We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed last June on a family trip to DC to visit all the sights. The staff and the hotel are beyond wonderful. We arrived very early Saturday morning and they had our room ready. They were more than helpful with walking details, dinner reservations and special arrangements to drive us to the airport in their Mercedes. We loved this hotel, and although we did not have a great view, we had a beautiful suite which was perfect for our family of four. They brought in a cot, we had a full HUGE bathroom and a half bath. Everything you can imagine from a Ritz and more. The staff were all helpful and friendly and the other guests elegant. The rooms quiet, clean and beautifully decorated. We hope to stay again next time we are in DC.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 775mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Disappointed with the service, which surprised me given the legendary lore of the Ritz-Carlton and thier committment to 'ladies and gentlemen'. While everyone I interfaced with at the Ritz was polite and demonstrated professionalism, they failed in thier responsiveness and guest attention. The rooms are on par with a Hilton but in no way compare with other upscale hotels I have stayed at in the past. When my first room required me to relocate (a constant beeping from the heating unit made it impossible to sleep) they actually downgraded me to a smaller room one floor down. When my key did not work in the door the first night they told me to just call the from the hotel phone by the elevator if it happened again. When it happened again and I called as instructed I waited 10 minutes before finally making the trip down to the front desk. The best the woman did was offer a half-hearted 'sorry' while she continued to talk on the phone. The redeeming quality of this hotel was the bellman Nick who was the most gracious and helpful person at the hotel. Too much hype, I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Candace P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Like any Ritz, the service is attentive and the staff well trained. The rooms are average, even for a Ritz, and if you didn't know better could be in any Marriott or Hilton in the country. The first floor design is flawed and the entire lobby is cut up. The bar is as well. It is not big enough for a hotel this size and it is always hard to find a seat. This is a nice hotel for a convention, but there are better choices closer to the Mall for sightseeing and fun.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank WildcatGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Absolutely loved our recent stay. The lobby was small but was beautifully decorated. Loved the chandeliers in the hallways and elevators. Check-in was easy and quick and we had a beautiful room on the 11th floor with a view of an interior courtyard. It was nice not seeing city streets.

Upon arrival our beds were turned down with chocolates, classical music was playing on the alarm clock and the TV was set to a crackling fireplace. Was a great first impression. The complimentary waters in the room were an added bonus. Our room had two double beds, a small sitting area a spacious bathroom and a small foyer with a large closet.

The bathroom was large with a beautiful tub... Wish I had time for a bath. However, the water pressure was low and there was no fan.

Was impressed by the service, felt like royalty - doors were constantly held open for us, bags were brought up to the room promptly, locked ourselves out of the room and a manager came up within minutes. Great location too, close to Dupont.

I can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Good hotel, good service. Located in the heart of DC, it was convenient for business meetings and close to Georgetown for good restaurants. Great customer services- received an email prior to arrivals asking whether I had any special requests, as well as my flights so that they could get things ready. Good initial impression with the staff, all very willing to serve and make one's stay as pleasent as possible. Rooms are very large and comfortable and the bed was great! Slept great all 3 nights.
Loved the tea/ coffee/cookies available just outside the elevators, complimentary of the hotel daily. Breakfast was not included in the rate, and it was a bit pricy, but was expected. Food is average, but service more than made up for it. \
Definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to DC for work/leisure for the services and the spacious rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasperlai8429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

I thought the Ritz was average at best. The set up was strange and the hotel bar and restaurant left a lot to be desired. The concierge was not much help. We asked for a close place to eat and the sent us to a salad shop around the corner where you can only take out. The hotel restaurant was full so we went to the Lobby bar and restaurant and it took forever. The housekeeping staff and front desk were very good. I have to be honest though, I wouldn't stay there again in DC. There are better choices.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaplat24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great hotel, well located, but very expensive. Club Floor Club is spectacular, with good food (they had some great passed hors d'oeuvres). Have to check your bill. I was charged for internet when it was supposed to be free.

Room Tip: I like the courtyard rooms, as they are off the street and quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,198 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $325 - $906 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing