We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really love this little local Belgian bistro”
Review of Sur La Place - CLOSED

Sur La Place
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Belgian restaurant and bar in the Palisades neighborhood of DC.
Bethesda
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really love this little local Belgian bistro”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love the specialty beers. Had an excellent meal. The place was VERY busy,
but our server was truly delightful and extremely helpful As we live locally, we are thrilled to rediscover this restaurant, and will go there frequently. (It does not
have the loud chaos of some of its neighbors either).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BarbaraEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful Neighborhood Restaurant for a Date”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great beer choices, and the seafood is to die for. I had what is probably the best ceviche I have had in the DC area. The beer was excellent, as you would expect from a Belgian place. We will be coming back to try out other things on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DCNike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food and drink great - service slow”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Great find for food and drink -- host could be more welcoming -- especially since restaurant was nearly empty when we arrived at 6 PM. Service was faster than in a visit the week before. A "hi and welcome" on arrival and a bit faster service and Sur La Place will be packed all the time!

Helpful?
4 Thank Lovemyladyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious and abundant mussels near Georgetown”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I purchased a Groupon for this restaurant, but was unable to use it in time for the promotional value. However, I decided to use the face value and go anyway because I love Belgian beer and had a hankering for mussels. My husband and I went on a Wednesday night at 8 pm and the place was relatively crowded. We had a reservation, so we didn't have to wait. The waitress was very casual and European. We debated about splitting a bucket of mussels (for which they would charge $2.50) or each getting our own $22 bucket. We decided on the latter, but the buckets were so big (and came with delicious french fries), that we wished we had split one. They have a dozen different kinds of broth for the mussels - I got the Dijonaise and he got the Pernod - and they were both excellent, very plump and flavorful. The waitress was very gracious about the Groupon and said "Hey, at least you're not losing your money" when I said the promotional value was no longer valid.
The restaurant was small and cozy, and the crowd looked well-heeled but relaxed. The only thing is that it is not near public transportation, and sometimes the parking in that Palisades neighborhood is kind of tight. Regardless, we would definitely return, even without a Groupon!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank hel33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Slow, Inattentive Service Dampened Dining Experience”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This place could be so much more but they are really dragged down by the miserable service. The belgian beers were excellent as were the mussels and Carbonnade Flamande (wonderful beef stew). We would have ordered one of their desserts as well, but were worried about the additional wait we'd have to endure for another course. It wasn't that crowded and it wasn't clear that there was an issue, but everything took forever and the staff disappeared for really long periods. Additionally, getting a reservation was a huge turn off. I'm not sure that sending an e-mail request and waiting for a response that never came is appropriate for this day and time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ace4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sur La Place also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing