We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Washington DC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Capital Hilton(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
W Washington D.C.(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (3,320)
Filter reviews
3,320 results
Traveler rating
2,215
849
166
69
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,215
849
166
69
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite housele barluxury roomlafayette squareroom serviceebbitt grillcity viewturn down servicecorner roomjunior suitetwo blocksbed was very comfortableconcierge deskmini barhotel barwonderful hotelnational mall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,049 - 2,054 of 3,320 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We visited the Sofitel just before New Years Eve and DC is a ghost town. I was very surprised that even with a high status with Accor Hotel loyalty program, our family did not receive a complimentary upgrade upon our request. The hotel seemed quite empty and our room overlooked a wall. The first night we did receive cookies and milk for two (four of us were in the room); the second night, not a thing.

The staff was lovely but the room did not meet our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gracesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Beautiful hotel, fantastic location, attentive staff - especially the restaurant and bar staff. A room change request was not perfectly handled at first, but attended to and resolved with professionalism

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_in_Sweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

The hotel is superb. We had stayed here twice (also in 2006) and had a delightful stay both times. It is in a perfect location, close (too close?) to the White House, metro stations and easy walk to the gardens and Mall museums.
Shame they would not confirm a crib bed would be available for our child prior to arrival (insisting on a subject to availability clause). Kind of silly for a top class hotel. But it was there when we arrived and was thoughtfully made up with small toys for him.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mljstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2011

I found a great deal online from their web site and was not disappointed. I only wish they had deals like this more often. The service was impeccable, the room was large (and I think we stayed in their smallest room) and the location was perfectly amazing. There are numerous restaurants around and even a Whole Foods within reasonable walking distance. Generally the prices are way too high for me but if you check the web site they have great deals.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

I stayed over a long weekend a little over a week ago. I consider myself a seasoned traveler and have stayed in many upscale hotels. But this hotel was probably the best hotel I've stayed at. The staff were always extremely helpful and the nightly turn down service was a nice touch! I took advantage of their laundry service to press a dress, and was picked up and delivered on time without any hassles. Ordered room service late at night after attending a show at the Kennedy Center and again everything was without hassle. Plus it was REALLY good food. The decor was beautiful and the room was large. The bathroom was the best part of the entire room. I have only two criticisms really and that's that we didn't have a view and we were near the staff elevator which ran all night and was a little disruptive.

Check in was easy as well as check out.

The hotel is a block from the Metro Blue and Orange line. One block from the White House. Three blocks from Washington Monument. It was a great first visit to Washington DC. I'm glad we chose the Sofitel.

One morning we had breakfast in the cafe. It was authentic french cuisine. But pretty pricey. They charged $5 for an 8oz glass of orange juice!!!

Room Tip: Ask if it's near an elevator.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews