We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Read some good reviews of this place on hostelworld but pretty negative on trip advisor. Glad I stayed. The location is fantastic - about 10 minute walk to Dupont Circle metro, rooms were very well appointed (appeared to be recently renovated). Free Wifi, a great pub downstairs / semi underground. I was there on a Friday night but did not hear it from the room. I really coulndt find fault with the place and considering the cost of staying in the area I thought the price was very reasonable. There is no elevator but you only have to carry your bag up the stairs once - its not too difficult. Great staff - you wont regret staying here!

Room Tip: If your worried about noise - not all rooms are above the pub (which I didnt think was rowdy anyway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keeweeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    111
    96
    47
    50
See reviews for
47
95
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I had read some not so good reviews in Tripadvisor and was not too happy about my prepaid reservation that I thought was a great deal for a 3 star Hotel. It was prepaid for a great rate in the Washington area so being a long time Road Warrior I figured I would check it out.
After you walk up the front stairs to a long corridor that is really the entrance to a Beer tavern and restaurant you ended up at a small desk where the only person I ever met was trying to check people in and answer other guests questions. No other employees in sight. Quite hectic.
WARNING no working elevator and this is a four floor hotel. Quite similar to a small European Hotel without the charm. Noone to help this old traveler take his bag up the four flights of stairs but I made it.
What a nice surprise when I opened the door to my room, small in size but very clean with a large flat screen TV, new air conditioner, WiFi tht worked and a sparkling brand new bathroom. OK for one person
but might be too tight for two. Great beer selection in the bar and very good hamburgers.
If they can get the elevator fixed this will a best buy for a very nice area of DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face a brick wall. Either front or back of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gitter assoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel two nights. We never saw a rat, nor any bedbugs. The staff was friendly. It is an older building that has its quirks. The room was clean, but small. We had a third floor room and it was quiet. The bed was small, and I would say that if you are big or tall you might be more comfortable elsewhere. The room was clean, and I didn't have to wait very long for hot water.

If the hotel management reads this, I would like to say that having a second mirror outside the bathroom might help two people get ready at the same time. There were some weird brown stains on the wall, and the TV was hung in an awkward position.

The area is fun and LGBT friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michelledavison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

Spemt three nights here and had a room at the back of the hotel on the third floor. Quiet all night long, Bed was firm/ hard but not intolerable. Air- conditioner worked well. Roon ad bathroom were clean and supplied with basic toiletries. EThe staff was friendly and helpful. Wonderful beer tavern off of the first floor. Metro station a short walk to DuPont Circle. I would definitely stay here again when all I need is a simple place to sleep and shower.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Penntrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This was the cheapest hotel for memorial weekend on booking.com reviews weren't bad there so booked, but then got bit of shock when came on here just before coming and dreaded it thinking it was a dive but it wasn't! Now hotel is by no means perfect but you get what you pay for! I followed one of the other reviewers advice requested a room not over the bar and definetly this is the best advice, elevators don't bother me cos its only 4 stories so i didn't experience it. Room was small, bathroom small but there was HD tv and hot water. I always put things into context with the price paid and definetly for that weekend I don't regret staying there so if you're on a budget don't turn up your nose on it. Took note of others safety concerns and didn't leave any valuables in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for room not over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripinndippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Shower was not cleaned when we got the room - hairs as well as open soaps and shampoo were left. There was stains of blood on one pillow. The worst was the staff, when we went down to get soap and explain the shower wasn't clean the person did not apologized but complained he was alone and that we would have to understand his situation (on Memorial weekend with an hotel full of customers) and kept on going with his personal call. We had to get back downstairs 4 times to finally get soap after 45 minutes. They never changed the pillow with blood stain, we never got an apology for the inconvenience. A friend of us staying in another room found a cockroach and did not have hot water.
Only positive thing : the location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

This seemed to be the cheapest double room with en suite I could find in Washington DC. For the price the location is pretty good, there is no lift, the room AC/fan was noisy but worked, the staff are generally quite helpful and honest about what they know of the surrounding area, the rooms seem newly renovated, the hot water sometimes takes a while to warm up but is good, the TV channels are pretty basic and there is a nice restaurant/bar downstairs with a great cheese burger. However if there is live music of any sort you’ll hear it. This doesn’t happen every night and seemed to finish about11.30pm but be prepared/warned.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 280 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#126 of 141 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#118 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,393 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#113 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing