We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #18 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
115 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Superb Honeymoon!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This review is a bit late, but we wanted you to know just how wonderful this property is! My husband and I spent our honeymoon here as would travel back in a heartbeat. Everything from the welcome at the front door to the rooms to the club lounge were superb. I would highly recommend the club lounge, as we typically used it as our breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and the club level room we had was wonderful. The concierge was very helpful and could work miracles if we wanted to do something at the spur of the moment. The bar at the hotel was wonderful with an enjoyable atmosphere and staff. The location of this hotel is perfect for being a DC tourist...inbetween hip DuPont Circle and George Washington University (both have metro stations too!), a decent walk to Georgetown and downtown DC, and in the middle of a very vibrant and interesting area to explore. The only downside was the spa. We enjoyed a couples massage. While the service was very pleasant, the spa itself was very simple and almost an afterthought. It wasn't the type of facility you would think of when you think of "Ritz Carlton Spa." If I had known, we might not have spent the money for that TREATMENT...it was just that, not an EXPERIENCE. Overall, we would most definitely recommend this hotel and would book a trip here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandEseetheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    251
    95
    37
    25
See reviews for
253
186
45
449
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful time in DC. We were attending a medical conference and enjoyed our stay at the Ritz. I had taken my mobile hotspot with to access the Internet but ended using the hotel wifi. We got home and the mobile Internet device and the charger were missing. I called the lost and found and they could not find it. I called Verizon to try and track it but they could not. I called the Hotel and expressed my concern and they investigated and passed me over to their insurance claims office who proceed to tell I had no legal case. I did not make any notion about pursuing anything legally, I simply wanted to let them know that I did not expect something like that to happen at this caliber of a hotel. The insurance adjuster proceeded to insult me by telling me that I should have locked it in the locker and that according to DC law they are not responsible. Maybe I should also lock up my expensive wardrobe next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SherSingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second staycation at this hotel -- once last Mother's Day as a babymoon, and this past weekend with our one-year old as her first mini vacay. We weren't sure how things would go with an on-the-move toddler at the Ritz, but actually, it was probably the best place we could have taken her. When we arrived, they presented her with a stuffed toy (one of three she received from staff), and there was a crib waiting in our room. They brought up a fridge for the room for her bottles (which I was stressed about), and they always had toys, crayons, or treats on hand for her. Even the staff at the lobby bar had a toy, a high chair, and a kid cup for her. We ate at Westend Bistro since we didn't feel like walking anywhere, and it was great. She had the ham mac n cheese (we might have helped finish it), and we tried a couple of new things. Everyone was so friendly and so welcoming that we never felt bad at all about bringing a toddler to the hotel. The hotel was pretty full (move-in weekend for the colleges in DC), but it was still really quiet in our room/our hall. You don't normally think of the Ritz as a family hotel, but actually it was a really great choice for us.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor, which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jonesygrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC, Beirut
Level Contributor
165 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The location is fantastic. You can walk to Georgetown, Dupont, and the White House. Rooms have been renovated and are large and very clean. Staff are very friendly and it has the best gym in DC, the Sports Club LA.

The only problem is breakfast is very average. They use to have one of the best brunches in DC. Now they are not in the top 25. The coffee was very bad. In the past they had jazz in the lobby. They seem to have lost interest in doing this and rely on their outsourced Westend Bistro which is ok but not one of the best in DC.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baci2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I just returned from my fifth stay at this hotel and as usual it was a wonderful experience. My daughter goes to college in D.C. which gives me the oppportunity to visit several times a year. I love everything about this hotel. The location is amazing, the rooms are beautiful and the staff is friendly and extremely helpful. I recommend that you book a room facing the courtyard. The view is pretty and the rooms are very quiet. I really can't say enough about this hotel as an overall perfect place to stay in D.C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvtotravel44881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I spent a week here and enjoyed ourselves immensely. Convenient locattion, helpful employees, quiet rooms, and very clean and comfy. The concierge was vey helpful when we were looking for options on things to do. The resturaunt has good service and food. The rooms were roomy, the beds comfy, and nice and quiet. Nice gym and pool as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readingrulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth M, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about your recent visit.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay - the service and facily and our wonderful
Westend Location.
I hope that you will visit us again soon.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Elizabeth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

You won't find Bigfoot in the wild because he's spoiled on the Ritz. My stay here made me feel like royalty and I wouldn't have left either, but the outside world needed me. Sadly the outside world treats me like a baby treats a diaper, quite unlike the Ritz staff. They don't just spout questions as generic formalities - every last one of them went out of their way politely asking me all sorts of things to feel out ways to enhance my stay. Sincerity at its finest!
The lounge area reminded me of old gentlemen's clubs (not the stripper kind) with a languished ambiance. A little loud when crowded, of course, which kept me from dozing off in the low, amazingly comfortable chairs and couches. Wish I'd had a book, smoking pipe and several hours to kill in there.
Their West End Bistro was absolutely divine. The corn soup could kill and the entree portions were a pleasant surprise to a hungry foodie like myself (I left with a doggy-bag, a rare event for me) and the prices weren't as high as I'd expected - quite reasonable and certainly a place I'll visit again whether I'm staying at the hotel or not. Do not miss it!
Breakfast in the hotel was by menu or buffet. Buffet? Yes, please! Once again, I'm a hungry guy and this started my day off just perfectly. High-quality, fresh breakfast items and an omelet chef.
Would stay at again! A++

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Park Hyatt Washington
Park Hyatt Washington
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,770 reviews
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing