We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Awesome budget hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome budget hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was very impressed with this hotel. I found the room size very good for the price. My room was extremely clean and pleasant. I was on the third floor and did not have any noise from the bar in the basement. The bar itself was great fun and really friendly. Wi-Fi worked fine in both the bar and my room. Bed was comfy.
For the price, this is a great hotel and the metro is only a 5 minute walk away. The area is nice too, the hotel is right by all the foreign embassy's and if you cross the street, you are straight into Georgetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    104
    49
    53
See reviews for
50
104
49
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seven Corners, Virginia
Level Contributor
588 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

In this price range ( < $100) and in that location (Dupont Circle/Georgetown) there's simply no other competitors to this hotel. The rooms were clean with modern amenities (LCD TV, desk, wardrobe cabinet, and nightstand). That being said, the rooms are really small, so there's not much space to maneuver. Bathrooms are also on a smaller scale. There's no bath tub, only a shower, but everything is new.
The quality of sleep is very good, BUT the window AC/heater is very loud and given the small size of the room is located very near the bed. When it comes on during the night light sleepers are bound to wake up.
There's no hotel parking. However, parking is a rare luxury in the District. If you have a car, you're best to pick a hotel in a more suburban environment. You really don't need to live in the center having your own transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a booking for 1 night here but upon our arrival were told " we are moving you to another hotel as your room is out of service" We asked why they did not contact us before our arrival to let us know, they said they had no contact details. Strange this as they needed all our details to book the room. When we asked to speak to the manager we were told " He is not here" When we asked the reception person to please call the manager, we were told. "He won't answer and even if he did he would tell you the same as what I have said" He said we should get a taxi to the other hotel and gave us $10 dollars. When we asked him to call one, he said just go outside and you will get one. When we asked him to come with us, he replied " you are best to go out and get one by yourself as they will stop for you but not for me as he was colored " When we asked if the new hotel was an upgrade he just mumbled and got on the telephone to the other hotel. Not very helpful at all. When you book a room you would expect it to be available on arrival. The new hotel was ok, not great and certainly not an upgrade.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joaniemelonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel is in Dupont Circle and close to the Metro. It's clean, comfortable but rooms are small and I has a full bed which was not exactly a full bed.

The good: comfortable, charming closet, wooden luggage rack with drawers, good heating,small funky bar downstairs with a gazillion beers. Good value: any beer and a hamburger for $10.

The bad: Not enough lighting, Bath is ok but can't shut off the very loud fan, bath is small, wi-fi, though free, is very weak and cannot connect. Must go to their computers to get online. Elevator was not working and desk said it would be some time for it to be repaired. Sounds like it won't be fixed.

This hotel is only good for one or two days after that, you want to leave. But can't beat the price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sabroso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hotel located in quiet area short walk from Du Pont Circle with small supermarket, restaurants and shopping. Subway station and great bookshops, as well as Sunday morning farmers market also at DuPont Circle and worth checking out too. Twin room was good size for 2 and very clean. As others have noted - no lift. We were on 1st floor at front of hotel and slept well all 3 nights. Didnt try breakfast so cant comment, but pub in basement is worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwichristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We reserved our room online . 2 double beds. When we get there he told us we have no room. We have a room but its dirty and housekeeper is left. And he was on the phone for 15 min speaking different language so we wouldn't know what the heck he was saying. But my friend knew and stepped up asking if we have room or not. He told us he is in trouble booking us.. And he told us to go district hotel. We went there . We checked in but then there are no parking even in garages. So I called the clerk from my room and saying we cant stay because there is nowhere to park and I got angry it was 8 pm which we checked in around 5 and looking for a parking. And clerk told me on the phone don't raise your voice , you are lady act like one with his Indian accent... This was enough for us to leave the hotel.what do you expect from angry customer? Of course I ll be mad. I wasn't rude or cursing. They put us in a really bad situation .8 pm on a Saturday in dc. We ended up paying twice as much last min booking another hotel.. And he tells me to act like a lady ??????

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gcnsts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Coveniently located in the heart of Washington's night life.

However, the hotel has no elevator and no room service, therefore be prepared to carry your suitcases up the steep stairs yourself. Not suitable for handicapped.
There is a bar/restaurant in the basement of the hotel. No drinks are allowed out of the bar to your room, not even water!
People put into rooms on the ground floor, the noise level is terrible in so called advertised "sound proof" rooms which are not. Not only do you have the noise of the people in the bar but also the noise of the street below.

If you take the option of breakfast with the hotel, then note that they stop serving at 9 am which we were not informed of on check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#122 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,507 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dup...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing