We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for three nights. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had a minor hiccup when we arrived with the room (tried to put my family of four in a room with only one king bed) but this was quickly resolved.

The room had two queen beds and a pull out couch. This was plenty of room for my family, we did not feel closed in at all. The bathroom is a bit tight, only one person can stand in the bathroom, vanity, closet area at one time. The beds were comfortable and pillows of typical Marriott quality.

I ate at the bistro downstairs one night. The staff was nice and the food great (lobster maccroni was AMAZING). The next morning, I went down for coffee and also had a great experience. Unfortunately after that, they closed the cafe in the mornings for renovations and only offered a sparce continental breakfast out of a conference room for $12.00. I decided to leave the hotel and get my java fix a couple of blocks away. It was more of a nusience than a real complaint.

I ended up spending a lot of time in the lobby in the evening after the children went to sleep and enjoyed the set up. The booths with the televisions was a nice touch. I actually brought down a bottle of wine one evening to enjoy while I studied and forgot a wine glass, the front desk manager actually went into the bistro and brought me a wine glass, once again showing that top-notch Marriott service.

Overall great experience!

Room Tip: Room 604 faces another building. Not a great view, but very little road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Love2Go80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    245
    82
    24
    8
See reviews for
213
123
32
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice large rooms with plenty of outlets for recharging phones, laptops, etc. Free Wifi. Within walking distance (10 min) to the Dupont Circle Metro stop and easy to get a cab from the Hotel. Great for a Washington trip. A minor negative is that the cable TV doesn't have comedy central.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandomTraveller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed at The Marriott Courtyard Embassy Row from 2nd to 7th nov 2012. The hotel is extremely noisy, I had to change rooms twice because the windows are not soundproofed. I endend up in one of the ground floor rooms the windows of which do not open and have thick pans. Otherwise it is unbearable, it is like having your bed in the street .

WAKE UP CALLS FORGOTTEN : Twice the hotel did not wake me up and I had to rush to meet my appointments in ten minutes . Even after the first incident and my complaining at the front desk nothing was made to fix the problem, no explanation, no apology , no compensation , and same problem occurred again the following day ! They are really taking the guests for fools !

WIFI CONNECTION EXTREMELY WEAK: I was disconnected several times. It was extremely difficult to work as it was impossible to have a decent connection. Either getting disconnected or slow!

Very limited rooms service, only during the opening hours of the hotel restaurant and neighboring ones .

Stay somewhere else... there are several hotels in the neighborhood: Westin, Grand Hyatt (rooms viewing the lobby seem quiet), Fairmont, Ritz Carlton etc ... some others right in front such as Holiday inn , Homewood Suites ... but I did not test them .

Room Tip: Go for the ground floor rooms. There is about 6 rooms with numbers in the 100s. These are the only o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank monacoguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Decent hotel. Very nice Courtyard. Walking distance to clubs like Ozio. The restaurant Nage is good also. Valets are good. Close to white house and monuments. The only problem i had was that im a Gold elite member and was not recognized!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geepd36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

decent hotel in a good location within easy walking distance to all main attractions.....white house 10 mins walk etc. nice bar area and free tea and coffee next to reception - a decent chain hotel...

Room Tip: lower rooms are more noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mheeaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, CT
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed here several times over the last 3 years and I felt I had to hang in there as Marriott s usually shine and this one was just OK. I laways liked it's location as it's easy to walk downtown within 10 minutes, I could walk tio the U street shops/restaurants, Whole Foods is only a few blocks away and Dupont Circle is a 10 minute walk.

Well.... they redid the lobby and it's beautiful. Light, feel very open, ultra clean, private booths in the lobby w/ TV 's or work and to meet friends and it's all good. Modest size rooms that have that nice Marriott touch and are always clean. i guess it was the new Lobby that impressed me but now a real charmer , good restaurant off lobby that was packed at Happy Hour and just a real pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Front is on a traffic circle but still well insulated. Nice Happy Hour off lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MysticKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very spacious room nicely decorated. Comfortable bed. Restaurant serves great crab cakes. Bathroom had separate hand basin/mirror area which was very convenient. Bath tub was slow in draining. Staff were very friendly. Spa pool needs updating with new jets and it wasn't hot enough. Overall a very good experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
435 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Address: 1600 Rhode Island Avenue, NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-3206
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row is a top choice for an Embassy Row hotel in Washington, DC. We are conveniently located in the inner circle of Washington DC, making us a great choice for business, leisure, and convention guests looking a premium location. Our hotel also offers sophistication, style, and world class Marriott service, which is preferred by many corporate and leisure guests. Stay with us and stay within minutes of a myriad attractions - from the White House and National Mall to the Capitol Building in Washington DC. Experience local DC neighborhoods like Dupont Circle, Georgetown, and Logan Circle - all within close walking distance. Sightsee on foot or take a quick metro ride from one of 3 nearby stations. Courtyard by Marriott Embassy Row epitomizes convenience as well as comfort. Our luxurious and spacious guest rooms combine the flair of a boutique-style downtown DC hotel with the gracious assurances of a familiar brand name hotel. Our on-premise restaurant, Nage, is a high-end, yet, approachable bistro with playful and progressive cuisine to satisfy the most discerning tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Washington Embassy Row Hotel Washington Dc
Courtyard Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott
Washington Dc Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing