We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location to visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel location is simply PERFECT, it is just 2 min walk from the white house and within walking distance of the national mall. I had only 2 full days to visit washington which is why my choice went on this Hotel. The neighbourhood is very safe and you can also from there access the metro just 2 blocks away.
The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable, the beds are REALLY good. Breakfast is really nice and the staff is very helpful. i didn't take dinner there so i can't comment only room service on my first night and it was fast and good.
no wifi free of charge in the rooms but at breakfast they will give you an access code for free and mine happened to still work afterwards.
The reception makes sure that your stay is comfortable, and are very honest, when i mentioned i rented a movie but the TV kept loosing the connection they directly took it out my bill although i had not even asked for it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alx567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to to tell us about your stay at Sofitel. It seems you were able to take advantage of many of our amenities, and especially our central location, right next to the White House. Next time you join us make sure to try iCi Urban Bistro to indulge in Chef Loquets delicious seasonal menu! (And internet will be on us!)

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,199)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Washington DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 3,199 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

My wife and I had a very relaxing stay at the Sofitel for 4 nights in early November. The Sofitel is centrally located about a block to the east of the Whitehouse. We stayed in a superior king which was very comfortable. Like most hotel rooms shape was rectangular except the long side of the rectangle ran parallel to the hall. The bathroom with a separate tub and shower was down a short hallway. There was turndown service with light music provided each night. On the first night of our stay the Sofitel left a kiwi, a small bundt cake, and a chocolate cupcake. It was a nice touch but after the 2nd night I would have wished they removed the half-eaten plate covered with a napkin...a universal sign for finished. The bell service, valet, and front desk were all very helpful. Wifi is available, but unfortunately is an added cost. I wish Sofitel would just include the cost in the room rate when this is a free service available in the typical local coffee shop. We

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Westpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for choosing the Sofitel for your visit to Washington. I hope you enjoyed the amenities from our pastry chef, although I apologize the plate was not removed promptly from your room. For your next stay, you will enjoy complimentary internet, as we are adding a wifi option free of charge for all guests in the New Year!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stay here frequently for both business and pleasure and highly recommend it. Great service, friendly and helpful staff and the rooms are very nice and modern with great amenities. Food is outstanding as is the bar downstairs. The location can't be beat. Also, you can get great rates for this hotel as compared to the value received. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a non-alley room as the alley rooms will not have views.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeithDD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you very much for your loyalty to Sofitel DC. I am always happy to hear when our business guests have the opportunity to come back and join us for leisure as well. You must have sampled Chef Loquet's new seasonal menu in iCi Urban Bistro, and I am thrilled you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the White House and is an excellent location for sightseeing. Although Washington is a large city, we were able to walk to most of the major sights. Our room was spacious and very comfortable - as you'd expect from a Sofitel. There is a pleasant bar downstairs, although we found it got very busy in the early evenings, and free tea and coffee was provided in the morning.

Although there was no free wifi, there were three computer terminals in the lobby where you could browse the internet and print for free, which we found useful. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - all in all, we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am happy you were able to take advantage of our central location, in the heart of our nation's capital! Most museums, monuments, and other tourist destinations are conveniently located within walking distance, and our concierge team is always available to point out the can't-be-missed spots! We hope to have you back again soon.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Great location. The property appears updated, clean and fresh. Service is far beyond other hotels in its class. Low shower water pressure is the only inconvenience. Good bar menu. Overall, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ygray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel Washington D.C. I am happy to know you have come to have high expectations for our luxury service. Please be sure to bring up something like water pressure with us while you are staying so that we may take care of it promptly, and ensure you a comfortable stay.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Recently spent a weekend here - very convenient location, and a very good value. The bar in the hotel was a great place to unwind at the end of the day, and the staff was very helpful in providing recommendations and assisting with our requests for places to visit.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sparty1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I am happy to know you found Le Bar to be cozy and welcoming after a long day touring the city. Make sure to come visit again soon to try our seasonal "vin chaud" (French hot wine) it's delicious!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The staff at the Sofitel Washington D.C. make this one of the most comfortable luxury hotels at which we have ever stayed. From the moment we arrived we were met with a warm smile and greeting from Ray, the doorman. Each time we went through the door he was careful to make sure we had directions, ideas for activities /restaurants and took a genuine interest in making sure our trip was filled with wonderful adventures. The front desk staff was just as friendly and helpful. When we checked in we were immediately greeted by Houda, who made sure we were assigned to a perfect room and were aware of all of the hotel's many amenities/services. We mentioned that this was our first time staying at this hotel. Later that evening there was an unexpected knock on the door. Houda had surprised us and had warm, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies and milk delivered to us - what an absolute treat! The next morning we went downstairs to thank the staff for their thoughtfulness and were greeted by the delightful Anna at the front desk. After we thanked her for the cookies and milk she asked if there was anything else they could do. I mentioned that the only item I missed in the room was a coffee pot. Within five minutes she had a beautiful coffee maker delivered to the room with an array of coffee/tea. The remainder of the hotel staff was just as amazing. Every request was met with an immediate response and everyone actively looked for ways to ensure that our stay was comfortable. We have found a new favorite place to stay in D.C. The Sofitel is perfectly located a block from the White House with numerous restaurants and coffee houses located within easy walking distance. The Metro is a block away. The rooms are meticulously appointed with French European decor. Yet, with all of its amenities the Sofitel retains a boutique-like charm and comfortable place to spend some quiet time.

Room Tip: Rooms with a street view are more private and sunnier.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Sofitel, and we are honored to be your top choice of hotels in our nation's capital. I was pleased to meet you myself, and I know Houda was delighted to take care of you throughout your stay. We hope you have the opportunity to come back to see us again soon, there is plenty more to see in Washington D.C.!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 142 in Washington DC
3,042 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,896 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $240 - $700 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing