We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party of five--late checkin, good night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had made reservations for one night at another hotel. My husband, our three sons (6, 11, and 13) and I were checking in very late, around 11:00 pm. When we arrived to the other hotel, we just did not feel comfortable. There were people lingering in front of the hotel; valet did not help us park; and when I looked at the room, I just felt uncomfortable. Had we arrived in the daytime, I might have felt differently.

So we searched nearby for a hotel. We checked tripadvisor. We do tend to stay at Marriott properties. We came by this hotel. It was well lit, and the desk clerk was polite, helpful, and professional. Initially I asked for two rooms. But when I went to bring in the luggage, I saw that the one room had two double beds and a pullout. I then mentioned to the clerk that I might not need both rooms, and he offered a discount on the second room. So we took both.

We usually do not like rooms on the first floor, but it was late and we were all tired. The rooms were down a hall from the elevators, but fortunately, there was a door to close off the hall. The rooms were quite large and clean. They also were connecting.

In the morning, the hotel was busy with guests. But I noticed that in the rooms, we could not hear anyone. These rooms are a good fit for a family of five. If I were to stay here again, I would inquire if the same setup was available on an upper floor.

We left for a few hours and brought the luggage to our car--the valet was helpful.

Although there is a restaurant, one suggestion that I will mention is it might be nice to offer free coffee and juice in the morning.

Overall, a comfortable night's stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank AndiamoG5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 708 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I checked in late and checked out early. The room was very nice. Everything worked well and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast (not included) was very good as was the service...........................................

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Michael92780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is either new or recently redone because it looked great. It has a restaurant on premisses that is a bit pricey and limited menu but it is a good option to have for breakfast. Our room was large two queen beds and a pull out sleeper sofa. Really enjoyed out stay and it was a great rate even on holiday weekend.

Room Tip: just up 17th street is a good row of restaurant to eat, easy walk down to the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janninedf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

From check in to departure, a great experience. The front desk staff were welcoming and helpful, and that set the stage for our entire visit. Everyone, bellmen, staff in the restaurant, the housekeeper, all polite and professional.

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were good, and a fair price considering you're in the middle of DC. I have to point out that the brewed coffee was very bitter several of the days we were there.

This hotel is on our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife, two teens, and myself stayed here for three nights from July 2nd to the morning of the 5th. The room had no fridge or microwave like the much cheaper Super 8 we stayed in on the way to DC. The toliet was leaking when we checked into the room and there weren't enough towels for all four of us. I phoned about the toliet (it was leaking from the tank, so it was clean water at least, but I didn't appreciate my soggy socks). They came up to check it out right away. Still, it continued to leak, but at a much slower rate. I reminded them about it when we checked out. The room was clean, but needed updating. There was a sleeper sofa in the room leftover from the 70s based on the material/design. The cushion were worn out, so it was uncomfortable to sit on. As other reviewers stated, if you booked this room through an online company, you did not get an exceptional view. Our room looked out onto 16th street. Traffic noise was apparent, but not overly bad except for sirens. The staff was friendly. The hotel restaurant, The Nage, was pricey, but the service was good and the food was very good! Our total bill for supper including tip was $200. After the long day of sightseeing, it was worth it. The staff gave us directions to area restaurants and even to a city park where we could view the fireworks without getting into the crowds on the national mall. The big drawback was it was only valet parking and our van was damaged by the staff. On the plus side, the hotel owned up to it and is paying for the repairs. Would I stay here again? Maybe. The location to the tourists spots was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Jim T,

Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped and that we did not meet your expectations.

In addition, I'm disappointed you were not able to enjoy your view overlooking 16th Street. Our hotel is one of the smaller buildings in the area which limits the views of Washington, DC to just Scott Circle. I am also sorry if you felt you were put in a lesser room because you booked online, that was never our intention. In regards to the furnishings of the room, we are working on renovating our hotel to be finished by early next year.

Please feel free to reach out to me regarding your stay; I'd be happy to discuss the other aspects with you.

Regards,
Alyssa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice Hotel situated central im Washington,
Nice staff, very helpful, rooms very nice, and colmfetable, clean, and in good standard
We stayed for 2 nights, and enjoyed is very much, would like to come back

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a recent trip to Washington. The hotel is about 30-45 minutes from Dulles Intl airport and 15-20 from Reagan Intl airport depending on traffic.

With the Marriott name you generally can't go wrong and this hotel was no exception. We were greeted by friendly staff who actually came out from behind their desks to greet you. We had a good clean room on the 7th floor that was generally quiet. Noise from Police and Ambulance vehicles is common in the area and we did hear it on the 7th floor, but generally it didn't disturb too much.

For tourist attractions the hotel is very centrally located. It is on the same street that the church where JFK's funeral was held. The White House and major museums are near. It is very close to the 'hop on, hop off' tourist busses and within 10 minutes walk of at least two subway stations. The restaurants of 7th Ave are not too far and the hotel also has quite a decent bistro as well.

I found the staff very easy to deal with. They very happily accommodated our late check out request and they also accommodated our friends room change request. So all in all a big WELL DONE, I would definitely recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: Go as high as possible because there is a degree of street noise in Washington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Twofriendsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Courtyard Washington, DC/U.S. Ca...
#111 of 141 in Washington DC
635 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC - Central / White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row

Address: 1600 Rhode Island Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $103 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row is a top choice for an Embassy Row hotel in Washington, DC. We are conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, making us a great choice for business, leisure, and convention guests looking a premium location. Our hotel also offers sophistication, style, and world class Marriott service, which is preferred by many corporate and leisure guests. Stay with us and stay within minutes of a myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall to the Capitol Building in Washington DC. Experience local DC neighborhoods like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot or take a quick metro ride from one of 3 nearby stations. Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes convenience as well as comfort. Our luxurious and spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious assurances of a familiar brand name hotel. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with playful and progressive cuisine to satisfy the most discerning tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing