We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Our New Year Trip to Washington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #9 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our New Year Trip to Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Hotel and service were excellent! Staff was just a little too overpowering to be of best service! Be sure to have plenty of tip money. We CAN do some things ourselves! If they can back off just a little, this would be one of the best places we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Our room was great. I'm sure the rest of them are just as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for welcoming 2013 with us at Sofitel Washington D.C. I am happy to know you enjoyed your trip and our team's attention to service. Our priority is our guests' comfort and convenience, and I can assure you that any assistance offered from our ambassadors is well intended. If you prefer to carry your own luggage, for example, just say so, and our bellman will be happy to show you to the elevator. Tip only as you see fit, we just want you to enjoy!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,972
    728
    141
    55
    18
See reviews for
624
1,213
177
607
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Parfait in all aspects .

location
service
rooms
food

No better place to stay in Washington DC for the money. It was an oasis of tranquillity in a capital city with a french accent to its service. Washington DC is wonderful city to visit surprisingly quiet in the centre and all the iconic sights to see.We stayed for 4 nights and is just about right lengh of time to see the main sights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozziesyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel, and for visiting Sofitel Washington D.C. I am sure you were able to take advantage of our central downtown location to visit all of the monuments, museums and attractions. Now you must come back to see us when the weather warms up. The city will be busy with tons of outdoor activities and sidewalk cafes!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

My husband and I live only 30 minutes from DC, but enjoy the occasional overnight trip away from the Va 'burbs and this is our go to hotel. The location is perfect as it's within walking distance of fabulous restaurants and monuments as well as a short cab ride to the livey U Street Corrider. The staff and service is impeccable. We were meeting friends for our annual holiday dinner and decided to stay over so we could also celebrate our anniversary. Upon hearing this, we were immediately given a room upgrade and shortly after, a lovely dessert was delivered to our room with a note wishing us a happy anniversary. The hotel has a European vibe, a great restaurant, cozy bar and awesome 24 hr room service (great after enjoying the bars on U ;) I have to mention their security team as being wonderful as well. Once home, we discovered we had forgotten our phone charger and I was immediately put through to security who promtly checked the room and called me back to say they had found it. I can't wait for our next little escape!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2bluepoints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
We are honored to be your "staycation" getaway of choice, and hope you enjoyed a very special anniversary celebration with us. We look forward to welcoming you in 2013, but don't wait until your anniversary, come back for a winter escape or to welcome spring and the cherry blossoms!!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent two wonderful nights at this hotel. Everyone was so friendly! The rooms are very comfortable, the bar was fun and the drinks good and room service breakfast very nice. Highly recommended for business or pleasure.

A great location in downtown DC. You can absolutely walk everywhere.

Love the French touches everywhere: the "Bonjour" greeting, Occitane toiletries, the photos of Paris everywhere... very nice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Merci beaucoup! Thank you for choosing Sofitel Washington D.C. Each Sofitel worldwide has its own unique identity and connection to the local culture, all while embracing a familar French touch. You will find a welcoming "bonjour" anywhere you visit! I hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent a night the sofitel, the welcome was very warm and the staff very attentive to our needs. We set the system to keep the room at 68 and had a rather difficult night when we realize the morning after that the system did not do what it was supposed to do. We expressed the event to the front desk and they honestly could not have cared less about our lack of comfort that night. Does this mean that the customer is no longer a priority from the time they are ready to check out? I hope the management will read this review and reply accordingly. Otherwise great location in the heart of downtown, excellent amenities, inside and out. Will return assuming that these problems are guaranteed to be resolved.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to Washington D.C. Although I am pleased to know you enjoyed your welcome, and the service from our ambassadors, I am sorry to hear that you felt your feedback at checkout was not properly acknowledged. I can assure you that we take situations like this very seriously, and appreciate when our guests take the time to bring them to our attention so that we may quickly find a resolution. I know that the engineering team was sent to your room following your departure, and were able to adjust the unit. I am confident when you return to stay with us again that you will enjoy a flawless Sofitel experience.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here with wife and 2 children in December 2012- booked a family room with 2 double beds. On arrival, our room was not ready- but the extremely helpful front desk staff arranged a free upgrade to a junior suite- which was great. All the staff that we encountered- from the front desk to the concierge, the bell-men and restaurant staff were really good- friendly, efficient and helpful. The room was of a high standard, and the meals (we had 2 breakfasts and 2 lunches at the hotel)- were of great quality.
Location was perfect- very close to the White house, close to metro station and sight-seeing bus stop, and within walking distance of Washington monument and most Smithsonian museums. Chinatown is a mere 15 minute walk and has a variety of good restaurants (mostly not Chinese!)
In summary- this is a very high quality hotel, with well trained staff. It is obvious that they strive to maintain a high standard. In fact because of our experience at this hotel, I will try to use the Sofitel group wherever possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TreveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your family trip to the nation's capital! I hope you enjoyed the junior suite, we love that sliding door that separates the living room area for just a little bit of privacy. There are new restaurants opening up each day, so be sure to come back in the spring or summer to join us again. Cherry Blossom season feels just around the corner!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing