We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent my birthday here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Washington DC
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bryn Mawr, PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Spent my birthday here”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a beautiful hotel , located within walking distance of museums and restaurants. Fact is we spent the weekend and never moved the car. The room were grand , I liked the layout of the bathrooms so much that I designed my current master bathroom the same way. The staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge even called ahead to the restaurant to tell them I was coming and it was my birthday.

This is a first class hotel with a first class staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonnathan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    790
    152
    63
    20
See reviews for
666
1,293
185
667
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

This is a really detailed review but here you go! The hotel is located in a great spot within walking distance of everything, close to a metro station (two blocks away) and across from the White House. They definitely play up the "French" angle which I'm sure is really nice for international travelers. The room temperature is in Celsius, there are European outlets (and American), everything is written in French (and English) and you're greeted in French. Having never been to France, my husband and I both thought the French didn't care for hot water since both the bathtub and shower produced only lukewarm water. Not having a hot shower in a hotel room is the worst! After both the evening and morning attempts at getting hot water were quashed we called the front desk and the man said "perhaps you are not using the device correctly, may I send someone up to help you?" That was a nice way of saying "you must be doing something wrong" but they did send someone up to look at it and he was really very nice. At this point, later in the day, the hot water was working great and he said maybe it was because a lot of people were taking showers at the same time before? Or it could have been that you shouldn't pull the knob all the way out, you should turn it to hot and then pull the knob out. Maybe we weren't using "the device correctly" after all! A few minutes later the front desk called and said they were sorry someone hadn't been up to look at the shower yet but would be shortly. This was just another example of how it seemed like there were a lot of details they thought of, but noone really actually paid attention to them or talked to one another. For another example: there weren't extra pillows in the closet, and the reference book in the room said there was a "pillow menu" we could choose from, we just needed to call housekeeping, which sounded great and "luxurious." I called guest services and they said they'd send someone up with pillows. Ten minutes later I got a phone call from the front desk and the man apologized, said there was a "glitch" in the system and housekeeping didn't get the message, but someone would be right up with the pillows, which sounded fine even though I was ready to go to sleep at that point. About 35 - 40 minutes later someone knocked on the door and handed us two pillows. Why there was mention of a "pillow menu" is beyond me! The morning we left, the valet wasn't outside and the woman at the concierge desk said that was odd and that it was because I hadn't looked in the outside door for the valet. How would I know to do that? For a "luxury" hotel, the towel quality was really poor and the view from the room was of a parking lot and some vans (I know that can't be helped). We had a black knob in our bathroom below an intercom that looked like it was supposed to turn a sauna or lamp on and it was broken. The "Do Not Disturb" sign was missing. I took a Coke out of the mini fridge to feel how cold it was, put it back in, and then was charged for it on our bill, even though I didn't drink it. The woman at the front desk was really nice, immediately took it off the bill, but everything seemed to be our fault and the hotel didn't take responsibility for anything which was odd. The bed was great and the location was great, so if that's all that matters, which in a city like DC, where you aren't in your room that much anyway, then go for it! We don't take many trips at all because we have two small children, so I just really wanted to stay at a place where I didn't have to worry about anything, so if that's what you're looking for, I wouldn't pick this place. And as suspected, the room service is expensive and mini-bar items are outrageous. I've never seen a 12 oz. soda for $5.50 before, so I am definitely glad we packed our own snacks and drinks! The valet parking is $42 a night, unless you get there early enough on the weekend to park on the street and then it's free (just pay special attention to all the confusing parking signs so you aren't ticketed or towed). They have complimentary tea and coffee in the mornings in the lobby bar and a restaurant on site. The double reading lamps, free safe and robe and slippers were a nice touch. The view from the room, barely closing bathroom doors, smears on the shower stall, broken ice machine on our floor, small room size were disappointing but didn't ruin anything for us. Would we stay there again? No, but you might love it!

Room Tip: Our room was on the sixth floor, which had a broken ice machine and we faced a parking lot. There wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahPumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renou, General Manager at Sofitel Washington DC, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I am pleased to know you noticed our French influence as Sofitel creates non-standard luxury hotels worldwide, each one different, by judiciously combining its origins (French elegance, savoir-faire, the art of hospitality) with the best of each country's culture. I am disappointed, however to know that you had a less than satisfactory experience otherwise. We pride ourselves in our service, and work closely with our ambassadors to instill a professional, luxury demeanor at all times. I can assure you that this is atypical of our standard, and hope to welcome you back again to enjoy a true Sofitel experience.

Truly,
Anna Chaley Croll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel was nice: well-located, clean and stylish enough. But what really set it apart was the amazingly kind customer service. I arrived at around 9pm on a Thursday night and was informed upon check-in that I had been upgraded to a larger, executive room. I am not a member of Sofitel's frequent visitor program -- they just upgraded me to be nice. Unfortunately, the room was on the 3rd floor, and while it was very nice, it was a bit noisy for me (I am a light sleeper). Awkwardly, I asked if they could move me to a higher floor. They moved me to the penultimate floor, and I am pretty sure this was yet another upgrade as the room was even bigger than the first one. Whenever I walked past the reception, I was always greated by name. It was as if I was their only guest, which clearly was not actually the case. I tell you, courtesy, a smile and good customer service can make all the difference between a nice hotel and one I will certainly go back to the next time I am in DC.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GulliversPet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Labor day visit. Very comfortable bed in modest sized room. Bathroom was big with separate tub and shower as i like. Hotel is 1 block from white house and metro. Hotel food was excellent, albeit costly. Staff was friendly for the most part. Had an AC problem fixed within 30 minutes. Near the mall for good access to museums.

Room Tip: We had 6th floor corner which was quiet with decent but not great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blessed06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We spent four nights here on our return to Washington, having stayed at the Ritz-Carlton the previous week, and we much preferred the Sofitel.

The location could not be better: a short walk to the White House and Lafayette Square.

The welcome at reception was warm and friendly, and the service (room, restaurants and reception) was excellent throughout our stay. The room was tastefully furnished with a distinct touch of Gallic flair, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

Our package included breakfast in the room and it was delivered promptly at the requested time, with everything as it should be - hot things hot, cold things cold. We ate at the bar on several evenings and found the surroundings pleasant, the food excellent and the service very attentive.

The Sofitel has much to recommend it and no drawbacks that we saw.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chilternwelshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights. Easy walk to the mall and metro station. Staff very friendly. Room was nice with lots of space. Restaurant down stairs is good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJohan01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

This was our second visit in the past year to the Sofitel DC, and, hopefully, we will have the opportunity to experience Sofitel hospitality at this location again.
The staff here is extremely accommodating ("of course" is invariably the reply one gets when making a request), and personable. The rooms are well appointed and QUIET for a center city location. The beds are very, very comfortable.
The location can't be beat, IMHO. It is just a very short walk to the White House, less than a block to Lafayette Park. The Mall is further, but certainly within walking distance. If one doesn't want to walk to DC's attractions, a Metro stop is very close by, and one can easily navigate almost anywhere in DC using the subway.
This is an excellent choice for lodging when visiting Washington!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BernieMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,767 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Washington DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Washington DC

Property: Sofitel Washington DC
Address: 806 15th Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-1101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Washington DC 5*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square represents one of the most exclusive locations in the nation's capital. Discover this contemporary downtown Washington DC hotel, situated at the corner of Lafayette Square, bordering the White House. Our downtown DC hotel accommodations occupy an updated historic landmark, first erected in 1880. Celebrate Sofitel's "art de vivre" within this luxury hotel in downtown Washington DC - marked by distinctive style, superb cuisine, and incomparable service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Washington DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Accor Washington Dc
Washington Dc Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing