We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great statute of Martin Luther King”

Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Washington DC National Mall Evening Walking Tour
More Info
$45.00*
and up
DC After Dark
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Morning DC Small-Group Bus Tour
Ranked #15 of 445 things to do in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
496 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great statute of Martin Luther King”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

While the wording that is engraved as well as the statute is controversial to some, I believe the site is very well done, primarily the statute. It is very impressive and in my opinion represents an excellent tribute to this outstanding civil rights leader. When visiting this memorial make sure to take in the nearby FDR and Korean War Memorials as well. All are free.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Les F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,971
    1,029
    264
    51
    17
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“There he stands”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I think I may have entered this Memorial from the wrong way? again I was on a night tour and wondered in directly in view of this monolithic 5+ meter tall statue of the late Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Surrounded by many of his famous quotes and the sound of running water fall like fountain engulfing the sounds of the city life.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohninGRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I was very excited to see the memorial of Dr Martin Luther King.
To read excerts from his speeches was emotional aand sad.
The statue is huge and very tall so expect to look up a lot for picture taking.
I am glad i got a chance to see it in person.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PC G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KIN
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Art and Meaning Combined”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very good translation of meaning, history, preservation of memory and significance into art. A well deserved piece of work with a worthy neighbor just next to it! A must-see

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Beetduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Don't miss the quotes on the walls”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The monument is impressive, but more impressive are the walls with the words of MLK etched on them. Those statements really display the character and determination of King.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelak518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial also viewed

 

Been to Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing