We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #34 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice short stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I checked in late and checked out early. The room was very nice. Everything worked well and the bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast (not included) was very good as was the service...........................................

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael92780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    231
    78
    24
    8
See reviews for
202
112
32
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is either new or recently redone because it looked great. It has a restaurant on premisses that is a bit pricey and limited menu but it is a good option to have for breakfast. Our room was large two queen beds and a pull out sleeper sofa. Really enjoyed out stay and it was a great rate even on holiday weekend.

Room Tip: just up 17th street is a good row of restaurant to eat, easy walk down to the White House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janninedf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF, CA
Level Contributor
245 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

From check in to departure, a great experience. The front desk staff were welcoming and helpful, and that set the stage for our entire visit. Everyone, bellmen, staff in the restaurant, the housekeeper, all polite and professional.

Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were good, and a fair price considering you're in the middle of DC. I have to point out that the brewed coffee was very bitter several of the days we were there.

This hotel is on our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
Green Features: This place does a great job explaining their "green" practices, and allows guests to choose how they want to participate.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfgardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

My wife, two teens, and myself stayed here for three nights from July 2nd to the morning of the 5th. The room had no fridge or microwave like the much cheaper Super 8 we stayed in on the way to DC. The toliet was leaking when we checked into the room and there weren't enough towels for all four of us. I phoned about the toliet (it was leaking from the tank, so it was clean water at least, but I didn't appreciate my soggy socks). They came up to check it out right away. Still, it continued to leak, but at a much slower rate. I reminded them about it when we checked out. The room was clean, but needed updating. There was a sleeper sofa in the room leftover from the 70s based on the material/design. The cushion were worn out, so it was uncomfortable to sit on. As other reviewers stated, if you booked this room through an online company, you did not get an exceptional view. Our room looked out onto 16th street. Traffic noise was apparent, but not overly bad except for sirens. The staff was friendly. The hotel restaurant, The Nage, was pricey, but the service was good and the food was very good! Our total bill for supper including tip was $200. After the long day of sightseeing, it was worth it. The staff gave us directions to area restaurants and even to a city park where we could view the fireworks without getting into the crowds on the national mall. The big drawback was it was only valet parking and our van was damaged by the staff. On the plus side, the hotel owned up to it and is paying for the repairs. Would I stay here again? Maybe. The location to the tourists spots was decent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GstServiceManager, Guest Relations Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jim T,

Thank you so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.

I'm sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay as much as we would have hoped and that we did not meet your expectations.

In addition, I'm disappointed you were not able to enjoy your view overlooking 16th Street. Our hotel is one of the smaller buildings in the area which limits the views of Washington, DC to just Scott Circle. I am also sorry if you felt you were put in a lesser room because you booked online, that was never our intention. In regards to the furnishings of the room, we are working on renovating our hotel to be finished by early next year.

Please feel free to reach out to me regarding your stay; I'd be happy to discuss the other aspects with you.

Regards,
Alyssa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Nice Hotel situated central im Washington,
Nice staff, very helpful, rooms very nice, and colmfetable, clean, and in good standard
We stayed for 2 nights, and enjoyed is very much, would like to come back

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights on a recent trip to Washington. The hotel is about 30-45 minutes from Dulles Intl airport and 15-20 from Reagan Intl airport depending on traffic.

With the Marriott name you generally can't go wrong and this hotel was no exception. We were greeted by friendly staff who actually came out from behind their desks to greet you. We had a good clean room on the 7th floor that was generally quiet. Noise from Police and Ambulance vehicles is common in the area and we did hear it on the 7th floor, but generally it didn't disturb too much.

For tourist attractions the hotel is very centrally located. It is on the same street that the church where JFK's funeral was held. The White House and major museums are near. It is very close to the 'hop on, hop off' tourist busses and within 10 minutes walk of at least two subway stations. The restaurants of 7th Ave are not too far and the hotel also has quite a decent bistro as well.

I found the staff very easy to deal with. They very happily accommodated our late check out request and they also accommodated our friends room change request. So all in all a big WELL DONE, I would definitely recommend and stay again!

Room Tip: Go as high as possible because there is a degree of street noise in Washington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twofriendsoftravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
162 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Nice property that has been updated. Very accommodating staff and management. They have a pretty good restaurant on site. Nice location near some attractions and within walking distance to White House. Would go back again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Martin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington, D.C. Downtown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row is a top choice for an Embassy Row hotel in Washington, DC. We are conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, making us a great choice for business, leisure, and convention guests looking a premium location. Our hotel also offers sophistication, style, and world class Marriott service, which is preferred by many corporate and leisure guests. Stay with us and stay within minutes of a myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall to the Capitol Building in Washington DC. Experience local DC neighborhoods like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot or take a quick metro ride from one of 3 nearby stations. Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes convenience as well as comfort. Our luxurious and spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious assurances of a familiar brand name hotel. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with playful and progressive cuisine to satisfy the most discerning tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Courtyard
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing