We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spot in the capital” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Washington DC

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #16 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zabrze, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great spot in the capital”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Highly recommend this hotel. A high quality is seen in every detail, everyday fresh flowers in a lobby, very nice employees and cozy rooms. Hotel is located next to the White House, so it was close to every Washington's attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daga_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,070
    784
    150
    60
    19
See reviews for
658
1,280
185
653
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

My review would be different were we not paying over $400 per night. But, perhaps naively, I expect a lot for that sum. I certainly cannot say our stay was unpleasant: excellent location ( a block from the White House), friendly door staff, efficient room service twice daily, and a roomy, quiet corner 10th floor room with a comfortable king bed contributed to a a pleasant stay. Free morning coffee in the lounge was a nice touch. On the downside, room furnishings were sparse and a bit battered, and closet space was pathetically minimal. Our check-in was disappointing - front desk staff were cursory in their attitude, and could do with some PR training. In all, I would rate this hotel good but not amazing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback from your stay. It seems you were able to enjoy many of the amenities we have to offer as well as the prime location in the heart of downtown D.C. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel your greeting at reception was as warm and welcoming as our ambassador's are known for. We strive to provide professional and personal service to each of our guests, and I am confident when you return, you will enjoy this experience.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have stayed in Sofitel's in Paris and New York and have never been disappointed and this was much the same. The service at the hotel was excellent along with the room comfort and size for such a central location! The concierge suggested some great dinner reservations on a few occasions and all staff were always welcoming!

We just had one small complaint and that is no FREE WIFI. For the price you would expect free wifi in your room when you get it in the likes of a Hampton Inn as Sofitel isn't seen as a budget chain.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bentaylor21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for your loyalty to Sofitel worldwide. I am so happy to know you have had the opportunity to visit several of our addresses, and we are honored to be your Washington D.C. hotel of choice. We are very excited that in the new year we will be offering two different speeds of internet, including one complimentary for our guests. I hope to have you back soon!

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Service, room, flowers in reception and location perfect. Breakfast, pre dinner drinks and dinner in the restaurant all excellent. Stayed for two days with friends as part of four weeks in the US, we all agreed, all round, it was the best hotel we had stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SA1836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England
Level Contributor
250 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

All the staff were friendly and helpful. My room was very well appointed and clean.
Minor gripe, the cabled broadband connection in my room didn't work. I used the WiFi instead ($9.95+tax/24hrs) which was mostly OK but dropped out several times.
Ideal location for central Washington attractions.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingAcademic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We loved everything about the hotel! The employees were always available to assist with WHATEVER and were always smiling. I have to admit, I also loved the "bonjour" every time I called the front dest too. :-)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Merci beaucoup! You are welcome any time you would like a "petit" piece of Paris in Washington D.C.!

Cordialement,
Anna Chaley Croll
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,791 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing