We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and location!”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

This place is located in a charming area. We found an amazing coffee shop and a bagel place on the corner. The beds are good. But, noisy! Our room faced the street (beautiful view) so sirens and traffic noise made sleeping difficult. If you like kinda quirky old places go for it, just try to get away from the street side

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morethanjustok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for The Baron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 227 of 390 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

The Baron Hotel is located in a very nice neighbourhood surrounded by wonderful mansions, very close to Dupont Circle and easy access to many attractions. But the customer service in the hotel is awful. In our preliminary requests we asked to give us a quiet room in a quiet place. And wrote a special request directly to the hotel. We were given the room on the first floor just opposite the entrance to the bar and with the restaurant right under the room. With the noise and music coming form the open door of the bar and the noise coming from the restaurant we couldn't hear the news on TV and even each other. It lasted until 1am in the morning. The next night we were refused to be moved to another room. On the third night we were moved to the room on the 2nd floor just above the bar and terrible noise from AC coming through the window. The receptionists were talking all days round on the phone paying little or no attention to the clients. Finally they charged us twice for one and the same breakfast first taking cash and then charging the credit card upon our departure.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. Probably it's much quiter on the other side( not...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ELENA F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have stayed here twice, the first time we were quite happy with our stay. However, on the second stay we had multiple terrible experiences.
Our friends from Japan were visiting so we booked two rooms, the rooms we were given were nothing like our first stay. They were run down and looked terrible. There was a mouse trap on the floor. YES a mouse trap! When I called the front desk, he explained it was a "Safety precaution" I explained to him it could not be there for a safety precaution as some one could step on it. I then asked to speak to the manager and the front clerk informed me he does not know when he will be in and he will not be there the following day to speak to me..
Secondly, expedia shows that breakfast is included this is not the case, they charge 5pp extra a day for breakfast. I informed the front desk staff of this error but they did not seem to care.
Would not recommend this hotel to my worst enemy. Grab your money and go else where

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go else where.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank samantha786_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. I found the room size very good for the price. My room was extremely clean and pleasant. I was on the third floor and did not have any noise from the bar in the basement. The bar itself was great fun and really friendly. Wi-Fi worked fine in both the bar and my room. Bed was comfy.
For the price, this is a great hotel and the metro is only a 5 minute walk away. The area is nice too, the hotel is right by all the foreign embassy's and if you cross the street, you are straight into Georgetown.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

In this price range ( < $100) and in that location (Dupont Circle/Georgetown) there's simply no other competitors to this hotel. The rooms were clean with modern amenities (LCD TV, desk, wardrobe cabinet, and nightstand). That being said, the rooms are really small, so there's not much space to maneuver. Bathrooms are also on a smaller scale. There's no bath tub, only a shower, but everything is new.
The quality of sleep is very good, BUT the window AC/heater is very loud and given the small size of the room is located very near the bed. When it comes on during the night light sleepers are bound to wake up.
There's no hotel parking. However, parking is a rare luxury in the District. If you have a car, you're best to pick a hotel in a more suburban environment. You really don't need to live in the center having your own transportation.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a booking for 1 night here but upon our arrival were told " we are moving you to another hotel as your room is out of service" We asked why they did not contact us before our arrival to let us know, they said they had no contact details. Strange this as they needed all our details to book the room. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told " He is not here" When we asked the reception person to please call the manager, we were told. "He won't answer and even if he did he would tell you the same as what I have said" He said we should get a taxi to the other hotel and gave us $10 dollars. When we asked him to call one, he said just go outside and you will get one. When we asked him to come with us, he replied " you are best to go out and get one by yourself as they will stop for you but not for me as he was colored " When we asked if the new hotel was an upgrade he just mumbled and got on the telephone to the other hotel. Not very helpful at all. When you book a room you would expect it to be available on arrival. The new hotel was ok, not great and certainly not an upgrade.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is in Dupont Circle and close to the Metro. It's clean, comfortable but rooms are small and I has a full bed which was not exactly a full bed.

The good: comfortable, charming closet, wooden luggage rack with drawers, good heating,small funky bar downstairs with a gazillion beers. Good value: any beer and a hamburger for $10.

The bad: Not enough lighting, Bath is ok but can't shut off the very loud fan, bath is small, wi-fi, though free, is very weak and cannot connect. Must go to their computers to get online. Elevator was not working and desk said it would be some time for it to be repaired. Sounds like it won't be fixed.

This hotel is only good for one or two days after that, you want to leave. But can't beat the price.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 142 in Washington DC
256 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#128 of 142 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#118 of 142 in Washington DC
1,831 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#106 of 142 in Washington DC
360 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#115 of 142 in Washington DC
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $81 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing