobby that is not to be missed --- it's posh, serves great food and provides courteous service. The location of the hotel was ideal, as it's close to the White House and a good starting point to explore D.C. on foot. Also, want to thank Anna for her great service and helpfulness. The only reservation I had was the size of the elevators-- but the hotel is in a historic building, so I suppose they give the place 'character'. The special touches and great service down to the doorman (ie. when heading out, I never had to open the door during my entire stay) is what makes this hotel special. More than likely I will return to the Sofitel for the Cherry Blossom festival. Thank you for a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travel200767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
You and your sister chose quite an exciting time to visit the Nation's Capital! We had a fabulous time celebrating Inauguration, and like you, we cannot wait for the arrival of the Cherry Blossoms. We will be honored to welcome you back this spring, I know you will enjoy walking around the tidal basin and the monuments with all of the beautiful trees. Then you can return to the hotel and enjoy the open air patios of iCi and Le Bar! A bientot!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    784
    150
    60
    19
See reviews for
658
1,280
185
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in September 2012, at this lovely hotel.
From the moment we arrived we saw he attitude of bellmen, front desk, concierge, room cleaners was outstanding.
They could not have been more helpful in recommendations and overall service.
The room was spotless,and beautifully decorated.

A block and a half from the White House. We could walk to the Mall and all its attractions. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buckten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
September is a beautiful time to visit Washington D.C. and it seems this was your experience! SInce you last stayed with us, our chef has launched new menus in all of the outlets, we have given our fitmess center a complete face-lift, and we now offer complimentary wireless internet for all of our guests. The first 4 Star hotel in Washington D.C. to do so! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We couldn't have had a better experience. When making the reservation I asked for a larger room with a sofa and two extra chairs plus a coffee pot as we were going to be entertaining in our room. Everything was exactly as requested upon arrival. The staff could not have been more professional or accommodating. Every wish or whim was attended to immediately. Will definitely go only to this hotel when visiting D.C. The room and service value was worth way more than the price we paid. Kudos to the Sofitel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dianasmith123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We try our best to accommodate all varieties of special request, nothing is impossible! I am glad to know you enjoyed our brand new In Room Dining menu, and with work to be done in the room, I hope you were able to take advantage of our complimentary wireless internet available in all guest rooms! Come back and joing us again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not only did we get a great rate at the Sofitel DC, the Hotel was really lovely.
The staff was knowledgable, professional and kind.
For absolutely no reason other then holiday spirit the evening Front Desk Manager offered to buy my husband and I drink at their very chic hotel bar.
My husband does not drink, but he enjoyed the atmosphere while I enjoyed their signature cocktail. What a nice and rare surprise for a hotel chain to make each guest feel special.
The Location was a few blocks from the White House and very near the Metro.
We never had a hard time finding parking.
The room was well appointed, sophisticated, airy and clean.
We are already planning our next trip so we can enjoy the Sofitel experience.

Room Tip: Upper Corner Floor has fabulous views of the city's wide avenues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermilye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
With so many convenient ways to travel between New York City and Washington D.C. I hope you have the chance to come see us again soon! I am happy to know our ambassadors made you feel special, as we strive for this each day. We will be waiting for you to return when spring arrives!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful rooms, wonderful lounge with great menu and amenities galore! Great bath with tub and separate shower and Lanvin bath products. 2! Terry cloth robes with slippers! Prompt and hot room service with fresh flowers. I didn't touch a single door handle the entire stay....doormen knew it was flu season, I guess :-) Combination safe in room. Speaking French was a huge bonus. Close to the action (1 block from White House during Innaugural week). Rates were far more reasonable than the US corporate alternatives. Will definitely stay here when visiting again.

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experience so thoroughly. I am thrilled to know that you noticed and enjoyed the small details that make us stand out. We will forever have our French touch, so you know where to come the next time you are craving a little piece of Paris!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during November 2012. We booked because we had enjoyed a stay at the Shanghai Sofitel earlier in the year and we weren't disappointed. we were upgraded to a larger room on arrival, and given drink vouchers for the bar. The room was great, very spacious and well appointed. The location put us within close walking distance of all the major sites. The staff were exceptionally helpful, and it was lovely to be greeted every time we came or went with a cheery "bonjour" or "bonsoir. We would definitely stay here again, and really converted to this group.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tjlcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Welcome to the family of loyal Sofitel guests! I hope you will have the chance to visit many of our properties worldwide, and most importantly, that you can come join us again in Washington D.C. We have a fabulous loyalty membership program called Le Club, which gives you insider access to all sorts of exciting benefits!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here the first week of January 2013 during a trip with my boyfriend. The best part of this hotel was the location. We wanted to do a lot of site seeing-- the Smithsonian museums, the Capitol, and so on-- and the hotel was very close to all of those landmarks.

But the hotel was not as luxurious and sophisticated as I expected. The room was pretty standard, and the decor was underwhelming. It felt like being in a ship cabin to me. The view out our window was a big brick wall. There was very little natural light in the room. The door to the bathroom was more like a panel than a door, so there was very little privacy. I liked that there was a separate shower and tub. The rest of the hotel decor felt a little dated as well. The staff seemed very friendly and eager to help.

Overall, I would happily stay at the Sofitel again, but I would not seek it out. It is a fairly standard hotel, but it is in an excellent location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandySandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It seems you were able to enjoy all of the sites you intended to visit with our central location in downtown Washington. On your next visit be sure to inquire about a luxury king room. While the superior king rooms are preferred by some because of their quiet, private nature, other guests rather have a street view and look out onto the city. We have something for everyone!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing