We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“perfect hotel for college visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Ranked #113 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“perfect hotel for college visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

Wednesday- Saturday stay to bring student home from DC program, have one day to relax, and visit GU.. We traveled without a car, did not do any sight seeing in DC. I was a bit concerned after reading some reviews, but I had none of the problems discussed in reviews. Air conditioning was great and it was very hot during my stay. We traveled with Ipad/iphone so did not have to pay for internet. We experience some chains still charge for internet, though it seems unreasonable.... Hotel has a printer for boarding passes, one located at front desk, another hidden away in the the business center located off the main lobby in the conference area... We booked through the hotel website, so paid the normal AAA rate. Had a nice view of campus from 5th floor room. Very comfortable, clean, updated room. It was easy to get a cab or car service from hotel. taxi stand directly outside hotel. The car service hotel arranged to Dulles was about the same rate ($65) 2 passengers would pay for a shuttle. Taxi i took from Reagan Airport to hotel was $18. Also used car service for event in Arlington. Driver was a pleasure and she made the ride much more interesting than the typical cab driver. GU Shuttle located just down a block from the hotel, we never used it, but seemed to be very popular. It was not obvious to me initially, but you could reach the student center (food court, bookstore, cafe, market) directly from the hotel lobby, never having to go outside.This was very useful considering the hot temperatures outside. Small student market for snacks, fruit,water, and priced at the normal rate. Across a path from the hotel the Epicurean Dining was perfect for dinner/takeout (salad, pizza, sushi, etc). Much better quality/atmosphere than expected from a college food court. We did not use Faculty Club Restaurant (located in the hotel's conference area), buffet opened for lunch and dinner. Noticed a "free" self service laundry room, on the 5th floor, though we did not use.. Hotel provided newspapers in the lobby and it seemed that apples where at the front desk in the morning.The hotel staff was very helpful, I asked lots of questions about walking directions since I initially had no idea where I was in relation to the campus and downtown. It would have been more helpful if they just offered the maps originally, but I guess they incorrectly assumed I knew where I was going. Very easy walk to downtown. Less than 15 minutes to Georgetown shopping area.Highlights from downtown: "old stone house" historic sight, Georgetown cupcakes ( pre-noon lines seemed shorter), Dean and Delucca market, experiencing the old townhomes/cobblestones walkways.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    97
    70
    20
    15
See reviews for
60
28
18
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here for a wedding. Nice, clean rooms. Can be hard to find if you're not familiar with the area/location.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JMUDuke08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

Two of my electronic chargers were stolen throughout my 2 week stay. On the second day of my stay my daughter's Ipad charger was stolen and on the 6th day my Tmobile cell phone charger was stolen out of my room. Don't leave your chargers out in the open, please hide them in your suitcases, because housekeeping will steal them.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willi098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

I would definitely stay here again and that's mainly because of the hotel's location! I'd recommend this place to people travelling without an automobile as you don't need one. As a guest at the hotel, you are free to use the University Shuttle bus which you'll find right around the corner. It was very realiable, running to and from there to the Metro Station at Dupon Circle every 10 minutes or less from early in the morning to late at night. I am a middle aged woman travelling with my 83 year old dad, if I'd been with my husband, we probably would have walked directly to the Metro (about 2 miles away) from the hotel. From Dupont Circle, you're 4-5 stops (all on the same line, the Red Line!) from the Capital, the Smithsonians and Union Station! If you want to travel for cheap, stop at Macdonald's at Union Station for breakfast for under $3! before you venture off as a tourist.

After a crazy day of sightseeing, being around thouands of people, etc., traffic, it was great to return to the peace and quiet of the hotel. On my last evening there, my dad was too tired to venture out, and I wasn't quite ready to settle in for the night; much to my delight, I discovered that Georgetown's shops and restaurants were a 15-20 minute stroll!

The only thing that I didn't like about the hotel was that they charged $10/day for wireless service; they do give you one free day so take advantage of that. The staff was very courteus and helpful, and the hotel was clean and quiet. There was a small gym on the second floor which was adequate. So, if you're going there to get out and tour D.C. and Georgetown, the hotel is perfect! I'd go back....

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The hotel is a conference center and also directly across from the hospital on Georgetown University's campus. You should only stay there if you have hospital, University, or conference business. It is not for the sightseer/traveler and NOT for children. It lacks most amenities but it is still well-appointed, nicely furnished, and clean. It is a 3/4 mile walk one way to the main street nearby so keep that in mind although walking through campus and the beautiful Georgetown row houses is a treat. Watch the cobblestone sidewalks - they kill the feet! Because the hotel is at the end of an alley tucked into a corner, it is very quiet so a good night's sleep will be had by all.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seekbeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed for three nights in conjunction with a conference being held at the conference center. The location would not be great for tourists, but it was very convenient for the on-site conference. The rooms are small but very nicely decorated. Clean and comfortable bed. The fitness center had all new equipment but was very small and had no treadmill. As others have noted, I found the wireless internet to get slow in the evening and the a/c to have a mind of its own, but overall it was a very nice, quiet place. The staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWomanWhoGoesPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We stayed for four nights in late October 2010/early November 2010. There were problems right from the start:

1. Difficult to find
The hotel is very difficult to find. If you enter via Reservoir Rd, continue straight ahead. Go past the hospital entrance (to your right) and head towards the parking garage. Just before the parking garage entrance, turn right and you'll end up in front of the hotel. The hotel entrance is not visible from the road, or in fact anywhere.

2. No baggage help
We weren't helped with our bags. The staff were friendly, and greeted us on the curb, but didn't offer to help - just stared at us.

3. Parking
The instructions for parking were inadequate. Basically, you can park in front of the hotel while you haul your bags out. You can then check in and pay for parking for however many days you're staying (it's $25 per day). You are given cards - one for each day. You can then park in the parking center next to the hotel. When you leave, give the parking attendant your cards.

4. No internet
There is wireless internet in each room. The signal in our room was very poor and the throughput was so poor as to be useless (couldn't load webpages, etc.). I walked down the hall until I found the wireless router. Even with the signal at maximum, the throughput was inadequate. I received a wireless booster, but this made no difference - the real problem wasn't with the wireless signal, but with the throughput. I was reduced to using some public student computers in another part of the conference center - these are unsecured! A hotel without internet access is not a hotel. It's useless for business or academics. Oh, and internet access costs $10/day.

5. Poor air conditioning
We never determined whether the a/c actually worked. The temperature got up to 77F during the day and setting the thermostat to 70, and then to 68, made no difference. Even so, the air was very dry. We both found it hard to sleep.

6. Location(?)
The hotel isn't near any metro stations. If you like to walk you can cut through the university and walk down by the river - it's very pleasant (but not in winter, I would guess!).

7. Overall
Overall, don't go. It's expensive for what you get: i.e. a place to sleep. It is a reasonably nice place to sleep (putting aside the a/c). However, not having internet access, the service, paying extra for parking and internet, the poor a/c, no fridge in the room, etc. is unacceptable nowadays.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Furball88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Washington DC hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington DC
Georgetown
Georgetown Inn
Georgetown Inn
#87 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 418 reviews
Georgetown
Georgetown Suites
Georgetown Suites
#74 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
The Graham Georgetown
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Georgetown Suites Harbour
#115 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
Georgetown
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Washington, D.C.
The Ritz-Carlton Georgetown, Was...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center

Property: Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center
Address: 3800 Reservoir Rd. NW, Washington DC, DC 20057
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Georgetown , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgetown's own peaceful retreat. The Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center offers a unique experience nestled among the building of the Georgetown University campus. Located in the center of campus, it is a leisurely walk or short taxi ride away from the bustling streets of shopping and restaurants in the heart of Georgetown. A variety of amenities and services are offered in this 146 room hotel to suit the needs of the business, family and leisure travelers. The 13,500 sq. feet of event space provides an ideal location for anything from corporate meetings to weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Georgetown University Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown University Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Georgetown University Conference
Georgetown University Conference Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing