We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Back for Another Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #28 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back for Another Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Another great three day stay. Flawless front desk. Quiet, well appointed room. Only quibble is that the elevator key slot was finicky and many guests had to fight with it to get to their floors. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room facing the inner courtyard is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravCT2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    220
    83
    31
    21
See reviews for
200
139
36
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Ritz this past Saturday and cannot say enough wonderful things. From the minute we arrived the service was top quality, professional and focused on our total relaxation. Everyone from doormen, to the check-in (offering waters and other comforts) and even housekeeping were always available and asking if there was anything we needed. If you really want to feel extra special I highly recommend upgrading to the "Club Level" You can then enjoy breakfasts with the best pastries, fruits, hot eggs, bacon, champagne, juices, coffees, espressos, homemade hot chocolates, teas and many other delicious breakfast items. The Club level is open all day (breakfast, lunch and cocktail hrs) to visit at your whim. We especially enjoyed the cocktail hours with red and white wines, champagne with strawberries, cheeses, snacks and gourmet appetizers (hot and cold). We hardly had room for our dinner at the fabulous West End Bistro. Of course there are always candies, cookies and desserts at the club level as well. The rooms are great with views of the city, super comfortable beds and a fabulous rainfall showers head in the marble floor bathrooms. The President Lincoln milk chocolates and crackling fireplace on the TV for the turn-down service is also a nice touch. If you are looking for top notch service, comfort, cheerful employees and convenience in the city. This is the luxury hotel for you! I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 9th floor (Club level) you can even come to breakfast in the cushy bath robe and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msterren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I had a great time and she was treated like a queen by every single person she encountered with. Staff, service and amenities were all exceptional. Westend Bistro food was top notch and service staff Juan and bartender Chris were truly professional.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank achadha123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here over New Year by mistake! We had chosen to move from a very poor neighbouring hotel (also 5 star) and stayed a week on the Club floor. The room was very well appointed and the service in the Club lounge way above expectations. Yes New Year's eve was overfull but it was only one night. The adjoining fitness suite and pool were of commercial size and shared with outside members. Maybe not what everyone wants but it never got too crowded. We didn't eat in the restaurant - it was always empty.This hotel delivers and the Club rooms are well worth the extra payment.

Room Tip: Choose the club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandm61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I enjoyed my last stay very much. The service, food and employees were great. We had special treats everyday on our room, turndown service was great and we enjoyed the IRD breakfast.We will be back soon, for sure...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vadim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have tried many hotels in D.C. as we go often for both business and pleasure. Our favorite Hotel is The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC. The service is so far beyond what we have experienced at other hotels. The accommodations are beautiful and the food is always perfect. There is no need to eat out because their restaurant is superb. The appetizers and signature drinks make the bar a relaxing place to meet friends and family. The Ritz is elegant and comfortable, don't know how they manage that! Every staff member greets us and by the end of our stay many of them have memorized our name. Privacy and personal service is the best we have ever experienced. It is definitely a treat worth experiencing again and again! It is a short walk to everything including Georgetown!

Room Tip: Every room has been perfect just wish we could bring home the bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RedBugNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights at a conference. Spacious well appointed room. Enormous bathroom. Nice relaxing public spaces. Good food. Only slight disappointment was banana skin in bathroom bin when I checked in, but I can live with that. Superb service really makes up for it.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,558 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,124 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
Four Seasons Washington D.C.
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 812 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing