We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
from $89.00
More Info
DC After Dark
7 Reviews
from $35.00
More Info
from $64.00
More Info
from $43.00
More Info
Reviews (5,226)
Filter reviews
4,500 results
Traveler rating
3,238
965
226
52
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,238
965
226
52
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tidal basin great man famous quotes his words the civil rights movement his life larger than life beautiful tribute fitting tribute cherry blossoms awe inspiring national mall across the street american history night tour washington monument dr
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 4,500 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visited on a quiet morning and enjoyed the calm and quiet to reflect on Martin Luther King’s legacy and the quotes from some of his speeches.

Thank JASH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Best memorial I saw during my 4 hour tour of the mall. Great quotes. We did it as part of a free walking tour and the guide described the symbolism behind its architecture and unfinished appearance.

Thank Koalatastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Well worth the trip. The entrance with the water beyond is stunning and the inscriptions even more so.

Thank Annesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

This monument was larger than life. We went at night in the pouring rain & we still stood there just observing & thinking.

Thank R8390WSlindae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago

We parked by this and this was the first memorial we saw - it just leads you up for such a wonderful experience of culture and information.

Thank BRBE001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

This is a very moving tribute to Martin Luther King Jr., the sculpture is an awesome sight, as he looks out over the Washington Tidal Basin. The engraved quotes cut into the walls around the monument are equally moving.

Thank 577lawrencef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

Martha Luther King Jr was a great man that rose to the occasions at a very difficult time. He spoke of peace when others spoke of the power of the gun. This monument was long overdue. It is well done, and very powerful. As a nation, we owe him a lot. Its a must see monument.

Thank Michael_Corey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited Martin Luther Memorial alone. There was a marathon on so I had 30 minutes to myself. It’s so nice.

Thank tojulianna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Love it! All the quotes were amazing! And having it next to the river gave it a sense of calm and peace. Just beautiful!

Thank MsNifa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This memorial is something Martin would be proud of himself. It’s by a small riverbank and along a lit wall, you have his various quotes embossed. Then you have a tremendously huge statue of him which makes great for a memorable selfie. Definitely worth checking out in DC

Thank RealDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews