We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in the District but has Competition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
Ranked #16 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This was a very lovely property and I had an overall enjoyable stay. I am a Rewards member and was surprised to not have a room available when I arrived at 4:00 pm since check-in is typically at 3:00 and Rewards Members are usually allowed to check in even earlier. We were granted access to the club room but had to order room service to the room as food and beverage service was not available until 5 or 6. We were escorted to our room which was not very large and the closet was tiny. It was a corner room but having stayed at many Ritz Carlton properties I was a little underwhelmed. The staff in the Club Room was VERY attentive and personable. One Staffer overheard that I forgot my razor and had 2 waiting in the room upon our checking in---this is why Ritz Carlton is set apart- this type of Sevice is what you expect and she did not disappoint.


Food and Beverage presentations were nice but doesn't comapre to the Ritz Carlton in Dallas. The spa treatments were nice but it is operated by an LA Fitness Company adjacent to the Hotel.

The room prices are comprable to other Ritz Carltons; however, in the DC market where there is much comptetion in the luxury market I would shop around for the best value for your dollar.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank savvytravelernola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,181)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

953 - 959 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2012

Pay attention to your credit card statement! We were charged FOUR times for the same weekend stay! Each time they charged our card it was for a different amount - each amount over $1900.00. It took three days to clear up this mess - we spoke to several different people including someone in the corporate office. They were all unapologetic and very disorganized.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Symon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

totally unlike any Ritz i have stayed at. missing the level of service that you come to expect from a first class hotel. will never stay at this property again

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank conn02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I'm never disappointed in the physical appearance and stayability of a Ritz property, but what brings me back over and over is the consistency of the service. I almost never leave a Ritz without at least one "WOW" experience. Unfortunately, I never really got close to that at this property.
Employees routinely called me by my first name, when they knew or remembered my name at all. The reservations were a challenge and much of my party did not get assigned proper rooms confirmed in the reservation. One of our party had someone's luggage in his room on the 3rd day of our stay. (I bet the people who were without their luggage were especially disappointed).
Club reservations generally insure a private, prepared check-in, but not at this property. And club only guarantees you access, NOT CLUB LEVEL. I was on the 7th floor and the club was on 9. The bell staff was totally uninspired and didn't even attempt to help when they saw members of our party wheeling luggage. If they happened to be near a door they opened it. No eye contact, no "welcome home". The cigarette disposal's were overflowing and dirty out front.
After one day in our meeting room, we were alerted that there was a security issue with another party that was government related holding a meeting. We were forced to move our meetings to the Georgetown Ritz, which led to a 7 am departure by shuttle so we could keep our meeting schedule. When we returned that day, we saw many other clients shuttling all through the same area, leading us to believe that the "security issue" was no more than an overbooking or an attempt to please another, more important client. I guess they got a "wow" as they were accomodated and we drug ourselves back and forth on 20 minute bus rides rather than take an elevator to our room after a day of conference as we had planned more than a year ago.
By the way, the Georgetown Ritz staff was very accomodating and greeted us warmly both days we visited with them. You may want to stay there. It seems the "Gold Standard" is not lost on them.
Room was nice and well kept. The club offerings are very good. Club staff overall was mediocre in hospitality and refinement. At least one had visible tatoos showing. My last Ritz rating I gave was gushing and mentioned several staff members by name. I'm afraid the only name I can remember is the Meeting coordinator, who we were in constant contact with as she attempted to put out fire after fire. She is lovely, but the trip was a mess.
The property looks like a Ritz in its refinements, although the set up is rather jagged with corridors and dark corners to navigate to move about the lobby floor. But oak, mahogany, brass and crystal chandeliers are just a sliver of the Ritz experience. The ladies and gentlemen of the Ritz are what bring me back.... I will not return to this property.

Room Tip: There is no "money" view here. Club access will give you decent servings for B/L/D and dri...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davek36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

A wonderful place to stay for a business trip to D.C. A warm and attentive staff, great concierge! Close to Georgetown and shopping, great restaurants nearby, close to metro transit system. Perfect for a private function. Nice rooms. The hotel has a wonderful restaurant, Eric Rippert's West End Bistro, a great place for dinner and cocktails. The Lobby bar is as wonderful and as clubby as it gets! Order a classic drink, slink back into a warm and cozy booth and be transported into what a hotel bar should be!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MegansTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We only stayed for one night while we were catching concert in town but the hotel was great, would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding for two nights over new year's eve and had a great time. The hotel was in great shape (although the furnishings were a little dated) and I really appreciated being able to work out at the attached health club. The hotel is very close to the metro and within walking distance of Georgetown and Dupont Circle without being too much in the middle of the craziness of those neighborhoods.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tbombs34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,127 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,290 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
Four Seasons Hotel Washington, DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
3,201 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC

Address: 1150 22nd St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1219 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Washington DC)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $325 - $942 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Carlton, Washington, D.C. is in the middle of it all, with impeccable service, exceptional accommodations and exclusive amenities. Our hotel is one of the city's most refined luxury hotels - an urban retreat where you can relax within the charging energy of a powerful city. Located in the heard of D.C.'s attractions, we are less than a mile from The National Mall and 1 mile from National Landmarks and Memorials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Ritz Carlton
Ritz Washington Dc
Ritz Carlton Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing