We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel!”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice hotel!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We were there for 4 days and it is a good place to stay in washington! When we arrived a man was sitting in the reception and he was not that nice because he told us that he has only twin bedrooms and not the doublebedroom we booked 2 months before and didn't even say that he was sorry or something just: 'we don't have the doubleroom for you, here is the twintoom'! That was not ok!
Fortunately we didn't have breakfast included and took a look at the breakfast room that is a stinky pub! But the room was nice, clean and quite! The location is pretty good and in a good neighborhood with good restaurants ecc! Another thing that we didn't like is that the entrance to the pub and the hotel are the same! We smelled alcohol and smoke in the entrance!
We recommand the hotel but WITHOUT breakfast!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    126
    116
    54
    61
See reviews for
59
118
53
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel has good location, Excellent Cleanliness, good price, but depressing rooms.
This is a Historical Building, about+-150 years old. It has really beautiful antiques on corridors, magnificent and antique mirrors, even the entrance despite being a little uncomfortable, as well as also its older but faithful elevator, is ok.

But the distribution of the furniture in the rooms and in the hallways gives food for thought. If only invest a minimum of redecorating hallways and rooms, I think that would increase profits. For as I said before cleaning is EXCELLENT. I consider that is these women who clean that make the difference in this Hotel.

If I have to back to Washington for business and The Hotel Baron paid attention about I said and some of this had changed, I do not hesitation in staying there. If not, I think I look for another one that looked less sad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amen1913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a short weekend break- this was a pretty cheap hotel, so we decided to stay here.

Bar in the basement was the best thing about it!

Staff were not great, rooms although clean were nothing special, but the location is good.

Could do with a facelift, but not awful.

Basement bar is good fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Baron is a small, friendly hotel in an ideal location, just two blocks from Dupont Circle, the Metro Red Line, as well as Rock Creek Park. Comfortable rooms with flat screen tv, very good air conditioning (crucial in DC's summer) and a helpful staff. Great shower in the bathroom, and a lively restaurant/bar.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

cute, safe neighborhood--great for the female solo traveler. quaint/creaky/cool/funky---rooms configured strangely, but that's what i'd expect. cool bar with extensive beer list in basement. reasonably priced for dupont circle, and the weird old elevator worked just fine! accomodating, bright front-desk people... breakfast: meh. skip it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed overnight for some Washington sight seeing. Room clean and comfy. Staff friendly. great location and price. Lots of coffee shops nearby and subway not far.Free coffee and tea available in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottripper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent location for public transport DuPont Circle is less 5min walk away.Great beer selection 600+.Great value for money.Lovely little coffee shop on the corner and great Irish bar and restaurant on the next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
254 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
327 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
1,809 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
303 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing