We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as part of a tour”

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Washington DC National Mall Evening Walking Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
DC After Dark
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Morning DC Small-Group Bus Tour
Ranked #15 of 444 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great as part of a tour”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This memorial was part of an evening tour that we took and as such, it was fine. There isn't too much to see, so a 10 minute stop was appropriate. However, if we had had to trek all the way there on our own, I probably would have felt a bit disappointed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Torontoniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,969
    1,029
    264
    51
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
92 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for Civil Rights”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It is tranquil in layout with many significant speech fragments on granite wall. The four sided monument is a fantastic testament to this wonderful and most significant leader of modern times.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorthamptonSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Dramatic work in stone”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This memorial, like every other memorial in DC, is controversial. And I guess that is at is should be in a free country where we can voice our opinions freely. So first, my good impressions: This sculpture is huge. Dr. King's sculpture emerges from a mountain as a "stone of hope" -- you can almost here the stones sliding and breaking apart. The entire sculpture feels massive and overpowering -- and I guess that is the source of my less than good impressions. Dr. King stood for so much that is grounded in humanity and caring and I'm just not feeling that from this sculpture. He is portrayed as stern and almost inapproachable -- not as the man who reached out to and inspired so many with simple and powerful words. And that brings me back to my good impressions -- his words are captured in slanting stone walls around the sculpture and at the base of the sculpture itself. When they get around to fixing the truncated "I was a drum major" quote, the word story will be complete. This is a peaceful spot to stand and reflect on this turbulent time in our country's history. The memorial is near the Tidal Basin and cherry trees and within walking distance of the WWII memorial. A visit here would make part of a nice day out for families. Children too young to understand will have plenty of running around space. Photographers, history buffs, and tourists will also enjoy visiting this attraction.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank sailingboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just OK”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I was expecting more. When compared to the other monuments, this seems like it is lacking something. There's no "wow factor" in my opinion. I believe this memorial actually minimizes who he was. I wouldn't go specifically to see this again but if you happen to run into it like I did, sure, stop by.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJ_Blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, Massachusetts, United States
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“good to see”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I hadn't seen this, because it is relatively new. I like the idea of taking a piece of the mountain, moving it, and carving MLK there. But overall, to me, it does not have the grandeur of the older classical monuments.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank GwenM100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing