We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Promise What You Don't Intend to Do” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aria Pizzeria and Bar - CLOSED

Aria Pizzeria and Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Federal Triangle
Cross street: 13th & Pennsylvania Ave, NW
Transit: Metro: Federal Triangle
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Promise What You Don't Intend to Do”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

After making an 8:15 PM reservation using a well-known reservation APP including directions, we were delayed about 10 minutes and called ahead to let the Aria know we were delayed. Having walked about 40 minutes in the Washington DC brisk cold and with only less than 300 yards left, we were told that they were shutting down for the night. Again, the APP provided reservation til at least 8:30 PM. Then, again, I understand not wanting to stay open late if there are not enough customers, but then in these circumstances a simple apology might have made this poor customer service more palatable.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Bright and airy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Spent a hot day doing the usual Tourist -type things one does when here. Looked for somewhere not too expensive to eat. Aria fitted the bill nicely. Although some dishes were priced a little higher than you might expect elsewhere, given that this is situated where it is, the prices are actually very reasonable.
We found the staff very pleasant and efficient, if perhaps a little "stressed looking". We turned up at probably their busiest time over lunchtime.
I felt the tables were a little too close together. The couple sat at the table next to ours carried on a conversation at normal volume, but we heard every word spoken.
One very fussy and picky family further over, seemed to be trying the patience of their server by almost DEMANDING something NOT on the menu, but the server seemed to be perfectly in control of the situation, and did a few trips back n forth from the kitchen, obviously trying to accommodate the family's needs.
I would recommend this restaurant, however, I agree with a previous review regarding the lines for the grill etc, I would avoid those and just go in and order from the regular menu.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fran r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3,237 reviews
1,360 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,873 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Service was kind, food was decent. The location is the best part--in the middle of DC, but tucked away in the middle of the Reagan complex. Plan to go elsewhere for dessert, but the meal options are diverse yet true to the Italian theme.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QuickWhitTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wednesday "notworking" event”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I were visiting DC and came upon this restaurant at the Federal Triangle Metro location. Were enticed by the hostess to stop and sample the Wine Connection event on Wednesday afternoon with a discount for food and drink. Having spent hours sightseeing, it seemed great. Turned out it was vodka night, so the drink offering for the event had no relation to "wine" although they did allow us to trade the tokens in for the house Merlot or house "white". They had offered all you could care to sample of food, with oysters, bbq, chicken and veggies on the grill, all for part of the fixed price. The food was there, as were lines. Only three people behind the serving area cooking on the grill and serving the food, so it took little time for the line to get long. My wife opted for water, passing on the vodka offerings, and eventually they put out a water station. But not at the beginning, even with high temperature. After about an hour, management finally stepped in to help serve (strange since they were present from the beginning). Food was great, which made up for the some of the wait. But as we left, we wished we had just ordered a bite and left rather than allowing ourselves to be talked into something involving lines for food and limited beverages. I would pass on the event in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service . . .”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Time to get served either drinks and/or food was far too long and everyone was rude. Aside from this, the food was great and came very quickly! I wouldn't go again or recommend it, too bad given that the food was good - as is the location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Pizzeria and Bar also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing