We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nothing special, good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #125 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special, good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went for a short weekend break- this was a pretty cheap hotel, so we decided to stay here.

Bar in the basement was the best thing about it!

Staff were not great, rooms although clean were nothing special, but the location is good.

Could do with a facelift, but not awful.

Basement bar is good fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily4920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    112
    97
    48
    51
See reviews for
49
97
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
189 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Baron is a small, friendly hotel in an ideal location, just two blocks from Dupont Circle, the Metro Red Line, as well as Rock Creek Park. Comfortable rooms with flat screen tv, very good air conditioning (crucial in DC's summer) and a helpful staff. Great shower in the bathroom, and a lively restaurant/bar.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

cute, safe neighborhood--great for the female solo traveler. quaint/creaky/cool/funky---rooms configured strangely, but that's what i'd expect. cool bar with extensive beer list in basement. reasonably priced for dupont circle, and the weird old elevator worked just fine! accomodating, bright front-desk people... breakfast: meh. skip it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

stayed overnight for some Washington sight seeing. Room clean and comfy. Staff friendly. great location and price. Lots of coffee shops nearby and subway not far.Free coffee and tea available in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scottripper_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Excellent location for public transport DuPont Circle is less 5min walk away.Great beer selection 600+.Great value for money.Lovely little coffee shop on the corner and great Irish bar and restaurant on the next.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alison f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

May 17, rock band in bar blasted so loudly that the room walls were vibrating. No relief from management, and next day no follow-up on our complaint, other than offering another smaller room one floor higher. Would have moved to another hotel, but no vacancies on a graduation weekend. This hotel should be shunned.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retireddbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

April 10, 2013, I made a "reservation" at The Baron for May 14 to May 18. Confirmation number on the email I received. But today, May 10, I receive an email that they cannot confirm my reservation. Of course, I called immediately, having made all sorts of plans for visiting DC. Young lady at the desk said they didn't have a reservation for me, that I was supposed to receive an email and they had no record of sending an email. She said she would check the sister hotels, put me on hold, never came back! I called back. Sister hotels full, so sorry. She told me to "HAVE A NICE DAY". I ended up booking a Marriott hotel in Falls Church, VA. From now on, I will stick with a company I can trust. Have a nice day indeed!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank lollihollis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#127 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#121 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#120 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,434 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,199 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing