We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will do”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This seemed to be the cheapest double room with en suite I could find in Washington DC. For the price the location is pretty good, there is no lift, the room AC/fan was noisy but worked, the staff are generally quite helpful and honest about what they know of the surrounding area, the rooms seem newly renovated, the hot water sometimes takes a while to warm up but is good, the TV channels are pretty basic and there is a nice restaurant/bar downstairs with a great cheese burger. However if there is live music of any sort you’ll hear it. This doesn’t happen every night and seemed to finish about11.30pm but be prepared/warned.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 398 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

If lugging luggage up four flights of stairs to a tiny room with a bathroom crammed into a corner is your thing, then go for it.

The bar is dark a gloom and the kids behind the counter appeared to be "on-the-job" trainees at best.

When I asked about the lack of an elevator I was told to "check amenities, like no swimming pool."

Parking cost of fortune in DC and we had a five or six block walk to park the car. Then no one was there when we went back to retrieve it.

This place is nothing like the pictures you see on their website. Best advice? Stay away.


All around, it was a BAD experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tee Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I stayed here for one night when I had a late night in Washington, DC. I found the room for $89 on booking.com.

The rooms have been completely remodeled since the new management operated this facility about a year ago.

I had a small room with a double bed with a small bathroom and shower. The decorations were new and elegant.

I arrived around 3 pm with my baggage. The lady at the desk told me that she had placed me on the third floor so that I would not be bothered by the noise from the restaurant on the ground floor. However, there was no elevator. I carried my bulky parcels up the stairs. It was a struggle. I could have paid $5 for the continental breakfast the next morning. I chose instead to get a substantial breakfast at the nearby coffee shop.

When I returned late at night, I was exhausted. I slept soundly until I got up the next morning to depart early.

Except for the lack of an elevator, I was pleased with the accommodations. This hotel is two blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro so it is conveniently located on the red line.

I shall stay here in the future. The rooms cost more in summer. The convenience of proximity to the red line may outweigh the additional expense.

I plan to return.

Room Tip: The restaurant on the first floor serves alcohol until 2 am. After the bar closes patrons may gather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColasBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

On the second day, I came back to the hotel and my door was not closed after cleaning service. They did take a note of it and said they were sorry, but when I found out that my jacket was missing the day after - I could not prove a thing and they have not yet contacted me although they promised to come back to me.

The quality of the staff was rather variable. I met three staff people, and one of them was very kind and motivated. The other two were rather uninterested and did not make me feel very comfortable.

Finally, when leaving the hotel - I asked for a ride to Dulles airport. They arranged me a 75USD befriended taxi ride, while only afterwards I found out that there are dedicated pick-up shuttle services for a quarter of the money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kennyhelsens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed there for one night because I was on a panel in DC and the organizers had made the hotel reservation for me. I am not a light sleeper, but at 2 a.m. I woke up. I found something crawling on me. I turned on the light to check what it was. It was a bed bug. I found another one crawling on me. When I squished it, I found blood on my fingers. So it was more than clear to me that it was a bed bug and that I had probably caught it when it had just feasted on me. I also found small spots of blood on the sheet and on the pillowcase. The hotel staff did not help much when I showed them the bugs. I got the concierge to open a room with a dryer and threw all my clothes, shoes, and bag in the dryer for about 20 minutes to make sure it would be free of bugs (heat kills them). Then I left the hotel around 3 am. The hotel staff did not care.

Room Tip: I was in room 306. That one is infested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

It's cheap, but not particularly cheerful. If you're just looking for a bed for the night it's a perfectly reasonable place, and one of the cheapest options we could find in D.C., but The Baron Hotel doesn't provide anything more than the basics.

As I understand it, until recently--or maybe still today--the hotel is better known as a German beer bar. We stayed mid-week and it was evident that the walls were pretty thin; I can only imagine that if you visit on busier nights of the week a pair of earplugs may be a sensible packing addition.

Breakfast for an additional $5 is a highlight--you get to eat your cereal in the dark depths of the beery backroom!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We loved the Baron Hotel, it has a p[perfect location, right at Dupont circle and very close to the metro station. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and the room was "good enough", nothing fancy and you can feel somethings missing, but really clean and big and has all the basics. Will definitely recommend it and use it again. There is no elevator which can be a bit bad for travelers but for light travelers it is a wonderful choice.

Room Tip: NO elevator, reserve on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nabil-Lubna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#133 of 142 in Washington DC
264 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 142 in Washington DC
1,889 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $73 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing