We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Customer Service”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The only positive about this hotel is the location. It is an old hotel and at best is a 1 star. My friend booked a double room which was cancelled by the hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were offered a twin room. The advertising stated that the rooms were sound proofed WHICH WAS NOT TRUE. We were awake until 1 AM by the noise from the band. We were told that we would have WIFI access which was not true. The desk clerk was not helpful when we called to tell her our problem. The next morning we discovered an error on the bill. We were charged for the double room rather than the twin room. We were told by the desk clerk there was nothing she could do but would contact the manager. We never received a call from the manager to correct the problem. When we approached the desk clerk she had a very rude and condescending attitude. There are much better hotels to stay in DC.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank parisbaby2_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 398 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place is old and small. It is not worth the money to stay here and is equivalent to a 1 star hotel. There is no hot water, I started getting bug bites promptly after I checked in, the rooms are small and the elevator looks like a death trap. It's one of those old elevators that doesn't open on its own. You have to open it whenever it is there so, if you have bags to carry and bring them in, expect some issues. I warn anyone staying in this hotel to beware. There are less expensive hotels to stay at as your trip gets closer to reservation time. I've travelled a lot in the past, this is by far the worst accommodation ever. Staff are not sensitive to my issues and blamed it on me. Can't blame lack of hot water and bug bites on me..

Room Tip: The sheraton is cheaper than this place with better quality. Stay away from the elevator!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wownowthatstinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and it is a good place to stay in washington! When we arrived a man was sitting in the reception and he was not that nice because he told us that he has only twin bedrooms and not the doublebedroom we booked 2 months before and didn't even say that he was sorry or something just: 'we don't have the doubleroom for you, here is the twintoom'! That was not ok!
Fortunately we didn't have breakfast included and took a look at the breakfast room that is a stinky pub! But the room was nice, clean and quite! The location is pretty good and in a good neighborhood with good restaurants ecc! Another thing that we didn't like is that the entrance to the pub and the hotel are the same! We smelled alcohol and smoke in the entrance!
We recommand the hotel but WITHOUT breakfast!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has good location, Excellent Cleanliness, good price, but depressing rooms.
This is a Historical Building, about+-150 years old. It has really beautiful antiques on corridors, magnificent and antique mirrors, even the entrance despite being a little uncomfortable, as well as also its older but faithful elevator, is ok.

But the distribution of the furniture in the rooms and in the hallways gives food for thought. If only invest a minimum of redecorating hallways and rooms, I think that would increase profits. For as I said before cleaning is EXCELLENT. I consider that is these women who clean that make the difference in this Hotel.

If I have to back to Washington for business and The Hotel Baron paid attention about I said and some of this had changed, I do not hesitation in staying there. If not, I think I look for another one that looked less sad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amen1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a short weekend break- this was a pretty cheap hotel, so we decided to stay here.

Bar in the basement was the best thing about it!

Staff were not great, rooms although clean were nothing special, but the location is good.

Could do with a facelift, but not awful.

Basement bar is good fun!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Baron is a small, friendly hotel in an ideal location, just two blocks from Dupont Circle, the Metro Red Line, as well as Rock Creek Park. Comfortable rooms with flat screen tv, very good air conditioning (crucial in DC's summer) and a helpful staff. Great shower in the bathroom, and a lively restaurant/bar.....

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MWitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#133 of 142 in Washington DC
264 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
334 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#120 of 142 in Washington DC
1,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 142 in Washington DC
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $73 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing