We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Cheap”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last December. I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and near the metro. The rooms are small, clean and with the basics. No luxury, no perks, and no elevator. In the halls I saw young adults or students. It has the feeling of a hostel more than a hotel. I would stay there again understanding that it’s a hotel to just sleep and leave not to hang out. Overall it fulfilled its purpose.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 398 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great neighborhood, only two blocks from the Metro. I stayed here for a week on business. There was no working elevator and the free breakfast consisted of oj and a box of donuts. However, the room was clean and comfortable. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room and being on the move then this hotel is great. The staff was friendly and accommodated all of my needs. However the internet connection was not consistent. I think it definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was fine. Kind of small, kind of shabby, no lamp, but hey you get what you pay for. The real problem was the bogus $150 'smoked in your room' charge that I found on my credit card later on. Totally unsatisfactory response from the hotel, currently contesting through Mastercard and Better Business Bureau... watch your step.

Room Tip: Avoid the front side of the hotel: you can hear people from the tavern downstairs hackin butts in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as it was one of the cheaper places available in Dupont Circle although still on the pricey side, I think approx $150 per night. The room and bed were quite small for what we paid however very clean & appeared to have been recently renovated. Has the basic amenities however didn't look like it had been completed. Broken telephone, no lamp on bedside table etc.

Pub downstairs served yummy meals and we were on the 4th floor & didn't hear a thing!

Neighborhood was lovely & in perfect location. Close to metro lines & lots of restaurants & shops.

If it was a little cheaper I would certainly stay again.

All the female staff were wonderful but came across one male staff member who was quite rude & unhelpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although I'm more of a 4-5 star hotel snatched on Hotwire kind of person, I was recently in DC and needed a place at the last minute. I picked The Baron because it was reasonably priced and sounded kind of interesting with the tavern down stairs (and interesting even though I'm not a beer drinker). The staff was WONDERFUL and helped me pick a room that faced the street with a lovely view. The room was neat and super clean with many new items and it was really just a lovely place to be. Staff was knowledgeable regarding local food, transportation, plotting metro, etc. etc.
Fair thee well Embassy Row hotels - I am never staying anywhere else in DC. Loved.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My room was about 8' x 10'. Basically, all that fit in the room was a double bed. I didn't book this hotel, but was bumped to it from one of their partner hotels. That's not what you want when you arrive at 10:30 PM.

The doors on the rooms don't lock automatically. So be sure you lock it when you're in your room, or when you go out.

The location was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, but I wish I had paid the extra 50 USD a day and stayed in the other hotels around it. The reception staff are really helpful, but the management is very irresponsible, rude and couldn't care less if your room does not have running hot water, or the cord of the phone had been cut off. I tried speaking to the manager, his response was "too bad". Also, it seems that if you book the hotel through Embassy Suits, you might get a cheaper rate than directly. I paid about 200 USD per night, a gentleman before me, got a similar room for 150 a night because of booking through the Embassy Suits. If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the 3 or 4th floor, that way you are far from the noise of the bar.The breakfast is poor, served in the same bar where a few hours before that people were still having excessive beer, without having properly cleaned the place.
Bottom line, pay a bit more and know what you are paying for!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeriGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#133 of 142 in Washington DC
264 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#131 of 142 in Washington DC
335 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#126 of 142 in Washington DC
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#121 of 142 in Washington DC
1,889 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $73 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing