We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not that bad”
Reviewed June 17, 2007

We paid about $90/night to stay here. The beds were comfortable and rooms clean. It costs $25/night to park, but we parked on the street for free. Not that convenient to get to Downtown DC, but there is a bus not far from hotel. We drove to Downtown without any problem though.

We were traveling with a 2 year old and he was sick the night before we left. We called the front desk for help to clean up and the response was very slow. Had to call 3 times to get cleaning supplies and more towels. I think there was no housekeeping staff in the evening so a maintenace guy had to come. Other than that I thought the hotel was fine, but nothing special....

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasySea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    109
    79
    21
    16
See reviews for
65
28
18
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2007

We paid $67 a night on Priceline for this hotel so were very happy with the rate.

The staff were very friendly and even though the location is a bit tucked away, and the taxi driver had trouble finding it, we had no problem getting from and to the hotel by shuttle and walking.

Our room's bathroom had very old fixtures - definitely not up to Marriott's standards, but the shampoo/lotions, etc. were very nice. Beds were good with Marriott's lux linens.

Overall, a good experience - mostly because of the staff being so accommodating. It sucks that there isn't free wireless, but there is a computer you can use in the lobby.

We had an early flight and asked for a taxi to be waiting for us at 5am - it wasn't - but I don't know if that was the fault of the hotel - probably more the fault of the taxi service.

I wouldn't go out of my way to stay at this hotel again, but the price was great!

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sea-lon-sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2007

This hotel acts as the college "Union" for Georgetown University, and as such it offers quite a few on-site food options. Try the "Commons" cafeteria for a great selection of well-prepared food at very reasonable prices. I am in agreement with other reviews posted concerning the friendliness of the staff (and yes, the bellman was very informative, and went out of his way, to help withoput expecting compensation at every turn...very refreshing).
I am NOT in agreement with the other reviews on noise; no noise problem was noted. There is some construction going on throughout the campus, perhaps this was the source. Also, the location is excellent; A half-mile walk (max.)to the east or south brings you to the core shopping areas. The $25 per 24-hour garage is very convenient, and very much appreciated given the phenomenal parking issues in the area. The hotel is very hard to find: Look for a "small" sign to the left (via Reservior Dr. as you go west). You have to cut through the hospital complex to get to the hotel/garage.

The room was just like a full-fledged Marriott Hotel (of which it is affilated) with extra pillows, very comfortable beds, chocolates dropped off at night, solid views of the campus, etc.

For $239 a night (2 adult, 2 kids) in Georgetown...a pretty darn good value.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DrBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2007

We used Priceline to get a great deal on this hotel. Agree with other reviews in that it's not the most convenient location. However, if the weather is good and you don't mind walking, you'll get a beautiful city and campus tour on your way to D.C.'s hot spots.

Rooms were small, but clean and modern. Nice beds and bathroom amenities.

The front desk gave us inconsistent information about the shuttles to Rosslyn and Dupont Metro stations -- one clerk said they didn't run at all on weekends, one said they did. May want to call in advance if shuttle service is a big priority.

For what we paid, we were more than satisfied with this hotel.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank azmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

When we arrived the Bellman was wonderful! Gave my nephews each a bag with juice and granola bars. Ask for candy bars, we each got one, and it was great chocolate! And lots of literature on places in Georgetown and DC. Rooms are very small, especially for a family of 5. They provide for FREE a small refrigerator, microwave and a cot for my one nephew.

Parking is horrible! You have to park in the hospital parking garage at $25 a day! There is a FREE shuttle service to take you to the Metro Trains. You can go to either Dupont Circle or to Rosslyn. It's called the GUTS. Runs about every 10-20 minutes. That was a plus.

There were free cookies (that were great!) and lemonade in the lobby all day long, and apples in the morning. Just down the hall is a "cafeteria" style restaurant, and breakfast was not too bad at all, depending on what you want to eat. They make omlets for you and have other warm items. The warm items are weighed by the pound. Don't get fruit, as it also is very expensive and by the pound! My husband and my self ate breakfast for about $15.00. Not bad! Stay away from donuts and danish as they want $1.35 for one donut and $2.50 for a danish! YIKES!

We ate at Hoya's restaruant one night and food was excellent, a bit expensive, but worth it to us, as we had been eating pizza for two nights in a row, and it's not the best pizza. There also is another area that surves Subway/Taco Bell/KFC/Pizza Hut, but they close at 7:00 and we would get back later than that. So we ordered take out. You can order pizza and other fast food to be delivered, just ask at the front desk.

The kids were very disapointed to not be able to swim, as you have to use the college facilities, and it was $10 a person a day, even if you just wanted to watch the kids and not go in. We didn't do it. $40 is a lot to swim for about a 1/2 hour.

Over all, it was enjoyable. Oh, stay away from the National Aquarium, you see more fish at the local Petco for free as you have to pay $6.00 a person to go in and $2.00 for the kids. What a waste of time! Smithsonians are WONDERFUL and free! Wear really good walking shoes, you'll need them! Highly recommend Arlington Cemetary, and the changing of the guards. A must see!

Take the GUTS to Dupont Circle and then the Metro to Cleavland stop. Walk to the Zoo is on flat ground about 7 blocks. Then you can walk down hill to Woodley Park Metro stop, which is a little shorter, about 5 blocks. But better to walk on flat ground then uphill. Zoo is fabulous and FREE! We didn't see it all! So much to do and see there! And very clean!

Hotel is very hard to find! Very small sign, you have to go into what looks like the hospital emergency, the first entrance. Go to way in the back. Very deciving. But we finally found it. Just wish swimming was free and that we had some sort of discount on parking as guest of the hotel. Beds were very, very comfy! Great toiletries also!

  • Liked — We got a good deal on Priceline. Free shuttle service, and employees are wonderful! Friendly!
  • Disliked — No free pool. Not much for the kids at night to do. Parking is outrageous!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabell1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2007

Previous reviewers are correct -- this hotel is in a very bizarre, inconvenient location. It is actually on the Georgetown campus, directly behind the hospital. If you are hiring a cab, definitely bring directions with you and tell the driver the hotel is on campus next to the hospital. I didn't have any problems.

However, it is possible to get around without paying high taxi fares. The free Georgetown shuttle picks up right next to the hotel and can take you to the subway (Dupont or Rosslyn). But the shuttle does stop running at 9 p.m., so you may have to find a different way to get home. Also, the hotel is within walking distance of the shops, restaurants, bars, etc. on Wisconsin and M. Simply head east on Reservoir Road, and it's about a 10-minute walk. Really not that bad.

The hotel itself is decent. It's older, and the decor is definitely tired. The carpet in my room was worn out and had a huge bleach (??) stain. But the mattresses are newer, and the bedding is very comfortable. And I liked the Bath & Body Works toiletries (although you wouldn't catch me taking a bath in that tub).

The best part about my stay was the staff -- very, very friendly!! They were great about answering questions and helped me figure out the shuttle system. They also provided a little "care package" with bottled water and granola bars when I checked out -- very nice for traveling!

Overall, the stay was fine, but I think I'll look for a nicer hotel in a more convenient location next time.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Location, appearance of hotel
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank unicornn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2007

This Marriott is for a traveler who is visiting someone on the Georgetown campus or have business on campus or a long-term hospital visitor. The service was good, there was a bellhop that was VERY friendly and I didn’t get the impression he was bucking for a big tip, (and I can spot that a mile away because I hate it). Also the room service personnel were polite. Housekeeping was very polite but not very detailed. When I checked under my bed before checking out I noticed trash I knew was there since the first night we got there. There was obvious trash left on the floor. They did clean the bathroom well but dropped the ball in the living area. The rooms did not have enough seating. The room was small (like most rooms in DC and in other cities), but I expected to have a chair, beside the desk chair to sit in.
Very comfortable beds and I have a particular back.
The hotel is not near any of the Washington attractions or shopping but the shuttle buses are very convenient. They will take you to metro stops. The entire neighborhood of Georgetown is not part of the metro system so shuttles and buses are the way to get around, (I never recommend taxis in DC it’s one city where I recommend to avoid them).
There is a little kind of food court on one side of the hotel where college students, hotel guest and staff from the hospital eat. But if you are a late night eater do not depend on these places to eat.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank aduckisaduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Georgetown
The Georgetown Inn
The Georgetown Inn
#84 of 140 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites Harbour
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
48 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#80 of 140 in Washington DC
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
494 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
1,272 reviews
Georgetown
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
Rosewood Washington, D.C.
#85 of 140 in Washington DC
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing