We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating and pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Ranked #103 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very accomodating and pleasant staff”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed 2 nights this last weekend with spouse, daughter and 3 month old grandson visiting a family member living in DC. Tera at reception made sure we had the pack n' play in our one bedroom suite and was helpful with other requests as well. Two other parties we encountered were Jose at the front desk and Gladys a housekeeper who made sure our stay was comfortable. As noted elsewhere, rooms are a bit dated but adequate for a short stay. Breakfast was above average compared to their competitors in the same hotel class. No need to comment on location. Dupont Circle.
Parking is expensive but that is the case in DC. As rewards members, we certainly will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemlockforest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    144
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
128
58
19
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great location, a few minutes walk from the Metro centre ( tube) and bus service. Lots of different types of restaurants/takeaways nearby to suit all tastes & budgets. Small supermarket & CVS closeby. Pleasant & helpful front desk staff. Free breakfast with plenty of choice. Also free evening meals for a few nights per week - a manager's special. Rooms clean & perfectly acceptable with small toiletries provided.

Room Tip: At rear of hotel you can see the Washington monument lit up at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madge65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We spent 8 nights, with 6 adults and two infants occupying a single bedroom and two bedroom suite. Our request for co-location on the same floor was met, and the suites were so spacious that when we wanted to gather all 8 of us together, it was easy in the two bedder. It is a great hotel and very good value (for DC). Everything is well maintained and clean; it should be even better next year as they are undergoing a major refurb at the end of 2012. The complimentary breakfast had a very good range of choices, hot and cold. The different front desk staff over the 8 days were all pleasant and helpful. The location is superb; walking distance to downtown and the National Mall (if you are fit and prepared to do 30 - 40 minute walks); and the Metro is only three blocks away. Ideal for families. (Our special event was our son's wedding, so it was a big week!)

Room Tip: The higher floors facing away from the street had lousy views, but were much quieter than the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iangharris188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, or
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We planned to go to New Orleans for my 60th. Isaac changed that. Instead we rendezvoused with our children in DC. Returning from dinner our last night I found a gift basket with chocolate, wine and two ties together with a card from the hotel staff. Unbelievable!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Our stay at the Residence Inn DuPont Circle in Washington DC was made exceptional by the wonderful staff. The location is perfect, a couple blocks from the metro, numerous restaurants are just outside the door, CVS and dry cleaners up the street and on site laundry was always available. We stayed 13 nights and the staff was exceptional, from housekeeping, one woman from Jamaica was so kind, (I forgot her name), to the staff preparing and serving the plentiful food daily were helpful and so professional, to Jose and Romeo who worked the front desk, always available and quick to accommodate.

All of this and now on to the main reason I'm writing this review as it's my first TripAdvisor review. Two exceptional women working the front desk here at DuPont Residence Inn are Tera and Latoya, they both have made my son and I feel so welcome, gave us tips about the area, info on restaurants, metro stops, directions to many places, and much more. My son is here to work at the Capital and has now moved to a local University to dorm. As a traveling female both Latoya and Tera made me feel safe, comfortable and at home. We are from Hawaii and who would think we would be 5,000 miles away from home and we would find this kind of Aloha spirit in Washington DC, Mahalo to you both Tera and Latoya for making our stay more than we expected. With staff like this we will be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

When we arrived the staff was very friendly, but it took a few minutes of waiting for a staff member to come and check us in. Our room was upgraded from a suite to a one bedroom. However the room is quite dated, the bathroom is functional but certainly nothing special and a bit dark, and the furniture except for the bed was uncomfortable. Everything looked a bit warn, however it was clean. If you put the air conditioner below 70 degree it was quite noisy. There was parking with a fee, but the underground lot took a little bit of maneuvering since there were SUVs parked in spaces for compact cars. There was a very nice variety for breakfast which was nice. All in all if you are looking for function with a bit of a kitchen (the fridge was convenient!) it is fine. If you are looking for more luxurious there are other options (some even cheaper!).

Room Tip: I would request a room facing the back rather than the street as it is a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia S, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Dupont Circle and for your positive feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and our spacious room and fully equipped kitchen. In regards to our furniture looking dated, we are excited to inform you that our hotel will be undergoing renovations before the end of this year. Marriott properties go through a remodeling every five years. We do focus on keeping our amenities functional and as clean as possible as you noted on your review. We hope to see you back at the Residence Inn in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1,177 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed three times in this hotel in June/July 2012-- building on an earlier stay this year. For my longest visit, i was on the top floor in the room next to what must have been the elevator room or other utility room. Avoid that one--- lots of noise all night. I think it was room x04 or x05. For all three visits, i had rooms that looked over the back alley, which is not the best option--- try for a front-facing room. Likewise, try to avoid the rooms next to the laundry room-- on two separate floors. Try to get a suite room with a separate bedroom, not the basic room that has everything in one large room, but both options offer lots of space and a basic kitchen with microwave and fridge. People at the front desk and others who service the rooms are **REALLY** friendly and helpful--- and this makes the hotel a winner. Nice breakfast buffet and evening snacks. Convenient to have laundry machines available. Great location in Dupont Circle!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaindelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flavia S, General Manager at Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Jenabaindelhi,

Thank you for choosing the Residence Inn Dupont Circle for your recent stay. We were glad to hear that you have become of of our many loyal guests. We appreciated the positivie comments you made about our staff. We are proud of associates along with our location, we often received positive feedback about how friendly and professional our staff is. You are correct about the rooms. Depending on the side of the building, you experience different noise levels. We do our best to pre block rooms according to your clients preferences. Please keep us in mind if your travels bring you back to the Washington, DC area in the future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Mansion on O Street
The Mansion on O Street
#116 of 141 in Washington DC
117 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,233 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
176 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Embassy Row Hotel
The Embassy Row Hotel
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
1,207 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle

Property: Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle
Address: 2120 P St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Washington, Dc/Dupont Circle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Washington/Dupont Circle Hotel Washington Dc
Residence Inn Dupont Circle
Residence Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing