We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wednesday "notworking" event”
Review of Aria Pizzeria and Bar - CLOSED

Aria Pizzeria and Bar
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Federal Triangle
Cross street: 13th & Pennsylvania Ave, NW
Transit: Metro: Federal Triangle
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wednesday "notworking" event”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

My wife and I were visiting DC and came upon this restaurant at the Federal Triangle Metro location. Were enticed by the hostess to stop and sample the Wine Connection event on Wednesday afternoon with a discount for food and drink. Having spent hours sightseeing, it seemed great. Turned out it was vodka night, so the drink offering for the event had no relation to "wine" although they did allow us to trade the tokens in for the house Merlot or house "white". They had offered all you could care to sample of food, with oysters, bbq, chicken and veggies on the grill, all for part of the fixed price. The food was there, as were lines. Only three people behind the serving area cooking on the grill and serving the food, so it took little time for the line to get long. My wife opted for water, passing on the vodka offerings, and eventually they put out a water station. But not at the beginning, even with high temperature. After about an hour, management finally stepped in to help serve (strange since they were present from the beginning). Food was great, which made up for the some of the wait. But as we left, we wished we had just ordered a bite and left rather than allowing ourselves to be talked into something involving lines for food and limited beverages. I would pass on the event in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharlieB604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    12
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service . . .”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Time to get served either drinks and/or food was far too long and everyone was rude. Aside from this, the food was great and came very quickly! I wouldn't go again or recommend it, too bad given that the food was good - as is the location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant right in center of it all.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We came upon this resturant by mistake. If you get off the Metro at Triangle Plaza at the Ronald Reagan Building you come up right into a very nice outdoor square in the middle where this restaurant is . Prices are good and you can sit inside or outside . there is also a food court in the same building. If you are looking for a good place to eat while doing the DC sites this is a good one.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phylzone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Total lack of service - Stay away!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Came there with a family member and was quickly seated in an otherwise almost empty place on a Saturday afternoon. We waited for about 20 minutes without a waiter even showing up to take a drink order. Table behind us that was seated after us was already getting their appetizers.

In the meantime waiters were fooling around and giggling about 30 feet away from us. All attempts to catch their attention were in vain. Finally I walked to the manager and asked what kind of restaurant she was running? Didn't the waiters realize that it is actually their customers that pay their salary? She apologized and promised to send a waiter over, I said that wouldn't be necessary and we left the place.

My advice to you is stay away from this restaurant and pick another one that will actually serve its customers.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ndWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The food was good (actually the pizza was really good). You can sit outdoors and people watch or indoors - we choose outdoors and it was fun. Be careful on certain evenings since they have outdoor concerts and the music is really loud.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ExperiencedTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aria Pizzeria and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing