We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Happy Hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Ping Pong Dim Sum - CLOSED

Ping Pong Dim Sum
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: New Hampshire Avenue & O Street NW
Transit: Red Line - Dupont Circle - Dupont Circle South Exit
kljohnston2
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent Happy Hour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This place makes for a great happy hour. Cocktails are $6 and appetizers are $3. Only problem is that the appetizers are small so you have to order about 3 of them just for yourself and there are only 5 options on the Happy Hour menu. Service was decent, but our waiter go annoyed at us after a while. Can't imagine why. Between four of us we racked up a $150 tab in 2 hours. The guys I was with drank and drank. Definitely a recommended stopping point before a later dinner, just beware the prices do add up quickly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kljohnston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    47
    17
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, VA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“spin on the dum sum I grew up on”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not your typical dim sum place with carts. Upscale with a creative spin to dim sum. I enjoyed what we ordered. Definitely pricier than what you would spend at an Asian dim sum place. Great for a date night. Would not recommend for kids at all...I have 3 and they wouldn't try very much.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tcgje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
206 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Fusion dimsum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is not your classic crowded Chinatown dimsum place with carts of steaming dumplings and chicken feet being pushed around. It is an upscale fusion (West meets East) interpretation of dimsum catering to a younger trendy crowd. Service is more refined than in your Chinatown version and prices are definitely higher. They have an unlimited dimsum deal for Sunday brunch at $25 per person which is a good value considering the price of each individual order. Many have very interesting flavor combination but a few missed the mark (like the squid with satay sauce). The choices of drinks were just as colorful as the food. Remember that this is part of an international chain of dimsum places.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OrpheusTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Slick interior, expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

The decor is very slick - the bar area looked nice. Drinks list was good although we just had lemonade. The food was good until the end when our scallops turned up very late and frozen in the middle. It's really pricy for Chinese dim sum - 50$ for 2 for a light lunch. I think I'll try somewhere else.

Helpful?
1 Thank kellyenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chinese reboot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

The decor is super stylish, very trendy. The atmosphere was young and hip. They had outside dining as well. The waitress was attentive and explained the system of ordering well. The drinks were nice, I had a lychee/ginger drink and my husband had a pineapple/coconut/lime cooler which was yummy. We ordered conservatively as we were not too hungry, which made this restaurant perfect for us as we'd had a late lunch. The dishes came in waves as they were done and they were good. The meal was enjoyable. The vegetable spring roll was excellent, very flavorful and crispy but not oily. I would love to see this franchised and come to Chicago.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ping Pong Dim Sum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing