We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Clean and Cheap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and Cheap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights last December. I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and near the metro. The rooms are small, clean and with the basics. No luxury, no perks, and no elevator. In the halls I saw young adults or students. It has the feeling of a hostel more than a hotel. I would stay there again understanding that it’s a hotel to just sleep and leave not to hang out. Overall it fulfilled its purpose.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    114
    104
    49
    53
See reviews for
50
104
49
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great neighborhood, only two blocks from the Metro. I stayed here for a week on business. There was no working elevator and the free breakfast consisted of oj and a box of donuts. However, the room was clean and comfortable. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room and being on the move then this hotel is great. The staff was friendly and accommodated all of my needs. However the internet connection was not consistent. I think it definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was fine. Kind of small, kind of shabby, no lamp, but hey you get what you pay for. The real problem was the bogus $150 'smoked in your room' charge that I found on my credit card later on. Totally unsatisfactory response from the hotel, currently contesting through Mastercard and Better Business Bureau... watch your step.

Room Tip: Avoid the front side of the hotel: you can hear people from the tavern downstairs hackin butts in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as it was one of the cheaper places available in Dupont Circle although still on the pricey side, I think approx $150 per night. The room and bed were quite small for what we paid however very clean & appeared to have been recently renovated. Has the basic amenities however didn't look like it had been completed. Broken telephone, no lamp on bedside table etc.

Pub downstairs served yummy meals and we were on the 4th floor & didn't hear a thing!

Neighborhood was lovely & in perfect location. Close to metro lines & lots of restaurants & shops.

If it was a little cheaper I would certainly stay again.

All the female staff were wonderful but came across one male staff member who was quite rude & unhelpful.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although I'm more of a 4-5 star hotel snatched on Hotwire kind of person, I was recently in DC and needed a place at the last minute. I picked The Baron because it was reasonably priced and sounded kind of interesting with the tavern down stairs (and interesting even though I'm not a beer drinker). The staff was WONDERFUL and helped me pick a room that faced the street with a lovely view. The room was neat and super clean with many new items and it was really just a lovely place to be. Staff was knowledgeable regarding local food, transportation, plotting metro, etc. etc.
Fair thee well Embassy Row hotels - I am never staying anywhere else in DC. Loved.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My room was about 8' x 10'. Basically, all that fit in the room was a double bed. I didn't book this hotel, but was bumped to it from one of their partner hotels. That's not what you want when you arrive at 10:30 PM.

The doors on the rooms don't lock automatically. So be sure you lock it when you're in your room, or when you go out.

The location was nice.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, but I wish I had paid the extra 50 USD a day and stayed in the other hotels around it. The reception staff are really helpful, but the management is very irresponsible, rude and couldn't care less if your room does not have running hot water, or the cord of the phone had been cut off. I tried speaking to the manager, his response was "too bad". Also, it seems that if you book the hotel through Embassy Suits, you might get a cheaper rate than directly. I paid about 200 USD per night, a gentleman before me, got a similar room for 150 a night because of booking through the Embassy Suits. If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the 3 or 4th floor, that way you are far from the noise of the bar.The breakfast is poor, served in the same bar where a few hours before that people were still having excessive beer, without having properly cleaned the place.
Bottom line, pay a bit more and know what you are paying for!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeriGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#128 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#123 of 140 in Washington DC
3.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#122 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#114 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, DC/Dup...
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Property: The Baron Hotel
Address: 1523 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1005
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing