We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Compromise for location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #126 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Compromise for location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The hotel has access to public transport, Dupont Circle subway is within walking distance of 10 minutes. It has small but clean rooms and provides breakfast facility. Resonably priced. Due to the Bar on the premises, the loud music blaring can be heard in the rooms till late night and is therefore very disturbing. I was there over a weekend and that could be the reason for the loud music. Tourists should check this out.There is no lift so for international tourists like me with luggage, carrying the luggage upstairs is a problem and the hotel does not provide a helping hand.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nilma152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    112
    99
    48
    52
See reviews for
49
99
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This is an old hotel with small rooms, and of course, their famous Bier Baron is on the first floor, where I had a terrific meal and American ale. I was pleasantly surprised by the room, in that it was so well appointed for being so small. It was comfortable and sparking clean! I absolutely loved being there, and out of all the hotels I've stayed in in D.C., this is the one I most want to go back to. The hotel is located in Dupont Circle and is within walking distance of much that anyone would want to see. I got a terrific price for this Hotel on line - I had just left another large, modern hotel in Arlington (attended a conference) which stank on ice. For three times the cost, it was a gross experience. The Baron made up for everything and I can't say enough nice things about it. Mind you, if you're not into old-timey, quaint places and prefer modern high-rises, this is not the place for you. But, anyone who rates this hotel as "bad" is either oblivious to the Baron's charm, or is just a stinker by nature!

Room Tip: When there's a show or live music, it's possible some of the noise might filter up to the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were checked into this hotel with a group with grave foreboding. We were told that during this period in late October, bedrooms were hard to find and expensive.

The good news. It is in a good location in the Dupont Circle area but a little away from the capital's centre and main tourist spots. The housekeeper and maids keep very clean and well ordered bedrooms.

The bad news is it is a terrible hotel. You approach it via a good number of external steps, through difficult push doors to be faced by a considerable number more internal steps before reaching a long narrow dimly lit corridor, with damaged finishes, at the end of which is one person sitting (hiding) behind the desk. There is no one helping you with baggage. There were two people standing on the steps who were it seemed bouncers for the club and bar which you get to through doors on either side of the the hotel corridor. They were too busy smoking to take any notice of us struggling with our bags. The man at reception who spoke poor English was completely overwhelmed by our group arrival and had no initiative or training to deal with the problem, handing out a typed page for us to sign away our rights regarding damage etc. After an eternity we got into the one lift which is very, very small and capable of taking only 2 people and luggage at a squeeze once you have managed to open the door and sprung metal gate (very old). If the lift does not come, it means someone has left the metal gate slightly ajar. The stairs are very narrow timber staircases.

The rooms are small and spartan with bathroom to match with nowhere to put any toiletries, etc. A bar of soap was provided but nothing else. The shower was small (no bath) and meant you banged your elbows on the wall when trying to shampoo your hair.

The wardrobe was very narrow and the wall-banger air-conditioning poor and very noisy.

Some on the front of the hotel benefited from the noise from the club/bar during the night and found it hard to sleep. "sounded as if the people were in our room." One couple booked out immediately, whilst we booked out early next day for another hotel as soon as we could. We did not try the breakfast, having nipped round the corner to Starbucks. ps breakfast is extra.

It survives due to its location and was expensive for what it was.

Avoid if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid hotel if you can but if not possible avoid front and 1st floor to avoid noise from club goers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's a perfect place to stay for few nights, if the purpose of your trip is not to stay in a hotel room. I was in DC on a business trip, and I needed something cheap but close to everything I needed. The Baron Hotel ended up being a perfect solution, within walking distance from many areas of interest.
The staff was helpful and breakfast was ok (basic, but enough for me). The pub downstairs is pretty cool, as it serves good food and tons of beers. True, they offer live music and rooms aren't really soundproof; but I stayed there for three nights, and they had live music only once -moreover, they stopped at 11.30, perfectly reasonable time, in my opinion.
Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudiaUptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I selected this hotel because it was cheap, and I stayed for just one night (business trip). From the previous reviews, I was expecting to go in a dump. Instead, it worked just fine for me. The rooms are small, but it is not a problem for me, and you have everything you need. Of course, if you want a swimming pool and a fitness room, then look for other more expensive places ... The people at the front desk were kind, and they even let me check in earlier without charging extra money. There is a really nice bar downstairs, with a great selection of beers. The area around the hotel looked great, full of restaurants and other meeting places.

Room Tip: Perhaps, avoid the rooms on the second floor, since you can hear some noise when there is a concert...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DallaBL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was actually our second stay in this place. We liked it the first time so we came back. The rooms are quite small but clean and the area is quiet and close to everything. There's a cool bar downstairs. So if u're really looking just to put your head down somewhere after the whole day of sightseeing this is a good choice!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina2E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SportsFan2007
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

As other reviewers have said this hotel is definitely not high end, however it is in a great location, its clean, in safe area, and a lot cheaper then any other decent hotels nearby. The room was very basic, but of average size and was clean. Initially I was worried about the wifi in the room as others here had complained but I had zero problems and it worked great the full time i was there which was a relief. Basically if you need a place to sleep and want to save some money this place should do, but if you want a upscale hotel or are trying to impress a girlfriend (or anyone for that matter) I would look somewhere else.

Two other minor things of note:
- the bar/restaurant in the basement of the hotel is great. Amazing selection of beers and a great happy hour special for $10 of a beer and damn good burger!
-The elevator as others have mentioned is VERY old, but it works and I only used it when I was carrying my bags up at check in. Otherwise I just took the stairs as its not a huge hotel so most guest probably are only up one or two flights of stairs.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SportsFan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#120 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#121 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,437 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#114 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing