We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the White House, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #21 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights while on a business trip. Hotel staff was very friendly and the room was extremely comfortable, large and quiet. I enjoyed coming back to my room after a long day of meetings to find the lights dimmed, classical music playing, and bottles of water. In the mornings, the hotel provides complimentary coffee and tea in the bar/restaurant area off the main lobby.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azgal_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,241)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,725 - 1,731 of 3,241 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel w/ my girlfriend on March, 2011. The hotel is absolutely fantastic! Since front desk until the bedroom, nothing to complain about. Anna (I guess this was her name), who did our check-in, really helped us and pointed out the main attractions and restaurants in the city. The room is great, w/ a huge and comfy bed and a super clean bathroom. Actually the room was also really, really clean! The breakfast was so good...a real American meal...the hotel location was another great point! Just few steps far from the White House!! Absolutely fantastic! Definitely my home back in DC!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThiagoIannarelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Obrigada!! It was lovely to have you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Washington. Don't forget to ask for me, I would be happy to see you both again!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll

Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I recently had the opportunity to spend a few days at this wonderful hotel. Although the location was excellent for getting to explore this vibrant city the true stars of this hotel are its management and staff. From the initial contact while making a reservation with "Amy "on the phone, to the warm welcome from our favourite bellhop 'Ray" , and the assistance of the personable concierge "Cameron", the service has been outstanding.
When we signed in we were upgraded to a lovely room and a welcome birthday cake was waiting for us with a personal welcome from the general manager "Pierre-Louis Renou".
As we enjoyed a daily breakfast in the hotel Bistro the impeccable standard of service was evident everywhere. The staff we encountered always had smiles on their faces which is a testament to how well the hotel must be run.
The room was spacious, impeccably clean and welcoming. The turn down service in the evening was wonderful to have after a busy day of sightseeing. The bed is an oasis of comfort with ample pillows and the European duvet style cover. The gym facilities not only were well set up, but disposable earplugs were provided if one forgot to bring them from home, as was a complimentary selection of fruit, and warm towels.
The only disappointing thing I can say about our stay was that it was too short. We definitely will recommend Sofitel to our friends when they visit Washington.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sazanneannne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

On behalf of our entire team, thank you for taking the time to provide such a thorough review of your stay. It seems you were able to truly experience Sofitel and many of the amenities we have to offer, all while exploring our nation's capital! I am happy you were able to try out our newly rennovated SoFit gym facilities, we are very happy with the modern design and new equipment. We look forward to welcoming you back for your next special occasion, or any time that you want to enjoy the famous Sofitel SoBed!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Sofitel DC was just fantastic - fabulous staff , great room , top location .The only thing that wasn't right was the Internet access It seemed unusual to be charged for WiFi in a top hotel and the Wi Fi itself was slow and intermittent

Stayed: October 2012
1  Thank Margie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

After several disappointing trips to Hotel Monaco for business my colleagues urged me to try Sofitel. It was further to my office but definitely much better. The staff from doorman on was welcoming. The lobby is cozy and quiet. My room was really serene. Bathroom great size with desperate shower. Bed was comfortable. Great lighting options and alarm clock. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MDMOMLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stumbled upon the Sofitel in DC several months ago, after stays at many area luxury hotels. Since then, we have planned three more visits to DC, partly just to stay at this property. The friendly and genuine service beats all other area hotels by a long shot. This is understated and unassuming elegance at its best!

We have enjoyed a relaxing evening at the hotel's iCi Urban Bistro each time. Great service, food, and drink in a terrific outdoor atmosphere.

Room Tip: Get a corner room overlooking 15th & H Streets...amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Thank you for your review, and for choosing us during your visits to Washington. We are happy to be your home away from home. You must come back soon as Chef Loquet has debuted his new fall menu in iCi Urban Bistro with delicious seasonal choices; the "Bay Blue" Stuffed Figs and Butternut Squash Ravioli are divine!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My newlywed husband and I were fortunate enough to stay here on our wedding night. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They had a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the room. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lighting was very romantic. Overall a gorgeous hotel and a great experience. The brunch downstairs the next day was delicious as well!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2012

Congratulations once again on your marriage! We were thrilled to be a part of your special celebration, and wish you a lifetime of happiness!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,159 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
3,125 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,326 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $201 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing