We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty close to perfect.”

District of Pi Pizzeria
Ranked #36 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Description: Penn Quarter location of this small chain.
Toronto
Level Contributor
1,033 reviews
694 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
“Pretty close to perfect.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a great place. Busy as heck, but that's good. Lacking is a solid wine list, an espresso machine, and a full bar. We loved it nonetheless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaraFromToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    276
    53
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great DC Pizza - wish I could eat here 3.141.... more times.”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family enjoyed this restaurant so much, we ate here twice, breaking our vacation rule of never eating some place twice. The deep dish was excellent, along with the thin crust. Both styles gave you what you want in a pizza. May I recommend adding bacon, which was real bacon and not little bits of it.

I went here with a young family. While there were not a lot of kids here, I never once felt uncomfortable having kids here.

It is a great and enjoyable restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capn_daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“excellent pizza, great service”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Eight family members ate here for lunch while we were on an overnight trip to see a concert. The food is a bit pricey - welcome to DC! - but was very good. Servce was excellent. And it's within walking distance of the Mall and all the great things there. We'd return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikedoolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza in a great environment”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great deep-dish pizza in a really cool, modern designed restaurant. My wife and I loved the deep dish pizza and our kids (ages 9 and 6) tend to be picky with food and they devoured their pizza and loved it too. Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great beer menu, pizza just about ok”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went to this restaurant as part of a big group. Restaurant was very accommodating with time/table, despite it being a busy late night. The server did a great job advising on the extensive drinks (predominantly beer) menu and made very good recommendations. As a group, we shared chicken wings as a starter which were very tasty, generous portion and large wings. The pizzas were a let down however. The deep pans seemed to be a deep dish of under cooked, under seasoned tomato sauce. The regular pizzas were under cooked with odd topping combinations.

So apart from the pizza/pi, everything else was great. However, I remain convinced that there is much better pizza to be had in DC.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed District of Pi Pizzeria also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to District of Pi Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing