We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quaint hotel”
Review of The Baron Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baron Hotel
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This hotel is in a great neighborhood, only two blocks from the Metro. I stayed here for a week on business. There was no working elevator and the free breakfast consisted of oj and a box of donuts. However, the room was clean and comfortable. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in your room and being on the move then this hotel is great. The staff was friendly and accommodated all of my needs. However the internet connection was not consistent. I think it definitely is worth the price.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for The Baron Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 390 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2011

The room was fine. Kind of small, kind of shabby, no lamp, but hey you get what you pay for. The real problem was the bogus $150 'smoked in your room' charge that I found on my credit card later on. Totally unsatisfactory response from the hotel, currently contesting through Mastercard and Better Business Bureau... watch your step.

Room Tip: Avoid the front side of the hotel: you can hear people from the tavern downstairs hackin butts in fr...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for three nights as it was one of the cheaper places available in Dupont Circle although still on the pricey side, I think approx $150 per night. The room and bed were quite small for what we paid however very clean & appeared to have been recently renovated. Has the basic amenities however didn't look like it had been completed. Broken telephone, no lamp on bedside table etc.

Pub downstairs served yummy meals and we were on the 4th floor & didn't hear a thing!

Neighborhood was lovely & in perfect location. Close to metro lines & lots of restaurants & shops.

If it was a little cheaper I would certainly stay again.

All the female staff were wonderful but came across one male staff member who was quite rude & unhelpful.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koops31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Although I'm more of a 4-5 star hotel snatched on Hotwire kind of person, I was recently in DC and needed a place at the last minute. I picked The Baron because it was reasonably priced and sounded kind of interesting with the tavern down stairs (and interesting even though I'm not a beer drinker). The staff was WONDERFUL and helped me pick a room that faced the street with a lovely view. The room was neat and super clean with many new items and it was really just a lovely place to be. Staff was knowledgeable regarding local food, transportation, plotting metro, etc. etc.
Fair thee well Embassy Row hotels - I am never staying anywhere else in DC. Loved.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My room was about 8' x 10'. Basically, all that fit in the room was a double bed. I didn't book this hotel, but was bumped to it from one of their partner hotels. That's not what you want when you arrive at 10:30 PM.

The doors on the rooms don't lock automatically. So be sure you lock it when you're in your room, or when you go out.

The location was nice.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phillip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, but I wish I had paid the extra 50 USD a day and stayed in the other hotels around it. The reception staff are really helpful, but the management is very irresponsible, rude and couldn't care less if your room does not have running hot water, or the cord of the phone had been cut off. I tried speaking to the manager, his response was "too bad". Also, it seems that if you book the hotel through Embassy Suits, you might get a cheaper rate than directly. I paid about 200 USD per night, a gentleman before me, got a similar room for 150 a night because of booking through the Embassy Suits. If you have to stay here, ask for a room on the 3 or 4th floor, that way you are far from the noise of the bar.The breakfast is poor, served in the same bar where a few hours before that people were still having excessive beer, without having properly cleaned the place.
Bottom line, pay a bit more and know what you are paying for!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeriGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed here while attending a conference at the convention center 1.5 miles away. The price per night was about $100 less than I could get elsewhere.
Pros: Good value for DC; Rooms were clean; AC/heat worked well; Great little tavern/restaurant downstairs especially if you like rare beer (>500 beers on the menu); great neighborhood;
Cons: Elevator did not work; security for room keys seems a little low

The walk to the convention center was OK and taxi was about $7. There is also a $1 bus (yellow circulator) that you can pick up about 6 blocks away that will take you to the convention center.

Room Tip: If the elevator is not working get a lower floor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJ142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Inn
The Embassy Inn
#130 of 142 in Washington DC
256 reviews
Dupont Circle
Windsor Inn
Windsor Inn
#128 of 142 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Windsor Park Hotel
#125 of 142 in Washington DC
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#119 of 142 in Washington DC
1,832 reviews
Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dup...
#106 of 142 in Washington DC
362 reviews
Capitol Skyline Hotel
#85 of 142 in Washington DC
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baron Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baron Hotel

Address: 1523 22nd street NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range: $81 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Baron Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your The Baron Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing