We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Celbridge, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The room was reasonable, but overall, let down by the non working elevator, appalling wireless internet connectivity (if a certain fast food chain starting with the 13th letter can have free wifi that works....). Breakfast was Cherrios and doughnuts.

Whilst it didn't bother me, it would be useful to note that the property is located in the gay district of DC.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EwanDuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    126
    116
    54
    61
See reviews for
59
118
53
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I was not impressed with this hotel - found out after we got there that there was no elevator - just rickety stairs to the fourth floor - no parking accomodations, crispy carpet, soft bathroom floor (can you say "water damage"??, no internet access, poor lighting/non-working lamps in the room...and no fire escape - just the one way out down the stairs. Our 3 night reservation turned into a 1 night stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Maribor, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my wife have been in hotel for 3 nights and we would not recomment this so called hotel to anyone.

Pros: for tourist super location, quite friendly stuff...helped us with printing of e-ticket, soild price for Washington DC

Cons: Everything else....because of night bar direct under the 2nd floor rooms there was abnormally loud music at wednesday until 2am (have been in a lot of motels, but have never seen something like that)...when we complained at a reception we saw that they had (on a paper) almost 7-8 another complaints.....small rooms, obsolete windows, ground, bed,toilet, everything looks like it would be a youth hostel for students, no elevator, unforgiven bad breakfast for 5$, smell of smoke....

If you need motel with good location in Washington DC but have very very low requirements you can take it.

Room Tip: If you get a room at wednesday in the 2nd floor and want to get a sleep, try to get another room. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Rooms are smaller than my daughters College dorm room and not as nice. Mattress was about 4 inches thick. Internet always down. Hotel management very indifferent. The so called breakfast is cold cereal and donuts---real healthy!!! Elevator does not work and apparently they have no plans to fix it. Do yourself a favor--DON'T STAY AT ANY PRICE.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crm22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

If you are on business trip to the DC and need some reasonable hotel, this is the hotel worth considering. The room is clean with flat screen TV, woth alarm clock and AC. No fancy but great value. One block to several reasonable restaurant. 5 minutes to the subway. Walking distance to the World Bank area. If you definitely need a bathtub, you have to specify it first when you make booking. Some rooms have a shower only. The hotel is situated in rather quiet block in town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank takakazulouislot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Room was mostly clean could of been better, booked threw Hotwire and said we could check in at 2 pm not the case and check out was 12 but really was 11 so someone needs to get this fix so in the future you don't make your customers mad, but besides all the the stuff talked about great area and kind of close to everything and if you are up bar in basement has great choices in beer!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed again at this facility near Dupont Circle. The site is close to the Dupont Circle Metro.

I was told again that there is no elevator. When I mentioned that there was no elevator during my winter visit, I was told, "It is taking longer than they thought." Climbing the stairs with parcels was a challenge.

I asked for a room away from the street to avoid the noise from the restaurant. I was given an oddly shaped room without a closet. The bathroom was fine. Although the fire emergency plan indicated a fire escape route through a door in the bedroom, the door was painted over. It had been permanently sealed closed. Fortunately there was no fire. I did not need to take the alternate circuitous fire escape route.

I was glad to stay at this conveniently located hotel while I attended a conference at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel a few blocks down the street. I would have paid more than twice as much for a room at the reduced rate at the Ritz-Carlton.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors off the street avoid the noise from the people going to and from the rest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColasBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 141 in Washington DC
254 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#127 of 141 in Washington DC
327 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 141 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
1,806 reviews
Kellogg Conference Hotel at Gall...
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
302 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#105 of 141 in Washington DC
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing