We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disappointing!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Sebring, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Age means charm to me and this hotel has that, but the staff definitely has neither. The young people at the desk seemed annoyed to be there and paid little attention to any customer service. And the rooms were certainly lacking the modern conveniences. The restaurant staff looked friendly, but we left after fifteen minutes of being seated and not getting a waiter. All in all, you are paying for location and nothing else.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxi1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    104
    49
    53
See reviews for
50
104
49
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The only positive about this hotel is the location. It is an old hotel and at best is a 1 star. My friend booked a double room which was cancelled by the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were offered a twin room. The advertising stated that the rooms were sound proofed WHICH WAS NOT TRUE. We were awake until 1 AM by the noise from the band. We were told that we would have WIFI access which was not true. The desk clerk was not helpful when we called to tell her our problem. The next morning we discovered an error on the bill. We were charged for the double room rather than the twin room. We were told by the desk clerk there was nothing she could do but would contact the manager. We never received a call from the manager to correct the problem. When we approached the desk clerk she had a very rude and condescending attitude. There are much better hotels to stay in DC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parisbaby2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is old and small. It is not worth the money to stay here and is equivalent to a 1 star hotel. There is no hot water, I started getting bug bites promptly after I checked in, the rooms are small and the elevator looks like a death trap. It's one of those old elevators that doesn't open on its own. You have to open it whenever it is there so, if you have bags to carry and bring them in, expect some issues. I warn anyone staying in this hotel to beware. There are less expensive hotels to stay at as your trip gets closer to reservation time. I've travelled a lot in the past, this is by far the worst accommodation ever. Staff are not sensitive to my issues and blamed it on me. Can't blame lack of hot water and bug bites on me..

Room Tip: The sheraton is cheaper than this place with better quality. Stay away from the elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wownowthatstinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and it is a good place to stay in washington! When we arrived a man was sitting in the reception and he was not that nice because he told us that he has only twin bedrooms and not the doublebedroom we booked 2 months before and didn't even say that he was sorry or something just: 'we don't have the doubleroom for you, here is the twintoom'! That was not ok!
Fortunately we didn't have breakfast included and took a look at the breakfast room that is a stinky pub! But the room was nice, clean and quite! The location is pretty good and in a good neighborhood with good restaurants ecc! Another thing that we didn't like is that the entrance to the pub and the hotel are the same! We smelled alcohol and smoke in the entrance!
We recommand the hotel but WITHOUT breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has good location, Excellent Cleanliness, good price, but depressing rooms.
This is a Historical Building, about+-150 years old. It has really beautiful antiques on corridors, magnificent and antique mirrors, even the entrance despite being a little uncomfortable, as well as also its older but faithful elevator, is ok.

But the distribution of the furniture in the rooms and in the hallways gives food for thought. If only invest a minimum of redecorating hallways and rooms, I think that would increase profits. For as I said before cleaning is EXCELLENT. I consider that is these women who clean that make the difference in this Hotel.

If I have to back to Washington for business and The Hotel Baron paid attention about I said and some of this had changed, I do not hesitation in staying there. If not, I think I look for another one that looked less sad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amen1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a short weekend break- this was a pretty cheap hotel, so we decided to stay here.

Bar in the basement was the best thing about it!

Staff were not great, rooms although clean were nothing special, but the location is good.

Could do with a facelift, but not awful.

Basement bar is good fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#122 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dup...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing