We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad but pricy”

Luke's Lobster Penn Quarter
Ranked #29 of 3,196 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown / Chinatown
Description: Our DC location opened its doors on May 26, 2011 -- it's our first location outside Manhattan! We serve the same Maine-style menu -- lobster, crab and shrimp rolls, and bisque and chowder -- in a Down East-inspired shack.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad but pricy”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Went to the one in Georgetown....nice quaint location that used to be an old Georgetown house. Lobster rolls were good but pricy....over $15 for a small one. Its one of those places where you say, "been there, done that".

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zotmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    202
    46
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good but expensive”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I get that lobster is expensive and I knew that going in but I didn't feel like we got a lot of lobster for what we paid. It was very tasty though!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Lobster rolls.”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh lobster with buttery rolls. I prefer the cold lobster rolls with low mayo. Will come back and grab a roll and take it over the ironhorse.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank broadfi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A taste of Maine, right in the heart of Penn Quarter.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

I don't know how many times I have walked past this restaurant, and never gave it a second look. I was in need of a snack en route to a meeting, and I am so glad I finally stopped in. Luke's Lobster is adorable--a tiny place with a tiny menu, but the soup I had was delicious. The staff was incredibly friendly, and the entire brief experience made me look forward to future visits.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsClyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy to the core”
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

First off, don't be fooled by the shack sized restaurant . We passed up Luke's for some fancier place that ended with a $144 bill. We stopped by Luke's the very next day, and wow! It was the tastiest roll that I have ever had! We order it without mayo, with two lobster claws, a shrimp roll and crab roll. The lobster roll is amazing! The bun was fresh and hot and the other food was good as well! Two thumbs up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dereckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luke's Lobster Penn Quarter also viewed

Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Luke's Lobster Penn Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing