We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Low quality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Baron Hotel to your Saves list
The Baron Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037 (Dupont Circle)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Low quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Hotel is in a very good location, near Dupont Circle, with lots of restaurants and bars.
It is close to the subway, only 5 min walking. In the weekend you can park your car close and for free.
The room was ok, kind of small but clean and fair. Bathroom had a large and new shower, but the remaining part was pretty small.
There was some less good points that made it extremely expensive for the quality.
Corridors had an awful smell, like dust and old. As I have dust mites allergy, I could not breath properly.
Also we were in second floor and the lift was not working.
But the worse of all was the breakfast. It was in the night bar, where some frozen bagels were left for us to warm it. And in the end they had a rat walking around the bar. It was disgusting!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    106
    95
    45
    49
See reviews for
46
91
47
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 4 nights because of research reasons and I found this hotel very nice and usefoul to be in the center of DC. Dupont Circle is a nice place and the hotel is just 5 minutes walking from it. In addiction is just 10 minutes walking from Georgetown, a folkorist place that i recommend to see.

The rooms are really small, that's the only real problem. But they are clean and internet connection is good, so nothing to say. The good thing is the pub included in the hotel where you can relax at the end of a busy day.

In conclusion: cheap, good position, good internet connection, clean and pub in it. Bad things: the room was really small, but ofr this price I have nothing to complain.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last December. I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and near the metro. The rooms are small, clean and with the basics. No luxury, no perks, and no elevator. In the halls I saw young adults or students. It has the feeling of a hostel more than a hotel. I would stay there again understanding that it’s a hotel to just sleep and leave not to hang out. Overall it fulfilled its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great neighborhood, only two blocks from the Metro. I stayed here for a week on business. There was no working elevator and the free breakfast consisted of oj and a box of donuts. However, the room was clean and comfortable. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room and being on the move then this hotel is great. The staff was friendly and accommodated all of my needs. However the internet connection was not consistent. I think it definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was fine. Kind of small, kind of shabby, no lamp, but hey you get what you pay for. The real problem was the bogus $150 'smoked in your room' charge that I found on my credit card later on. Totally unsatisfactory response from the hotel, currently contesting through Mastercard and Better Business Bureau... watch your step.

Room Tip: Avoid the front side of the hotel: you can hear people from the tavern downstairs hackin butts in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as it was one of the cheaper places available in Dupont Circle although still on the pricey side, I think approx $150 per night. The room and bed were quite small for what we paid however very clean & appeared to have been recently renovated. Has the basic amenities however didn't look like it had been completed. Broken telephone, no lamp on bedside table etc.

Pub downstairs served yummy meals and we were on the 4th floor & didn't hear a thing!

Neighborhood was lovely & in perfect location. Close to metro lines & lots of restaurants & shops.

If it was a little cheaper I would certainly stay again.

All the female staff were wonderful but came across one male staff member who was quite rude & unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although I'm more of a 4-5 star hotel snatched on Hotwire kind of person, I was recently in DC and needed a place at the last minute. I picked The Baron because it was reasonably priced and sounded kind of interesting with the tavern down stairs (and interesting even though I'm not a beer drinker). The staff was WONDERFUL and helped me pick a room that faced the street with a lovely view. The room was neat and super clean with many new items and it was really just a lovely place to be. Staff was knowledgeable regarding local food, transportation, plotting metro, etc. etc.
Fair thee well Embassy Row hotels - I am never staying anywhere else in DC. Loved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#119 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#126 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 stars 219 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#122 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#107 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
Dupont Circle
Beacon Hotel & Corporate Quarters
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing