We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for both business and leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,088
    787
    152
    63
    19
See reviews for
665
1,287
185
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I love a good boutique hotel and this one is truly top notch. I try to stay here every time I'm in DC. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, even pronouncing my last name correctly! The rooms do vary in size but are always well stocked and appointed. The food is really good, even among all the great restaurants in DC. The locations is perfect for walking to the White House, National Mall, Capitol, etc. This is exactly what a boutique hotel should be, in every way.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LFey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback. We strive to provide personalized service where each of our guests is an individual, not a room number, and I am glad to know you noticed this. Please do not forget to mention your room preferences to us and we would be happy to note them for your return visits and accommodate as possible. The chef is constantly updating his menus to ensure fresh seasona quality, so come back again soon and indulge in iCi Urban Bistro again!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogaland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the hotel with friends. We had a wonderful time. Extremely comfortable beds. Great location just two blocks from The White House. As we had a car the valet parking was a plus. And all the staff was friendly and helpful. We also enjoyed the restaurant and bar, good selection of wine and good food. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorid_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your visit to D.C. It seems you were able to enjoy our infamous SoBeds, many guests say it is like sleeping on a cloud! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Happy Holidays!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pace, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We visited the Sofitel to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. The fine service started at the door and didn't end until we left, two day later.

We were met by a smiling, very pleasant doorman who treated us warmly and welcomed us for our stay. At the front desk we were treated as valued customers though we only visit once a year. We told the desk person why we were there and he expressed true delight that we chose to stay there to celebrate. We had planned to see a sports event during our stay and wanted to have dinner prior to attending. The concierge asked our dining preferences then directed us to a choice of good restaurants and provided guidance to get to our destination.

That evening we went to the hotel bar for an after event nightcap. The bartender prepared us a special treat to have along with our drinks because he knew we were celebrating our anniversary. When we got to our room there was another surprise, a dessert with anniversary best wishes written in chocolate around the dessert.

Did I mention the proximity to many of our nations capitol's best monuments and local landmarks? Everything you could want is within walking distance of the hotel!

Room Tip: Didn't use swimming pool or spa, don't know whether or not they have those facilities. Best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Sofitel Washington D.C. is honored to be your destination for an annual trip to the nation's capital! We love to be a part of our guests' special celebrations, and are here for your convenience to assist with any arrangements prior to or during your stay. Just ask! We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My wife and I just got back from staying one night in DC before meeting up with family outside the city. You expect great service at a hotel like this but yet it's still a surprise when you actually get it. From the minute our cab pulled up someone was there to greet us and immediately take our bags. The woman at the front desk was gracious and quickly got us through the reservation process. Our room was in great shape, my wife loved the shower. As folks have said, location is great. We were able to check out the next day, leave our bags and walk to a ton of your typical tourist sites from Lincoln Memorial to the Capitol (well we walked to Lincoln at least but you probably want to cab from there to the Capitol and only a short cab from there back to hotel). When we got back to the hotel and although we had checked out, service as still great. They had our bags ready to go quickly, radioed to have the valet grab a cab and when I asked the woman at the front desk if I could get one more of those Evian bottles for my wife before leaving she was nice enough to provide gratis without pointing to the closest vending machine. Small things like that can make an impression.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCA612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
We are happy to be your hotel of choice in Washington D.C. I hope you can plan another visit soon, and spend a longer time with us. There is tons to see in the city, and as you know we are close to it all!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel, Washington last September for 4 nights. we chose this hotel in particular because we know the standards generally set by Sofitel when we tour France and other European cities and this hotel did not let us down. In addition, we chose the Sofitel as the hotel is extremely close to The White House and within easy walking distance of all other tourist destinations.
Our room was superb, staff extremely polite and nothing was a trouble to them and the food was excellent as we dined there every night of our stay.
We would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Our room faced the main road and on 3rd floor but extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel hotels worldwide! Having experienced several Sofitel properties in different countries, I trust you have come to expect our uniform level of luxury service with our signature French twist. I hope you will join us again soon, perhaps when the weather warms up and we reopen our terrace patio!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing